Ratings based on 191 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Best Hotel on Kaanapali Strip

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: We loved the location, hawaiian feel and wonderful beach.
Cons: Improve the hotel restaurant quality and have pricing comparable to the higher quality restaurants in the area.
Location: Snorkling, parasailing, lounging on the beach, shopping, restaurants, treats, scuba, surfing all within 1-3 minute walk.
Kaanapali Beach Hotel is not the fanciest or newest hotel, but the location and classic feel cannot be beat. I will definitely be back to this hotel for years to come. The grounds of the hotel are lush and tropical with lounge chairs all around to enjoy the grounds. You are literally 1 minute from walking to black rock for snorkling or two minutes walk to shopping and food at Whalers village. I loved the information breakfast the first morning and when you leave they present you with a necklace to remember your stay. It is a very classic resort and reminds me of old Hawaii. It is very clean and the staff was friendly and nice. My wife and I would lay on the sand at night right out in front of the resort and enjoy the surf and stars. If you are looking for a cozy, relaxing hotel with amazing location to everything, this is your hotel. It is better priced than the surrounding hotels and I has a much better feel and Hawaiian quality to it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from CA

Nice older hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: The garden area is lovely!
Cons: The rooms need some attention & updated decor.
Location: Good location with easy access to the beach & shops.
We've stayed at this hotel 3 times & the staff are very friendly. However the rooms are average but you're rarely inside so it is a great deal!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2015 by Ka'anapali Beach Hotel, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for staying with us, we work hard to make our guests happy. We appreciate your feedback!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Portland, Oregon

Comfy hotel, spacious grounds, close to the beach

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: Spacious lawns, trees, plentiful lounge chairs, proximity to the beach, decent restaurant, proximity to shopping & dining options.
Cons: Update the rooms.
Location: Kaanapali Beach, Maui. Snorkeling at Black Rock, body surfing, sunning, swimming. Dining & shopping at Whalers Village. Visit Whalers Museum.
We were very comfortable and ended up pleased with our decision to stay here. Earlier in the week we'd stayed at a very upscale hotel at the other end of the island so were initially disappointed by the overall appearance of the hotel and room; the reception area was slightly shabby, as was the room — very "sixties" in appearance. The room itself was nice and clean. We were on the ground level, so had easy access to lounge chairs on the grass as well as a patio table and chairs on the patio. The beach was close by for snorkeling and body surfing, and there were plenty of available lounge chairs scattered around the spacious lawns, and lots of shady trees to lounge beneath. The pool was small, though we didn't use it. The meals at the hotel restaurant were nice, and priced as elsewhere, and we enjoyed the free nightly hula show and music. All in all, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would stay there again in a heartbeat, it was so very relaxing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2015 by Ka'anapali Beach Hotel, Hotel Management
Mahalo for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the Hotel grounds and surrounding area so much and truly got to experience the Hawaiian culture! We invite you back to stay with us in the future. Don't forget to bring your kukui nut lei!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from sf ca

Nice close to the beach

Posted Apr 20, 2015
It has the right location and although an older building it is right on for the price. Best drink prices on the strip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Fargo, ND

GREAT LOCATION. GREAT VALUE.

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: location location location.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Bars, shopping, restaurants, ocean activities, all within throwing distance.
I've stayed here a few different times and it never disappoints. For the value and location, KBH is perfect. You are smack dab in the middle of restaurants, bars, and a BEAUTIFUL beach. Beach activities are on hotel property as well. It isn't the most updated hotel, but who goes to Hawaii for the room décor? Also, they have a welcome breakfast that I highly recommend. It's not sales pressured at all. Just go, eat a fabulous breakfast and see what Maui has to offer you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2015 by Ka'anapali Beach Hotel, Hotel Management
Mahalo for staying with us, we are delighted that you enjoyed your time here. We appreciate you taking the time to write your review. We look forward to adding another kukui nut to your lei when we meet again! Aloha.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

GREAT HOTEL. FLIGHTS WERE A MESS!!!!!!!

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: EVERYTHING. GOOD NOT BE MORE PLEASED.
Cons: NOTHING. HOTEL WAS GREAT
Location: CLOSE TO BEACH AND SHOPPING AND REASTURANTS.
GREAT STAY AT HOTEL. RETURN FLIGHTS WERE LOST THEN WHEN RESCHEDULED AND WERE UNABLE TO SIT TOGTHER FOR THE LONG FLIGHTS BACK. VERY UPSETTING.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2015 by Ka'anapali Beach Hotel, Hotel Management
We are so sorry to hear taht your flight experience tarnished your experience of coming to Maui. We are delighted, However that you enjoyed your time with us! We hope to welcome you back again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by grammyphil from Yorktown, Virginia

My favorite !

Posted Nov 8, 2013
Love the laid back ambiance, the nightly hula shows ( free ), the mahi mahi sandwiches at the Hula Bar, the friendly employees, the location on Kaanapali Beach , and the very reasonable prices.  There's a reason people return here on their trips to Maui !  Two years ago we had free ukelele lessons and made leis ( also free ! ).
5 out of 5
Recommended
by ScottandPeggy from Ohio

Maui's Best Hotel!

Posted Oct 9, 2013
Hawaii. We stayed at Kaanapali Beach Hotel and were thrilled with it. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel was beautiful. It was old but very well kept and every night we would open our lanai doors and view the ocean as well as the pool and tiki torches. The free Hawaiian music show was also wonderful! Our bathroom was clean but needed some service and needed some updates but the staff was very accommodating. Sunday Champagne Brunch was to die for!!!!! Check out ceremony was beautiful with each guest receiving a lei with a meaningful explanation. Very touching! We can't wait to come back!!! Walking distance to Whaler's Village. Beautiful beach and walkway!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by 70Michele from Hanford, CA

Very Hawaiian!

Posted Sep 19, 2013
First time being in Hawaii, and Kaanapali Beach Hotel was a HUGE part of our Hawaiian experience! The staff was welcoming & helpful. The room was comfortable, clean, and always inviting after an adventurous day! And the access to the beach was THEE VERY BEST! ps....make sure you attend a Luau! The Kaanapali Sunset Luau was just a walk to the next hotel over. EVERYTHING we experienced was PERFECT!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Heartlover7 from Conroe, TX

Hotel needs a facelift!

Posted Sep 14, 2013
I stayed here 35 years ago and fell in love with the location and property. It is still a great location but is in desperate need of a refurbishing. The grounds are well kept and beautiful but the ocean front room needs more bathroom counter space and more hooks or a clothes line over the bath tub to hang dry bathing suits. The room has a day bed that is of no use unless more than two people are using the room. The staff, is as always, very friendly and helpful! I will consider another stay but hope to see improvements.