Ratings based on 188 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom sf ca

Nice close to the beach

Posted Apr 20, 2015
It has the right location and although an older building it is right on for the price. Best drink prices on the strip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom Fargo, ND

GREAT LOCATION. GREAT VALUE.

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: location location location.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Bars, shopping, restaurants, ocean activities, all within throwing distance.
I've stayed here a few different times and it never disappoints. For the value and location, KBH is perfect. You are smack dab in the middle of restaurants, bars, and a BEAUTIFUL beach. Beach activities are on hotel property as well. It isn't the most updated hotel, but who goes to Hawaii for the room décor? Also, they have a welcome breakfast that I highly recommend. It's not sales pressured at all. Just go, eat a fabulous breakfast and see what Maui has to offer you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2015 by Ka'anapali Beach Hotel, Hotel Management
Mahalo for staying with us, we are delighted that you enjoyed your time here. We appreciate you taking the time to write your review. We look forward to adding another kukui nut to your lei when we meet again! Aloha.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

GREAT HOTEL. FLIGHTS WERE A MESS!!!!!!!

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: EVERYTHING. GOOD NOT BE MORE PLEASED.
Cons: NOTHING. HOTEL WAS GREAT
Location: CLOSE TO BEACH AND SHOPPING AND REASTURANTS.
GREAT STAY AT HOTEL. RETURN FLIGHTS WERE LOST THEN WHEN RESCHEDULED AND WERE UNABLE TO SIT TOGTHER FOR THE LONG FLIGHTS BACK. VERY UPSETTING.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2015 by Ka'anapali Beach Hotel, Hotel Management
We are so sorry to hear taht your flight experience tarnished your experience of coming to Maui. We are delighted, However that you enjoyed your time with us! We hope to welcome you back again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by grammyphilfrom Yorktown, Virginia

My favorite !

Posted Nov 8, 2013
Love the laid back ambiance, the nightly hula shows ( free ), the mahi mahi sandwiches at the Hula Bar, the friendly employees, the location on Kaanapali Beach , and the very reasonable prices.  There's a reason people return here on their trips to Maui !  Two years ago we had free ukelele lessons and made leis ( also free ! ).
5 out of 5
Recommended
by ScottandPeggyfrom Ohio

Maui's Best Hotel!

Posted Oct 9, 2013
Hawaii. We stayed at Kaanapali Beach Hotel and were thrilled with it. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel was beautiful. It was old but very well kept and every night we would open our lanai doors and view the ocean as well as the pool and tiki torches. The free Hawaiian music show was also wonderful! Our bathroom was clean but needed some service and needed some updates but the staff was very accommodating. Sunday Champagne Brunch was to die for!!!!! Check out ceremony was beautiful with each guest receiving a lei with a meaningful explanation. Very touching! We can't wait to come back!!! Walking distance to Whaler's Village. Beautiful beach and walkway!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by 70Michelefrom Hanford, CA

Very Hawaiian!

Posted Sep 19, 2013
First time being in Hawaii, and Kaanapali Beach Hotel was a HUGE part of our Hawaiian experience! The staff was welcoming & helpful. The room was comfortable, clean, and always inviting after an adventurous day! And the access to the beach was THEE VERY BEST! ps....make sure you attend a Luau! The Kaanapali Sunset Luau was just a walk to the next hotel over. EVERYTHING we experienced was PERFECT!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Heartlover7from Conroe, TX

Hotel needs a facelift!

Posted Sep 14, 2013
I stayed here 35 years ago and fell in love with the location and property. It is still a great location but is in desperate need of a refurbishing. The grounds are well kept and beautiful but the ocean front room needs more bathroom counter space and more hooks or a clothes line over the bath tub to hang dry bathing suits. The room has a day bed that is of no use unless more than two people are using the room. The staff, is as always, very friendly and helpful! I will consider another stay but hope to see improvements.
5 out of 5
by adb25from Saint Paul, MN

Absolutely Wonderful

Posted Jul 15, 2013
Before arriving, I read mixed reviews about this hotel and was slightly nervous as to what we would find. I usually stay in 4 or 5 star resorts and was concerned Ka'anapali Beach Hotel wouldn't live up to my expectations. It's safe to say I had absolutely nothing to worry about.  The entire property is absolutely stunning. The grounds are perfectly manicured and the beach is pristine. It's in a wonderful location, you can walk down the beach to Black Rock for snorkeling and in the other direction to Whalers Village for excellent dining and shopping. The Tiki Bar and Grill were a great experience (food was pretty good, too!).  Our room was clean and very spacious - there were three of us in our room and we had more than enough room. Be sure to ask to stay in the Lanai wing! We were upgraded upon arrival to a partial ocean view, but it could have been classified as an ocean view. The beds were comfortable and the shower had great water pressure. They were a little outdated, but who spends all their time on vacation in their room?!  My only complaint would be the restaurant. We were disappointed in the food quality for expensive it is. I would recommend walking to other restaurants where the price is the same but the meal is twice as good.  Overall, it was an excellent and relaxing vacation. 
4 out of 5
Recommended
by bigbk66from Windsor, CA

Nice Hotel

Posted Jun 1, 2013
This is touted as "Maui's most Hawaiian Hotel," and I guess it is.  A hula show every nite, with other entertainment (singers) also.  The hotel is a little older, but kept up well. Our room was fine - ground floor, garden view, nice.  Restaurant good for dinner, better for breakfast.  Right on the ocean, so hitting the beach is easy.  Also an easy walk to Whaler's Village, with several nice restaurants and many shops.  All in all, happy we stayed there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by jorgedfwfrom Dallas, TX

Fantastic Place

Posted May 23, 2013
The staff was very friendly, the hotel clean and the ocean a very short walk away as well as good restaraunts and proximity to Lahiana.  The Tiki bar serves up fantastic mahi mahi and fries and the bar has awesome daily drink specials.   The sunsets  from the closeby beach made each day enjoyable and relaxing.