Ratings based on 117 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
1.0 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
1 out of 5
by A traveler from dallas

mediocre, overpriced, and bad service

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Cons: everything - especially customer service
We booked 3 "obstructed view" rooms. 1 week prior to arrival, after having read all of the reviews about construction, I called to request that all 3 rooms be near each other and away from construction and was told "no problem." Upon arrival we were told that "obstructed view" meant "construction view" no matter what. There were no other rooms available to us unless we wanted to pay $100 per room, per night. And then, after traversing the long hallway past all of the sales people asking us to go on tours to view the new construction, we arrived at our dark, dank, dated musty rooms with beat up furniture, musty smells, and non-functioning freezer/fridge. And right next to us is ongoing construction 7-7. This is no more than a 2 star experience at a 4 star price. We'll never be back and may never stay in a Hyatt again. When we complained we got this response: On all online platforms - we have our obstructed view rooms listed as a room that "overlooks and within close proximity to an active construction site. Construction work, which includes noise, is limited to the hours of 7:00 AM – 6:00 PM."
5 out of 5
Recommended
by TRAV3LL3R from Richland, WA

Fantastic!

Posted Jun 18, 2013
What a great resort! Everything you could want available at your fingertips. Check-in was easy and everyone in the incredibly spacious lobby was super friendly and helpful.  Great breakfast buffet, but get there early or you'll wait in line for awhile. Penguins and parrots and a great pool. The luau was pricey, but food was fantastic. Lots of shops on the main floor of the resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A traveler from Rochester Hills, MI

hyatt was great! but beware!

Posted May 16, 2013
We knew it was under construction and the north tower and the north facing rooms are not good because of it... We were facing north in the south tower and it was perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Hyattexperience from Orange, CA, USA

This hotel is well situated at the ocean

Posted Mar 9, 2013
Pros: Free Internet, Quiet
Cons: parking
Hotel was massive in size, but beautifully maintained. Lush landscaping. Beautiful birds and displays.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by DrNTravel from Venice, CA

Beautiful Grounds/Location

Posted Nov 30, 2012
Pros: clean
Cons: No free Internet, overpriced restaurants
The hotel is in Kaanapali, walking distance to Whaler's village. Went at Thanksgiving, the Japengo restaurant and bar were so understaffed, it took forever for orders and drinks to come out. The grounds are so beautiful and pristine, with flamingos and swans all over the manicured gardens. The pools and grotto looked like great fun, I prefer the beach for snorkeling, etc. The room was the best! Clean, modern, great king mattress, wanted to stay in there forever. Our room was so spotless, surprised at other reviews! We would definitely stay there again! Take a taxi to Lahaina, eat at the Lahaina Grill, or Mala Tavern, or Honu, those restaurants were amazing!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by WanderingSoul16 from Northern NJ

Amazing honeymoon at the Hyatt Regency Maui!

Posted Aug 14, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet, beautiful, quality service
My husband and I chose the Hyatt Regency for our honeymoon and it was absolutely amazing! We could not have asked for a better location or more luxurious accommodations. The Hyatt has a prime location on Maui--it's near Whaler's Village and the town of Lahaina, but still manages to feel secluded and private. When we were researching hotels, we were unsure about its location in Ka'anapali, since it is a 45 minute drive from the airport, but it was a great choice. The hotel is stunning and the Ka'anapali beach is beautiful. The hotel was gorgeous inside and out. We loved that it had an open-air design and the grounds were immaculate. We also loved walking around and seeing all of the birds (the hotel is a bird sanctuary and even gives tours)--the parrots gave us quite a few laughs from time to time. The pool is stunning and the absolute perfect place to just relax and unwind. Plus the slide kept my husband entertained for a while :) We had a regular room in the Napili tower, but it still had plenty of space for us to spread out in. We loved the little balcony and our in-room sitting area. The restaurants were amazing. We frequently hit Umalu as we spent a lot of time next to the pool, but the breakfast at the Swan Court is not to be missed! There was a delicious variety at the buffet each time we ate there. We couldn't ask for better service from the staff. Everyone was incredibly friendly and helpful. When we arrived, we were given a complimentary photo album for our honeymoon and later received chilled champagne in our room. At one point in our stay, there was an issue with water leaking somewhere in the tower and we were given complimentary water and chocolates (and it wasn't even an inconvenience to us at all). We also booked our excursions through the hotel and had fantastic experiences. We wish we could go back--eleven days weren't enough! We HIGHLY recommend this hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by TravelTL from California, USA

The hotel was nice and but not sure if it was worth it.

Posted Jul 24, 2012
Pros: Free Internet, Quiet
Cons: Nothing close, Poor breakfast
I enjoyed it the moment I walked in. The only down side is that the beach was not as nice as the other hotels. Although i enjoyed my stay, next time I will be staying at another hotel that has beach access. Also when we checked in, we found out our balcony was not accessible. That was a huge bummer. I wanted to utilize the balcony during my stay but it was being worked on. I was expecting to be moved to another room but it was completely booked that weekend.
3 out of 5
by lmlm from Houston, TX, USA

Front Staff was nice

Posted Jul 6, 2012
Pros: Free Internet, room service was good and fast
Not much of beach area in front of hotel, but walk the path past Whalers Village and it opens up. Swan Court staff was a little rude, we went for a desert on a date and wait staff kept asking if we were going to eat....did not go back there again! If you want a great upscale dinner go to Merrimans, food was worth the price , to bad Swan Court or others at Hyatt could not have that type of service. We really didn't stay much during the day only returned at night for bed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by lmlm from Houston, TX, USA

Hotel

Posted Jun 22, 2012
Pros: Free Internet
Cons: swan courts waitress was rude
Hotel looked dated with needed cleaning, landscape updating. Staff always was pleasant so made up for the overall experience, we loved going to kapulua beach area instead.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Brose from Boise, ID, USA

Everything was amazing. No Complaints.

Posted Jun 14, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet
Cons: No free Internet
Beautiful resort! The gardens were awesome and so many of them. Everything was cleaned and maintained on a daily basis. Water feature and birds were a unique touch. The restaurants and food were excellent. Drinks a little weak for the price paid. I loved the decorating style of the rooms, kind of a retro/contemporary feel. The beds were great. I actually plan to buy a bed like the one we had in our room. Had a turtle swim right next to me while standing in the water.