Ratings based on 121 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from SF Bay Area

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Cons: Marketers/promoters for their Hyatt Residence was overwhelming as the person was always asking guests to come over and talk, even for a few minutes.
Very pleasant hotel resort with easy access to beach. Some minor construction in main lobby blocked some tropical views. Staff always had warm greetings but wished they would have said more "Aloha" than "Good Morning". Appreciate their staff name tags and the place they originated from, added a touch of culture to the experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Temecula

very nice hotel beach front view.

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: the staff and our room the pool area when i had a chance to get in so many kids in the pool that never wanted to get out.
Cons: the resturants and when i check out i ask for a break down of my charges and the hotel states they do not give out a break down just total charges.
Location: la hanina helicopter ride.
over all not inpress with maui. my first time to hawaii and will not go back. but we had a very nice hotel and the hotels needs better restraunt. we ate at the pool grill or had to go in town. oh my God the hotel serves the worst coffee. also had to go in town to by kona coffee not serve in hawaii.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler from California

Nice hotel with amazing staff

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: All the amazing features such as the exotic birds, penguins, beautiful landscaping, kids pool, and the great staff.
Cons: Self parking could be much cheaper since the lot is a distance away.
Location: Perfect location near beaches, whalers village, etc... You really don't need to drive anywhere. Everything is walking distance.
This was my second time staying here. The staff is amazing and super friendly. This hotel is great for everyone. Newleyweds to families with children, I will definetly return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from California

Wonderful!

Posted Mar 23, 2015
What a great experience from beginning to end. The staff was so friendly, informative and our bell hop was the best ever! He told us all about the hotel all the way to our room. The room was very nice and comfortable. It was great!
1 out of 5
by A traveler from dallas

mediocre, overpriced, and bad service

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Cons: everything - especially customer service
We booked 3 "obstructed view" rooms. 1 week prior to arrival, after having read all of the reviews about construction, I called to request that all 3 rooms be near each other and away from construction and was told "no problem." Upon arrival we were told that "obstructed view" meant "construction view" no matter what. There were no other rooms available to us unless we wanted to pay $100 per room, per night. And then, after traversing the long hallway past all of the sales people asking us to go on tours to view the new construction, we arrived at our dark, dank, dated musty rooms with beat up furniture, musty smells, and non-functioning freezer/fridge. And right next to us is ongoing construction 7-7. This is no more than a 2 star experience at a 4 star price. We'll never be back and may never stay in a Hyatt again. When we complained we got this response: On all online platforms - we have our obstructed view rooms listed as a room that "overlooks and within close proximity to an active construction site. Construction work, which includes noise, is limited to the hours of 7:00 AM – 6:00 PM."
5 out of 5
Recommended
by TRAV3LL3R from Richland, WA

Fantastic!

Posted Jun 18, 2013
What a great resort! Everything you could want available at your fingertips. Check-in was easy and everyone in the incredibly spacious lobby was super friendly and helpful.  Great breakfast buffet, but get there early or you'll wait in line for awhile. Penguins and parrots and a great pool. The luau was pricey, but food was fantastic. Lots of shops on the main floor of the resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A traveler from Rochester Hills, MI

hyatt was great! but beware!

Posted May 16, 2013
We knew it was under construction and the north tower and the north facing rooms are not good because of it... We were facing north in the south tower and it was perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Hyattexperience from Orange, CA, USA

This hotel is well situated at the ocean

Posted Mar 9, 2013
Pros: Free Internet, Quiet
Cons: parking
Hotel was massive in size, but beautifully maintained. Lush landscaping. Beautiful birds and displays.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by DrNTravel from Venice, CA

Beautiful Grounds/Location

Posted Nov 30, 2012
Pros: clean
Cons: No free Internet, overpriced restaurants
The hotel is in Kaanapali, walking distance to Whaler's village. Went at Thanksgiving, the Japengo restaurant and bar were so understaffed, it took forever for orders and drinks to come out. The grounds are so beautiful and pristine, with flamingos and swans all over the manicured gardens. The pools and grotto looked like great fun, I prefer the beach for snorkeling, etc. The room was the best! Clean, modern, great king mattress, wanted to stay in there forever. Our room was so spotless, surprised at other reviews! We would definitely stay there again! Take a taxi to Lahaina, eat at the Lahaina Grill, or Mala Tavern, or Honu, those restaurants were amazing!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by WanderingSoul16 from Northern NJ

Amazing honeymoon at the Hyatt Regency Maui!

Posted Aug 14, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet, beautiful, quality service
My husband and I chose the Hyatt Regency for our honeymoon and it was absolutely amazing! We could not have asked for a better location or more luxurious accommodations. The Hyatt has a prime location on Maui--it's near Whaler's Village and the town of Lahaina, but still manages to feel secluded and private. When we were researching hotels, we were unsure about its location in Ka'anapali, since it is a 45 minute drive from the airport, but it was a great choice. The hotel is stunning and the Ka'anapali beach is beautiful. The hotel was gorgeous inside and out. We loved that it had an open-air design and the grounds were immaculate. We also loved walking around and seeing all of the birds (the hotel is a bird sanctuary and even gives tours)--the parrots gave us quite a few laughs from time to time. The pool is stunning and the absolute perfect place to just relax and unwind. Plus the slide kept my husband entertained for a while :) We had a regular room in the Napili tower, but it still had plenty of space for us to spread out in. We loved the little balcony and our in-room sitting area. The restaurants were amazing. We frequently hit Umalu as we spent a lot of time next to the pool, but the breakfast at the Swan Court is not to be missed! There was a delicious variety at the buffet each time we ate there. We couldn't ask for better service from the staff. Everyone was incredibly friendly and helpful. When we arrived, we were given a complimentary photo album for our honeymoon and later received chilled champagne in our room. At one point in our stay, there was an issue with water leaking somewhere in the tower and we were given complimentary water and chocolates (and it wasn't even an inconvenience to us at all). We also booked our excursions through the hotel and had fantastic experiences. We wish we could go back--eleven days weren't enough! We HIGHLY recommend this hotel!