Ratings based on 65 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
by traveller9from Texas

Nice location, nice beach, OK hotel.

Posted Jan 21, 2014
Three of our family stayed here for 3 nights January 2013.  Our initial impression was very favorable as the landscaping is very nice and the grounds well kept.  However, for the first 36 hours our room air conditioning was too warm and humid as the thermostat did not seem to work.  The outside air was more pleasant than our room.  We notified the front desk and they assured us it would be solved soon.  The temp was not right until late the next night. The room was very clean and modern with nice stacked washer & dryer.  There was a comfortable queen bed and a couch with pull out bed.  The pull out bed was very uncomfortable and I considered sleeping on the floor instead.  Either the cushioning or frame was insufficient as there was not enough support for an adult man.  The pull out bed would probably be fine for a child. We were in the north building (without the convenient coffee shop).  The only dining available was the beach side restaurant; Dukes.  Dukes serves good food at a reasonable price.  We liked it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by sjeTravelerfrom Philadelphia, PA

Lots good, some cautions

Posted Oct 29, 2013
The resort is beautifully located on the beach and the rooms are very nice. But the swimming pools are small and almost totally arranged for children and families. No area where real swimming (as in laps) is possible. Also, while there are markets and fast food restaurants just outside the property, the only food choices on site are an upscale restaurant and an exorbitant "market" -- nothing basic for sale at all, despite the kitchens in all the units.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Daylight1from San Francisco, CA

Lifetime family memories

Posted Oct 2, 2013
Honua Kai Resort lived up to and even exceeded our expectations. We had an amazing family vacation! We thoroughly enjoyed the view from our lanai, the beautiful beachfront and the Hula Pie at nearby Duke's. The staff was friendly and the resort was very peaceful at night. We're already talking about a return visit next year. Great property.
4 out of 5
by Katarofrom California

Family Wedding

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Overall the rooms are nice.  We experienced small annoyances such as a broken screen door leading to the lanai, too powerful shower spray in the master bath, and the corners of the bottom sheet continually coming off.  Rooms were clean and the housekeeping staff was very friendly and helpful. Nice toiletries and soft bath towels.  Plenty of available chairs by the pools.  Beaches are rocky once you go into the water.  Wear sandals to avoid the occasional thorns in the sand.  Duke's is good but a little pricey (like everywhere else nice on Maui). Self parking is available but whoever designed the entrances must have driven a compact because it was not designed for large cars in mind.  Valet service is friendly and accommodating.  
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Stlboysmomfrom St. Louis, MO

Good hotel for young children

Posted Aug 13, 2013
I read many reviews before booking Honua Kai. It turned out to be a good decision since we have 4 and 6 year old boys. There were many very young children here. Many of the reviews made this sound like a 5 star hotel. It is not, but the accomodations are comfortable and the pools are very nice. We had time to kill on our last day so we drove down to Wailea. If you're looking for posh, I would definitely stay down there especially since the rates are comparable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by sunny234from Santa Barbara, CA

Very nice property

Posted Jul 2, 2013
This place is very nice. It is well maintained, the staff is nice, and everything is in great condition. The kitchen is nicely stocked and the market is across the street. The only drawback was one pool was supposed to be for kids but they were in all the pools and even the jacuzzi's which stated you needed to be 16 to use and the kids were under 10.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Roxie2772from San Antonio, TX

Great all suite resort!

Posted May 23, 2013
Our two bedroom / 2 bathroom suite was incredible! A lot of space and very comfortable. Full kitchen, living room and dinning room. Perfect for families. Don't miss lunch or dinner at Duke's ... great food and atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by jzeltnerfrom Lafayette, IN

Perfect Honeymoon

Posted Apr 15, 2013
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet, gorgeous
My husband and I stayed here for 4 days during our honeymoon in September. The property is beautiful! Our room was a partial oceanview, and indeed we could see the ocean. The rest of the view was lovely. Our room was spotless and gorgeous, from the well-stocked kitchen to the lux bathroom. Duke's was very good, but we grabbed a lot of our meals from the café there - yum!! The pools were gorgeous as was the beach. We booked a few activities at the concierge, who was super helpful and informative. All in all, our stay here was the best vacation either of us have either experienced - and considering the value of the resort, you'd be foolish not to stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by sk124

Superb Stay

Posted Mar 19, 2013
Pros: Quiet
A beautiful, comfortable retreat that's quiet if you want it to be, energetic if you want it to be (head down to the pool area or to Duke's Beachfront Bar & Grill located on property), and within easy striking distance of Lahaina. There's a grocery store right across the street so you can stock up on food if you don't want the hassle of finding a parking spot in Lahaina. Beds are soft and cozy, rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated, view from the balcony is great, and the grounds are beautiful and well-kept.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by SdTFam6from San Diego, CA, USA

Staff was great - Noisy surroundings

Posted Jan 2, 2013
Cons: No free Internet, Noisy
The resort is very nice. The staff was great. The "Spa" is not completed and does not have an estimated date of completion or a location that it will be built yet.... There is a concrete plant across the street from the resort that starts up at 5:00 am. If you like to sleep with your windows open (to get that amazing Hawaiian sea air) you will be rudely awakened.