Ratings based on 48 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
2 out of 5
by A travelerfrom California

Nightmare checking-in to an otherwise nice condo.

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: Great location, right on the beach, next door to restaurants and shopping.
Cons: Management. After our second room change, the manager on duty could have come out of his office and taken care of things.
Location: Shopping, restaurants, golf.
We were checked-in to a studio garden condo that was a total dump. The Motel 6 across the highway would have been better. Couch was worn and torn, the fridge all scratched up, walls with nail holes but no picture frames, dirty floor, etc. After asking for a different unit, we were put in a room that was scheduled for fumigation while we were there. We demanded a different unit, again. This time they gave us a key that opened a unit that was already occupied, walking in on people in bed. A couple of hours later, we were sent to a new unit that was just cleaned. The carpet must have been shampooed minutes earlier since the whole floor was still soaking wet. We were ready to look for lodging elsewhere. The manager on duty didn't even bother to come out of his office to talk to us. He let two rather inept desk receptionists to handle the fiasco. Ultimately, a different, "better" room was found and we settled in for the week. A nasty way to start a vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler

Great Stay

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Cons: Free Parking
Great location, Great views, Great staff, the snack delivery was appreciated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Beautiful grounds, well kept

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Right on the beach and within walk to Whailer Village.
Cons: Bigger pool as mentioned above and separate one for kids.
Location: Black rock snorkeling,
Love this place nice rooms, very spacious . Staff very friendly . Pool little small I wish they would have separate pool for kids, also whirlpool small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom San Diego

Home away from home...Love it!!

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: Everything!!!
Cons: Nothing, love it just as it is...
This is our fourth time staying here, we consider it home away from home. We have stayed at bigger more high end places and we keep coming back to the Whaler. It is perfect for us, we love the full kitchen, community laundry, location etc... It is a little slower than the bigger hotel chains and we like that. I would say it is an older crowd which again we like. Our two your old enjoys it too. We have always gone with the Garden View Studio room and been very happy, this year we got upgraded to a one bedroom two bath because they were under renovations on one side of the building. We loved our room, (106). Ground floor with two Lanai's (balconies). Our daughter could go out the sliding door right to the beautiful grass. The hotel/condo is right next to the Whaler's Village which is great, you can go eat or shop etc...A wonderful beach, pool and jacuzzi. There is an exercise room and more. We love the shopping carts in the parking garage, you can load groceries or luggage and bring them right to your room. It is more like a condo/home than a hotel and we love that. You are greeted on your second day with a cut up fresh Pineapple. It is to die for. This year we even got a free reusable bag which made for a great beach bag etc...We use the community laundry which is located on each floor, in all the years we have never run into anyone else doing laundry. One of our favorite things is when you leave the property in your car the person at the gate gives you a Shaka/Hang-loose.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by MM79from Seattle, WA, United States

Great place - Freindly and convenient

Posted Dec 3, 2013
This was a great place to stay. All of the hotel staff as well as the guys at the towel shack (guy that wears a gold chain was really nice and accommodating) were very nice. Very convenient. Parking is under the hotel, hop on the elevator right up to room. The beach and black rock are right there, Whalers Villiage, right there. Nice morning walk to Starbucks. Just a perfect central location. Room was nice with a view of black rock 214
4 out of 5
Recommended
by SBCharmerfrom Santa Barbara, CA, USA

Very nice and convenient place to stay.

Posted Dec 27, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet
The Whaler is always a good choice to stay when going to Maui, especially if travelling with elderly people. Having the Whaler's Village next door is a real plus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by nodowntimefrom Nebraska

superb staff

Posted Nov 23, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet
Would definitely stay here again. All the amennities for great vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Turtleloversfrom San Jose, CA, USA

This hotel made me feel welcome.

Posted Nov 17, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, at the beache, fitness room, close shopping center, swimming pool, close bus stop, warning systems (fire tsunami etc.), tennis courts, ping pong, kitchen
We got warm welcome and had wonderful stay. Thanks to great location we enjoyed the proximity to the Whaler Shopping Center with a bus stop and to the beach. A turtle was appearing there almost everyday and very closely to the beach. We enjoyed using internet and fitness center at the hotel, and also swimming pool area there. Having a kitchen was also very useful and made us feel like being at home. We were traveled comfortably to the nearest places without a car. It is convenient to use "All Day Passes" for Maui buses for only $4.00 , while one way ticket costs $2.00. There is big shopping center "Cannery Mall" on the way to Lahaina with Safeway store.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Pimplefrom Fresno, CA, USA

Overall highly recommended. Great location.

Posted Oct 31, 2012
Being right on Kaanapali Beach you go to sleep to the waves and wake up to them and that is a great way to go. The free internet worked for me on my phone for about 30 minutes during the whole week. But that is not why I went to Maui. Not a big problem. It is very convenient being close to Whaler's Village. This is a very clean well kept property and is an excellent location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by JoyFranfrom San Diego, CA, USA

The staff was very welcoming. Location was beautiful!

Posted Sep 19, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet
This hotel is more like condos that are rented out in a hotel fashion. There was no onsite restaurants but we were next door to Whaler's Village which had plenty of places to eat. The location is wonderful and beautiful! The staff is very friend too. When we got there we were on the 2nd floor. Room was nice and renovated but the staff forgot to mention that they were renovating the 3rd floor above us. The staff ended up moving us to a higher floor which was great because we ended up having an oceanview! :) My husband and I had a great time! I loved how the hotel gave us 2 free movie rentals each night throughout our stay. Wonderful place! :)