Ratings based on 65 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.2 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Rlic from California

WONDERFUL!

Posted Jul 8, 2013
We have been to Cabo many times. Traveled with my three children, 27, 22 and 9 and the hotel offered something for all of us. We would definitely stay again! Beautiful grounds, great service and large luxurious rooms!!!
1 out of 5
by GMorrison from Katy, TX

BAD SERVICE & RUDE STAFF

Posted Jun 20, 2013
This resort was a complete disappointment from the customer service to the lack of the administrations concern. We were lied to over and over again by restaurant staff, resort staff and the Concierge desk. The all-inclusive program was terrible, with no availability at the restaurants and or poor quality food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Aannonymuss

Posted May 18, 2013
Great service and beautiful grounds. The customer service is luxurious and beyond excellence. Good pools, activities, excellent food! We used the gym and used the all inclusive service. We loved it! I would have loved to see some night life. It was missing the nightlife for the younger crowd. I understand that it is mostly elderly population but it should target all audience. It did bother us to see kids at the sky pool since it was the pool that had loud music and a partying ambience for young adults. The carts were awesome providing us quick transportation. We did liked that they only offered one taxi company due to safety. Overall this resort went beyond our expectations. I highly recommend it! 
5 out of 5
Recommended
by jw428 from Omaha, NE

Great Resort - Get All-Inclusive Package

Posted Mar 7, 2013
We booked this resort and were not planning on originally purchasing all-inclusive but it was included for free* during the time period we booked it and it was very worth it - drinks at the hotel are at least $5 each so if you are planning to drink at all it is great to have this option, additionally having breakfast & lunch at the hotel was great....the Sunday Brunch is normallyl $50pp so it was great to get that for free. The resort is huge but well-maintained and if you don't feel like walking the golf carts come pick you up quickly. The shuttle to the Rose was great but book early as it fills up quick. We were in buildings 40/41 with a group of 10 and the location was perfect, you could walk to mostly anywhere except the Skypool (which is a great pool!) We've stayed many places and traveled extensively and really enjoyed our time here. The free internet is hit and miss, not great reception...and don't leave your door open as lots of bugs will come in, opps!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A traveler from San Jose, CA, USA

The place is beautiful and relaxing.

Posted Dec 18, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Quiet
Cons: No free Internet
It was a beautiful place overall, perfect for the wedding. It was frustrating not to have WiFi or internet connection in the room.
2 out of 5
by Nyteowl from Boise, ID, USA

Beautiful, but not worth the money

Posted Aug 19, 2012
Pros: Quiet, beautiful views, atm on site, gorgeous pools
Cons: Nothing close, No free Internet, overpriced, too big not easy to walk from place to place, try to sneak in extra charges upon checkout, not very kid friendly, few activities on site for guests, no washers or dryers in units, food and service at resaraunts on site marginal, shuttles to other resorts overbooked
I normally stay at another resort in San Jose del Cabo, but decided to give this one a try because it was closer to downtown Cabo San Lucas. It is a Beautiful resort with spectacular views, immaculate landscaping, nice and inviting rooms and suites, but everything here was overpriced, and the service at the restaurants was marginal at best. Glad we opted out of the all-inclusive option, definitely not worth it, shouldn't have to make reservations at an all inclusive resort! Because it resides on the Pacific side of the peninsula, the wind never stops blowing! Ocean breezes are nice but it was often too windy to enjoy sitting on the patios at the room. The main pool at the base of the resort actually had to put up a huge wind break to make the area inhabitable. Keep in mind this resort doesn't cater to families with kids, one restaurant prohibits them completely. I have no children myself, but was surprised at the lack of resort sponsored, kid friendly activities, and since the ocean here is too unsafe to swim, I find the lack of fun for the kids a serious drawback. Another thing to note is that this resort only allows one certain cab company to service their guests, and of course they were more expensive than what I was used to paying while staying in Cabo. The shuttles the resort provides to the other Pueblo Bonito resorts was inconvenient, always overbooked and not frequent enough for being so far away from dowtown Cabo. This resort is just too big, impossible to walk far because of the steep hills, and although golf carts were available 24/7, I prefer smaller resorts with more accessible amenities. We opted to buy our own groceries in town for breakfast and lunch and ate dinner in town most evenings where more authentic regional fare can be found at much better prices. The eating establishments in and around the Marina and in San Jose offer much better food and service. We especially enjoyed the Baja Lobster Company and ate there more than once, and they happily prepared the fish we had caught on our fishing trip. I already own Worldmark/Wyndham Vacation Time share and did not attend any presentations here although they were quite persistent/pushy and called us frequently in our room when we didn't show up for the "Free Breakfast". Why would I buy a timeshare at just one small group of properties when I can go all over the world with Worldmark? (Access to all RCI properties around the world as well) The Pueblo Bonito properties obviously cater to the wealthy crowd, which is fine, but there are so many other beautiful and smaller resorts in the area that I would much rather stay. The resorts in San Jose Del Cabo are smaller, less pretentious, more relaxed, friendly and accommodating for my tastes, better value for the money, and the service staff aren't as pushy for tips either (as well as they make a concerted effort to remember your names and what you like and you often see the same staff members year after year). We booked a deep sea fishing excursion through the resort and I was disgusted and disappointed with the company this resort recommended. Although the boat was nice and roomy, the crew helped themselves to our food and beverages, tried to take us back to shore early (we booked an all day trip) then had the nerve to tell us our tip wasn't big enough!!! Since we had let them keep the majority of the 150 pounds of fish we caught, I was appalled at the audacity of the captain expecting even more. I basically told him to shove it! Having been on fishing trips through the marina in San Jose Del Cabo before, I highly recommend staying away from the trips booked through the marina in Cabo San Lucas, much better fishing in the Sea of Cortez than the Pacific and fishing charters more accommodating, friendly and fun. The new Marina in San Jose is beautiful and the fisherman not nearly as rude and greedy. Do NOT utilize the coffee, bottled water or other food and beverage items in the room when you arrive, you will get get slammed with charges when you check out for doing so. If it has a sticker on it, you will be charged for it. Set it all aside and take a trip into town to the Costco, Mega or Walmart and buy your own. I was warned ahead of time and took my own coffee and condiments etc. They charge $9 for a liter of bottled water! Also be very careful upon checkout for charges they try and slip by you that it's easy to miss. The gentleman that owns all the Pueblo Bonito properties has a daughter that is involved in Sea Turtle conservation efforts, and although an admirable endeavor, they try to slip in a "donation" to her foundation upon check out, and you have to insist they remove those fees from your final bill or you'll end up paying for it. These Pueblo Bonito resorts nickle and dime you to death if they can, and nothing is really complimentary. Friends of mine that have stayed at some of the others confirmed they all do this. For the prices they are getting, I find this insulting and not the way a place that completely relies on tourist dollars to survive should be conducting business. Although overall I enjoyed this trip, I will not go back to any of the Pueblo Bonito resorts ever again, just not a good value for the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by zephry from Phoenix, AZ, USA

Beautiful resort

Posted Aug 17, 2012
Pros: Quiet, staff, free shuttle to sister resorts in town.
Cons: Nothing close, No free Internet
The staff at Sunset Beach are amazing. They are friendly, outgoing, and do what is necessary to accommodate you in every way possible. The hotel is beautiful, the food and drinks were very good for an all inclusive resort. My only concern was the quality of the older units closer to the beach. They provide great convenience and an amazing view. Unfortunately they are definitely starting to show their age.
3 out of 5
by not2good from Northern California

Mixed bag

Posted May 30, 2012
Cons: No free Internet, Poor breakfast, poor service
Pros- Hotel was gorgeous with a great view. Cons- Service we had to call housekeeping 5 times to get a roll of toilet paper and they finally brought it ..it was paper towels! No robes in the room. WE had to call daily to get fresh towels. We purchased the all inclusive which was totally NOT WORTH IT. Would prefer to have the option to not purchase all inclusive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by cabocabo

Our stay at Pueblo Benito Sunset Beach was overall very good. Prompt check in and check out. We were only asked once to attend a seminar. All pools we

Posted Apr 2, 2012
Our stay at Pueblo Benito Sunset Beach was overall very good. Prompt check in and check out. We were only asked once to attend a seminar. All pools were heated and well kept. The food was good and priced fair. Only one negative, the free wi-fi was confined to two small areas with marginal service. In room wi-fi was very, very expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by RRand from Vancouver, BC, Canada

Loved it!

Posted Mar 23, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet, beautiful grounds view
Cons: No free Internet
We just spent a week in a two bedroom presidential suite (building 21 - fourth floor). The suite was huge and I think with the balcony we had 2000 square feet (being on one of the higher floors we had a slightly smaller balcony, still big though but the trade off was more privacy as no one looked down into ours) - ours came with a hot tub which everyone loved. There is not a bad view from any suite - all suites face out to the ocean. We watched whales migrate from ours. There were two large bathrooms and a well stocked partial kitchen (no oven) - a trip to Mega in SJD on the drive in is recommended, we also went to Costco. The suite was clean and it was obvious that the staff cared (we walked in one day to find two maids removing and wiping down each pot/glass etc. in the cupboards to make sure they were clean). The two bedroom could easily accommodate 7-8 people, we had 6 with us - 2 queen beds in one room and a king in the master (there is also a sofa bed in the living room). Service was exceptional, called down about a slow drain in one of the showers and there was literally someone at my door within a few minutes (I had the same issue at the Palazzo in Vegas and they didn't even bother to show up even after two calls#. The only down side were the beds, the linens were fine #crisp, clean and enough of them#, but the beds were very hard, which I understand is typical in Mexico. I did still get a good sleep, but would have preferred a softer thicker pillow top mattress. The resort obviously must have had complaints in the past as they did have a padding on top to simulate a pillow top, but I found this to bunch up too much in the middle and by the end of the night we were on opposite ends of the bed #which now that I think about it is a good thing considering my husband snores/tosses all night, I like my space and he likes to cuddle...hmmmm perhaps I need to get one of those shipped home....#! This resort is huge, so for some that will be a drawback. We had no problem with walking, but it is a bit of hike uphill as the resort is built into a cliff. I am a little baffled as to why there was not a central staircase incorporated somehow or the pathways made a bit wider to accommodate foot traffic - most people seemed to prefer being shuttled via golf carts #my kids did# and there are little "cart stations" at all the villas, pools and facilities - you simply pick up the phone and they are automatically notified where you are and a cart arrives within minutes. Typically by the time we left our suite, there was a cart already waiting. Noise from the cart was not a problem and even though they run on gas, neither was smell. The carts have a cover during the night if it is cool, but otherwise they are open air which was nice. At this time there are 6 pools, an adults only pool by building 17, kids pool just above this, main pool near the beach and a fairly deep pool near the tennis courts/building 41 and a quiet pool near building 26. The Sky Pool is at the top of the property, above the building we were in, I found it to be the party pool which is fine, but just be aware that if you have small kids even though it has an area for them, you may want to take them elsewhere #main pool and kids pool are the best# – all the pools were open till 10 pm with the exception of the Sky Pool #8 pm#, hot tubs were open 24 hours. There was always room available at all the pools - regardless of when you arrived. The resort has an optional all inclusive plan, for our needs we did not need it as we had breakfast and lunch in our room, dinners out - the resort has excellent food and I found it far preferable to going into town which we did as well - we enjoyed the Bistro most of all, but did not get a chance to try the award winning La Frida #no kids under 12 allowed#. Food is available at all of the pools, the deli #near main pool#, the Manila bar, the Lobby bar, the lobby deli and La Nao #which we thought was average and pricier#. Just like anywhere else, some waiters are better than others, so one experience should not put you off - we actually liked almost all of them, but Leonardo at the Bistro was exceptional #very honest and helpful with suggestions#. There is free internet at the Manila Bar near the main pool and the Sunrise Coffee bar #near the upper buildings# - service is not ideal and I'm not sure why, but Skype was not really supported by the network, or in most instances took awhile to get it or Facetime working. I do think it is a shame that free internet service is not a given here, it is becoming a norm in most places. The resort is still expanding and there is an additional eatery going in next to the coffee bar, but more importantly a much needed laundry facility is in the works #I hate packing dirty laundry#. There is driving range that should be completed some time this year and two Jack Nicklaus golf courses in the next year or two #Yeah! We all golf, including the kids so this is a plus for us – I don’t really see this as a resort for the “spring break set” as that age group might find it too slow and too quiet#. I can only see this resort continuing to improve – from what I understand the property is over a 1500 acres #up to the lighthouse# and there are extensive expansion plans underway. This is a huge property and it is out of town a bit #not too much if you have a car, there is also a free shuttle#, which we actually really liked as we saw no reason to leave the resort given that it is so beautiful and relaxing – pretty much a mini city on its own. We did rent a car at the airport as that made the most sense for us and did leave the resort daily, valet parking is free #tips of course#. Tips for the golf cart drivers are not mandatory, but we did tip - there were plenty of people that did not and I never saw a driver make an issue over it or react in any way. I had read about timeshare pressures here, but aside from the initial post check in push, we did not get approached a single time anywhere else on the property. Even if we had been approached, I think it would be simple to say we were not interested. Post check in we were given 6 free drink coupons to be validated at the time share desk, we simply had them validated and gave a polite decline to the morning breakfast presentation. The drink coupons came in use! The spa is really beautiful, I had a massage and while my therapist was not the best #good though#, the other two women I was with indicated that theirs were exceptional. Great use of stone throughout and the steam room was wonderful – jacuzzi and cold plunge pool attached right off it. The grounds of the resort are immaculate, no pests anywhere to be seen. There is a long stretch of public beach, but there are no vendors along it and on the whole, very few hotel guests either. There is no swimming due to the strong undertow, but this is not something unusual for Cabo #the last resort we stayed at here was the same#. There are plenty of pools available and those that do want to swim in the ocean can use the free shuttle to the sister property, the Rose and use Medano beach #we did not# - you can actually use any of the facilities at the sister properties if you want #e.g. Pacifica is adults only#. I stayed at the Pueblo Bonito in Emerald Bay #Mazatlan# a few years ago and while I prefer that property to this one, there is no doubt that Cabo is safer than Mazatlan. Absolutely loved this resort and can’t wait to go back, next time may get a room slightly lower for a slightly different type of view – more of the beach and less of the expansive view of the surrounding desert vegetation outside the developed resort area that you get with the higher buildings – however from what I understand the newer buildings #I would want 40/41 with a pool outside and the tennis courts next door# may have slightly smaller suites and they do not have the balcony hot tub #those are only in the buildings on the top 19-24# – it won’t really matter in the end as this resort is shear paradise.