Ratings based on 67 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.1 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom San Diego

Wonderful experience

Posted Mar 27, 2015
I went for a great friends wedding which was in the chapel of the hotel with a reception at the sky pool after. The staff starting with Noel was wonderful, the rooms had amazing views and the beds were super comfy. We mainly hung at the main pool and met so many fun people of all ages. food was decent. One downfall would be the free shuttles to the other resorts, it seemed to always be booked up so we used the taxis instead. highly recommend this place.
1 out of 5
by A traveler

Bad service

Posted Mar 24, 2015
2 hours wait for check in with no line, 2 hours for room service, 2hours waiting time in each resturant ,tennis court under construction without even letting us know( even though we called and asked in advance) and flies everywhere in resturant's kitchen and sitting area. When we sat outside and asked for lid to cover our food they gave us attitude. Overall very bad experience , for the same amount of money you can get much better service in resorts near by.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Rlicfrom California

WONDERFUL!

Posted Jul 8, 2013
We have been to Cabo many times. Traveled with my three children, 27, 22 and 9 and the hotel offered something for all of us. We would definitely stay again! Beautiful grounds, great service and large luxurious rooms!!!
1 out of 5
by GMorrisonfrom Katy, TX

BAD SERVICE & RUDE STAFF

Posted Jun 20, 2013
This resort was a complete disappointment from the customer service to the lack of the administrations concern. We were lied to over and over again by restaurant staff, resort staff and the Concierge desk. The all-inclusive program was terrible, with no availability at the restaurants and or poor quality food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Aannonymuss

Posted May 18, 2013
Great service and beautiful grounds. The customer service is luxurious and beyond excellence. Good pools, activities, excellent food! We used the gym and used the all inclusive service. We loved it! I would have loved to see some night life. It was missing the nightlife for the younger crowd. I understand that it is mostly elderly population but it should target all audience. It did bother us to see kids at the sky pool since it was the pool that had loud music and a partying ambience for young adults. The carts were awesome providing us quick transportation. We did liked that they only offered one taxi company due to safety. Overall this resort went beyond our expectations. I highly recommend it! 
5 out of 5
Recommended
by jw428from Omaha, NE

Great Resort - Get All-Inclusive Package

Posted Mar 7, 2013
We booked this resort and were not planning on originally purchasing all-inclusive but it was included for free* during the time period we booked it and it was very worth it - drinks at the hotel are at least $5 each so if you are planning to drink at all it is great to have this option, additionally having breakfast & lunch at the hotel was great....the Sunday Brunch is normallyl $50pp so it was great to get that for free. The resort is huge but well-maintained and if you don't feel like walking the golf carts come pick you up quickly. The shuttle to the Rose was great but book early as it fills up quick. We were in buildings 40/41 with a group of 10 and the location was perfect, you could walk to mostly anywhere except the Skypool (which is a great pool!) We've stayed many places and traveled extensively and really enjoyed our time here. The free internet is hit and miss, not great reception...and don't leave your door open as lots of bugs will come in, opps!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A travelerfrom San Jose, CA, USA

The place is beautiful and relaxing.

Posted Dec 18, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Quiet
Cons: No free Internet
It was a beautiful place overall, perfect for the wedding. It was frustrating not to have WiFi or internet connection in the room.
2 out of 5
by Nyteowlfrom Boise, ID, USA

Beautiful, but not worth the money

Posted Aug 19, 2012
Pros: Quiet, beautiful views, atm on site, gorgeous pools
Cons: Nothing close, No free Internet, overpriced, too big not easy to walk from place to place, try to sneak in extra charges upon checkout, not very kid friendly, few activities on site for guests, no washers or dryers in units, food and service at resaraunts on site marginal, shuttles to other resorts overbooked
I normally stay at another resort in San Jose del Cabo, but decided to give this one a try because it was closer to downtown Cabo San Lucas. It is a Beautiful resort with spectacular views, immaculate landscaping, nice and inviting rooms and suites, but everything here was overpriced, and the service at the restaurants was marginal at best. Glad we opted out of the all-inclusive option, definitely not worth it, shouldn't have to make reservations at an all inclusive resort! Because it resides on the Pacific side of the peninsula, the wind never stops blowing! Ocean breezes are nice but it was often too windy to enjoy sitting on the patios at the room. The main pool at the base of the resort actually had to put up a huge wind break to make the area inhabitable. Keep in mind this resort doesn't cater to families with kids, one restaurant prohibits them completely. I have no children myself, but was surprised at the lack of resort sponsored, kid friendly activities, and since the ocean here is too unsafe to swim, I find the lack of fun for the kids a serious drawback. Another thing to note is that this resort only allows one certain cab company to service their guests, and of course they were more expensive than what I was used to paying while staying in Cabo. The shuttles the resort provides to the other Pueblo Bonito resorts was inconvenient, always overbooked and not frequent enough for being so far away from dowtown Cabo. This resort is just too big, impossible to walk far because of the steep hills, and although golf carts were available 24/7, I prefer smaller resorts with more accessible amenities. We opted to buy our own groceries in town for breakfast and lunch and ate dinner in town most evenings where more authentic regional fare can be found at much better prices. The eating establishments in and around the Marina and in San Jose offer much better food and service. We especially enjoyed the Baja Lobster Company and ate there more than once, and they happily prepared the fish we had caught on our fishing trip. I already own Worldmark/Wyndham Vacation Time share and did not attend any presentations here although they were quite persistent/pushy and called us frequently in our room when we didn't show up for the "Free Breakfast". Why would I buy a timeshare at just one small group of properties when I can go all over the world with Worldmark? (Access to all RCI properties around the world as well) The Pueblo Bonito properties obviously cater to the wealthy crowd, which is fine, but there are so many other beautiful and smaller resorts in the area that I would much rather stay. The resorts in San Jose Del Cabo are smaller, less pretentious, more relaxed, friendly and accommodating for my tastes, better value for the money, and the service staff aren't as pushy for tips either (as well as they make a concerted effort to remember your names and what you like and you often see the same staff members year after year). We booked a deep sea fishing excursion through the resort and I was disgusted and disappointed with the company this resort recommended. Although the boat was nice and roomy, the crew helped themselves to our food and beverages, tried to take us back to shore early (we booked an all day trip) then had the nerve to tell us our tip wasn't big enough!!! Since we had let them keep the majority of the 150 pounds of fish we caught, I was appalled at the audacity of the captain expecting even more. I basically told him to shove it! Having been on fishing trips through the marina in San Jose Del Cabo before, I highly recommend staying away from the trips booked through the marina in Cabo San Lucas, much better fishing in the Sea of Cortez than the Pacific and fishing charters more accommodating, friendly and fun. The new Marina in San Jose is beautiful and the fisherman not nearly as rude and greedy. Do NOT utilize the coffee, bottled water or other food and beverage items in the room when you arrive, you will get get slammed with charges when you check out for doing so. If it has a sticker on it, you will be charged for it. Set it all aside and take a trip into town to the Costco, Mega or Walmart and buy your own. I was warned ahead of time and took my own coffee and condiments etc. They charge $9 for a liter of bottled water! Also be very careful upon checkout for charges they try and slip by you that it's easy to miss. The gentleman that owns all the Pueblo Bonito properties has a daughter that is involved in Sea Turtle conservation efforts, and although an admirable endeavor, they try to slip in a "donation" to her foundation upon check out, and you have to insist they remove those fees from your final bill or you'll end up paying for it. These Pueblo Bonito resorts nickle and dime you to death if they can, and nothing is really complimentary. Friends of mine that have stayed at some of the others confirmed they all do this. For the prices they are getting, I find this insulting and not the way a place that completely relies on tourist dollars to survive should be conducting business. Although overall I enjoyed this trip, I will not go back to any of the Pueblo Bonito resorts ever again, just not a good value for the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by zephryfrom Phoenix, AZ, USA

Beautiful resort

Posted Aug 17, 2012
Pros: Quiet, staff, free shuttle to sister resorts in town.
Cons: Nothing close, No free Internet
The staff at Sunset Beach are amazing. They are friendly, outgoing, and do what is necessary to accommodate you in every way possible. The hotel is beautiful, the food and drinks were very good for an all inclusive resort. My only concern was the quality of the older units closer to the beach. They provide great convenience and an amazing view. Unfortunately they are definitely starting to show their age.
3 out of 5
by not2goodfrom Northern California

Mixed bag

Posted May 30, 2012
Cons: No free Internet, Poor breakfast, poor service
Pros- Hotel was gorgeous with a great view. Cons- Service we had to call housekeeping 5 times to get a roll of toilet paper and they finally brought it ..it was paper towels! No robes in the room. WE had to call daily to get fresh towels. We purchased the all inclusive which was totally NOT WORTH IT. Would prefer to have the option to not purchase all inclusive.