Ratings based on 23 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.1 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
2 out of 5
by Ann3tr from Suriname

Rooms are to small. Beds also. Only the suites are ok.

Posted Dec 11, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet
Cons: Poor breakfast
Rooms are to small. Beds also. Only the suites are ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by zizorn from Garden Grove, CA, USA

Great deal in Downtown Los Angeles!

Posted Sep 5, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Free breakfast, close to public transit
Cons: check-in at 3 pm
The Ritz Milner in my opinion is one of the best deals in downtown Los Angeles. My main reason is because it is extremely close to the 7th Street/Metro Center station which basically connects you to all major trains and subways in L.A. (Yes L.A. has subways!). I stayed here with my fiancée due to a beer crawl that was happening downtown and I did not feel like driving home. The building is old but charming in my opinion and can look rundown a bit. However don’t let that deter you from here. The front desk staff was not friendly but not rude either. I am not complaining but just do not expect it to be all cheerful like a bigger hotel. I was given a room on the 8th floor and to me it was very small. However since I was only going to use the room to just sleep, it was not a big issue. If you are planning to stay there for several days then maybe a bigger hotel would be your choice. There is a window AC which was super cold and it was awesome due to the current California heat wave. As far as the bathrooms go, they were tiny. The shower stall was probably 3 feet by 2 feet. However, it didn’t really bother me and am just stating it so readers would know. There is a free continental breakfast in the lobby however I did not partake since we went out and about very early. Overall I would definitely stay here again and would recommend others to go as well.
2 out of 5
by My1stTimeThere from Raleigh, NC, USA

Not Impressive at all

Posted Aug 29, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Quiet
Very old hotel, small room and small bathroom w/a tiny shower! I stayed on the 6th floor and the hall windows where always opened....kind of erie. Does not have parking, had to park in public lot 2 doors away at $12 bucks each stay over 4 hours. Near to the Staples and Nokia Centers.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by oldskoolpartyanimal

Nothing Fancy but not bad

Posted Jan 4, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Quiet, cheap parking next door
If you are looking for a cheap hotel within walking distance from the downtown LA scene (about 3 blocks) and don't need anything fancy, this is a good deal. It is old but reasonably well maintained. It was quite small for a "suite" and there was 1 queen bed and a very uncomfortable pull-out bed, the view from our room was depressing, but it was clean and quiet and served the purpose. Also there is no mini-fridge in the room so we had to improvise our "ice bucket" by using the wastebaskets.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by LAtravelor from Minnesota, USA

The rooms are better than the building apperance

Posted Nov 30, 2011
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet
The room was very clean and better than expected from the ageing building interior. For the location, it was a very good value. The day staff was average, while the late night, early morning staff were not very knowledgeable. The breakfast was solid for a cheap continental breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by jrw12 from Woodbury, CT, USA

A touch of Europe in downtown LA

Posted Nov 23, 2011
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet, around the corner from my family
It's all about location! In a city known for its horrific driving culture, it's refreshing to be in place where getting around by foot is possible. Our room was adequate; but tiny. It's not a place to stretch out and relax. Yet, if your reason to be in LA keeps you out and and about 'til it's time to hit the sack, the accomadations are perfectly fine.
1 out of 5
by MB444 from Orlando

Not worth the money.

Posted Sep 24, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants
Cons: Poor breakfast
There were NO towels in my room and I had to call three times and wait almost 1 hr. for damp towels to finally be delivered to my room- which made me late for a very important event I was in town for. Adding insult to injury they made no apologies whatsoever and actually had an attitude when I expressed my displeasure. My taxi arrived and they did not call to tell me (I was running late waiting on the towels) so the taxi left and I had to wait on another- making me even later. The last straw was the stale bread at breakfast. In a nutshell, not worth it!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Goddessof3s

Not bad for the price

Posted Jul 20, 2011
Pros: Free breakfast, Free Internet
With short notice, I was able to book a room for two nights. The hotel itself and the room were clean and in good condition. The continental breakfast was average and suited my needs. The only negative was the two separate flaws in customer service. The first incident was upon check-in when the young lady behind the desk was handing out what appeared to be tip envelopes to her fellow employees. I would've preferred that she set the envelopes aside for a few minutes and assist me instead of having me wait. The second incident was when I came up to the desk and the young man was on the phone with what sounded like a fellow employee calling in for schedule information. After a few minutes he asked what I needed. In today's economy, the customer should come first whenever possible!
2 out of 5
by Erinz from Colorado

Not designed well for humans

Posted Mar 4, 2011
Pros: downtown location, on the busline to usc games
Cons: funky old building, parking isn't easy
Barring none, after a lifetime of travel, this hotel had the most strange and uncomfortable bath/shower of all. I decided it must have been designed for a race of 3'10" non-humans. The "shower" was an 8" deep rectangular "tub" about a foot and a half wide and 3 or 4 feet long. I could not stand and face the shower---had to stand "sideways," and even then I was pressed against the curtain. It's actually dangerous with the 8" step up and over to get out. I finally wised up and moved the shower curtain out as far as it would allow, just to have some shoulder room in the shower. Only an airliner has less legroom than the toilet in this bathroom. And the hotel room itself was very, very small. For the money though, the place is ok with a friendly staff, and it does represent good value in a good, downtown location. "USC type" parents will want to avoid it though.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Travel1and2 from Central Calif.

Some rooms better than others

Posted Feb 19, 2011
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, convenient downtown location
Cons: Noisy
This hotel is clean and conveniently located and a reasonable value for the money. OK if you are on a budget but don't expect 5 stars.