Ratings based on 297 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
2 out of 5
by A traveler

Rio Las Vegas

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Typical Wal-Mart experience, 45 min wait to check in after already pre-purchase of room, 1 staff to check in a mountain of people. After all of that they give my colleague and I a room with 1 king bed , We paid for 2 queens, non smoking. After much complaining at 1:00 am they give us a room with 2 queens, smoking optional. They say that is it, all we have. That room was very nice and clean. After all that we had to pay a 28.00 resort fee? We already paid for the stinking room online a week earlier. Disgruntled, Karl Kowalski
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from z

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Excellent hotel great staff great rates and I am tired of having to keep writing stuff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Texas

Only One Word ~ Fabulous

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: Jaw dropping rooms.
Cons: I was disappointed that the aerial tram show had been discontinued. But then I noticed a lot of similar money saving cuts all down the strip as well.
Best Casino & Hotel off the strip in my opinion. Rooms are huge and spotless. Cannot beat the price and just much more relaxed than the ones on the strip. I like to come to Vegas to relax, not to run myself into an exhausted heap at the casinos on the strip. When I was new to Vegas, I though that was the in thing to do. But after years of vacationing in Vegas, I have come to appreciate the much more friendly and relaxed atmosphere at the casinos off the strip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Honolulu, Hi

Beautiful hotel!

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: I liked that the hotel was very clean and spacious. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Location: The strip is close by and if you have a car it is in a perfect location of places to drive to and it is easily accessible.
Very beautiful hotel. It was in a perfect location, close to the strip and easy to go onto the freeway.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from philadelphia

The Rio has faded.

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Not much on this visit.
Cons: Room cleanliness, room maintenance, warning customers about fire alarm tests upon check-in, keeping the pool open past 5pm, better breakfast options.
Location: This is an off the strip hotel, but it is convenient to the strip.
First, I have stayed here MANY times, but I have not been here in a few years. The whole place is feeling very run down and worn. When I arrived, there was a cheap banner on the outside that proclaimed their 25th anniversary. It was seriously just a cheap vinyl banner stuck to a wall. Not exactly a big celebration. Once in at the front desk, I asked if I they could remove the $28/day resort fee that is automatic. I don't use the fitness center. They told me it was mandatory and could not be removed. Rip-off. I paid for something I don't use. They then gave me a room in the Ipanema tower, which I have never stayed in, I have always been in the Masquerade Tower. I have been here more than a dozen times. I got to my room, and it was a bit of a mess. The carpet was fraying at the seams, no trash can, tub looked dirty, the closet door was very crooked, the main door didn't automatically close properly, lamp shades damaged, and one of the ottomans was horrifically dirty. Things didn't get much better during the stay. During my second night, I was sound asleep when there was a tapping at the door. I ignored it and put a pillow over my head. Then, my phone started ringing, it was housekeeping trying to tell me that I called about a "moth in my room." It was the middle of the night!!! I told them I had no idea what they were talking about. There is much more, like the fire alarm testing they didn't tell us about; but, I have run out of space here to describe.
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Great pool, bad location, fire the decorator!

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Despite being told on the phone that the Rio's pool would open for the season during the second week in March, it actually opened at the end of the week. So, on our first day we had to take the hotel shuttle to Bally's to access a pool. Though having that option was helpful, the extra running around wore us down. In general, having to shuttle to get anywhere tired us out and prevented relaxation. However, once the pool opened it was incredible! Sand beach! Waterfalls! Three hot tubs! Highly recommend. (Pro tip: We discovered that none of the pools checked room keys, so you could just head to the Rio for the pool and stay someplace more convenient). The bizarre Cosby-sweater meets Donysian decorating scheme was truly bizarre. However, the room was clean and very comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Portland, Oregon

Smoker's Paradise

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Once inside Rio's large Convention facilities conditions were smoke-free, and meeting rooms / ballrooms / accommodations were good.
Cons: Changing the Culture. Money can't buy class.
Location: Rio is out of the way. Took a taxi to anywhere I wanted to go.
My "non-smoking" room and walks to Rio convention wing was a step backwards to the atmosphere of a 1970s cheap tavern. Heavy cigarette and cigar smoke permeated my hair, skin, clothes, burned my eyes, and even gave me a nose bleed. Smokers threw cigarette butts onto the floor and ground them into the carpet with their heels. No class here unless you're a beer-guzzling, high-rolling gambler, chain-smoker -- and the days of good food in Nevada for attractive prices won't be found here; unless you're OK with a $48.78 (before tip) Room Service charge for breakfast of two scrambled eggs, sausage link, potatoes, toast, juice, and coffee.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Portland, OR

Meh

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Resort fee of $28 per night not included in the room price. At check in, I was told they didn't have our room, and then eventually got the room originally reserved. EVERYTHING is a surcharge, even coffee in the room. What seemed like a good deal ended up costing more. Spend a little more and go with a better, newer hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Best room ever

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Everything
Our room was up graded to a sweet I have never had a room so nice anywhere. It was very clean. The bathrooms were so large and had a jacuzzi tub.
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Birthday Trip

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: I liked that the rooms were large and the free shuttle from to the strip.
Cons: Everything needs improving. This hotel is old and very outdated.
Location: This hotel is located off the strip, but there is a free shuttle that will take you to the strip.
This hotel is old and is in need of major upgrades.