Ratings based on 1,312 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Puerto Rico

Better than expected!

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: The pool!!!
Cons: I know it's impossible but they should ban the smoking in the casino!
Location: Great location! Near the míddle of the Strip and close to all of the action.
Read many reviews here of this hotel and was worried going in, but spent a great week. If you are looking for marble bathrooms or 2 room suites go to Bellagio or Caesars Palace or Aria, but if you are looking for a clean room with a GREAT pool them this is your place. Yes we smelled the "chemical" odor that many have written about but to us it smelled clean, it means they were cleaning! Yes it smells ALOT of cigarette smoke, but that is The fault of the smokers, not Excalibur. Yes there are salespeople at every entrance but if you politely say no thank you they let you on your way.The Excalibur is nothing fancy but it gets the job done at a very reasonable price. We plan on staying there again next time!
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Illinois

Wanted kids to stay in a "castle"

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: Decent price, fun for kids to stay in a castle. I found nothing really to like for adults... there are much better choices in LV.
Cons: The non-smoking room stank of cigarettes. I thought a fridge and microwave were standard these days - not in Excalibur. The pool closes at 7pm - ?????
Location: Centrally located on the Strip. Things to do... hmm... whatever you want to do in Las Vegas
Hectic hotel, with no way to get inside but walking through a casino (well, not really a surprise, LV after all). Booked two rooms, since we are a family of 5. Room supposed to be non-smoking, but one stank of cigarettes. Nice thing about the Excalibur is that it is connected with the Luxor - makes for some fun walking in a maze of hallways.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from phoenix, az

You get what you pay for

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Price
Cons: Wifi in rooms. Get rid of pesky sales people in lobbies
Location: Close to all other hotels, go check em out and see what a real hotel looks like.
Hotel was extremely run down, tired decor. Carpets were threadbare and wallpaper peeling. Bathroom was outdated and dark. Fluorescent lights over sink? Really? Bath amenities made me itch. Room air is old window style unit, noisy but did keep room cool. Bedding was basically a sheet and a very thin blanket. Internet service was non existent in room even though they say it is part of resort fee. Only place to get wifi is in lobby, so ipads are useless in room. Could barely get cellphone service either (common problem with most hotels in vegas). So resort fee was pretty much a scam. If yiu are here for business forget getting any work done in your room. Was constantly bombarded by sales people in lobby for shows and timeshare. What a hassle. Will nit ever stay here again. Hotel was very ghetto and so was a majority of the clientele.
4 out of 5
by SCMike from South Carolina, United States

Stayed there three times and booking #4

Posted Nov 23, 2013
I'm East coast and have been to Vegas three times. I don't go to Vegas to spend my time in the room.This place is dirt cheap but not I've never had a bad experience there. The staff has always been friendly and helpful. The rooms was comprable to a typical chain hotel, and the location is actually really enjoyable. You're a mere cross-walk away from New York New York, MGM, and the Tropicana. There's also a free monorail to Mandalay Bay and Luxor. I'm booking my fourth trip now and I'll stay at Excalibur again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by William1984 from West Long Branch, NJ

okl

Posted Nov 4, 2013
I've been to Vegas several times, and knew I was going to be at the end of the strip. The initial price price was worth the location. After I booked I saw that there was a resort fee, I thought it was just a one time fee, but it turns out it was per day. Be warned you can stay somewhere nicer for the same price. Hotel was ok, the elevators were close to the entrance so you didn't have to walk across the casino to get to your room, that was a plus. Watch the low hanging light by the desk, I smashed my head on a light bulb.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by bdesch2 from Las Vegas, NV

Everything was perfect!

Posted Oct 31, 2013
It was easy to maneuver and find things, it was clean and well maintained. Plenty of parking if you were driving or plenty of other transportation options. All staff was polite and helpful.
1 out of 5
by Rhed from Salt Lake City, UT

Disappointed

Posted Oct 29, 2013
I booked it a month in advance to attend a nearby conference. The website made it look like a good choice and it was an affordable price. Getting checked in was fairly quick, although there was a an extra $30 resort fee whatever that is, but I had to return to the desk three times because the keys that they gave me did not work. The rooms are starting to show their age and are wearing out and starting to show their age. Worn out carpet and chairs starting to show some stains and the flat screen tv was nice but when I travel I am use to more channel choices including at least one movie channel. Also, to note it is well worth the effort to walk or drive a couple of blocks East or West of the strip to save you A LOT of money on food and drinks. Even the restaurants are almost half the price and I don't know how they can justify charging $3 for a small bottle of water.
3 out of 5
by Firemandave from Dallas, TX

No time for timeshares.

Posted Oct 28, 2013
While the Hotel and most of its staff were exceptional, you literally could not get away from the Timeshare vendors in the Hotel, they would hit on you coming into the hotel and leaving the hotel. The room was nice and the food offerings were adequate, but I was really put off by the constant barrage of the time share hucksters. I will probably seek a hotel out of the MGM family next time I'm in Vegas.
3 out of 5
by Firemandave from Dallas, TX

No time for timeshares.

Posted Oct 28, 2013
While the Hotel and most of its staff were exceptional, you literally could not get away from the Timeshare vendors in the Hotel, they would hit on you coming into the hotel and leaving the hotel. The room was nice and the food offerings were adequate, but I was really put off by the constant barrage of the time share hucksters. I will probably seek a hotel out of the MGM family next time I'm in Vegas.
2 out of 5
by MrsDeuce from Milwaukee, WI

Not worth the hassle

Posted Oct 24, 2013
The most annoying thing are the employees standing at every entrance like security guards, hassling you about going to see a timeshare. Kids everywhere, little/no service at the slots, and the casino pumps in a nasty, overpowering coconut smell. I won't be there again.