Ratings based on 37 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Excelent, great location.

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Location: Lots of restaurants near by, easy beach access nice place to swim and snorkel
Great location, nice beach in front of the hotel with visit every day of Mr. Turtle. Don't miss the Luau. Very helpful and friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2014
Aloha, Thank you for choosing the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel for your recent stay in the area. We’re pleased you enjoyed your stay and that your luau experience fully impressed you; we appreciate you kind comments. Thank you for sharing your review; we hope we can welcome you back for another great stay in the future. Mahalo
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A travelerfrom Kona, HI

GREAT FAMILY FUN!!!

Posted Sep 3, 2013
We were delighted the moment we stepped into the hotel. The staff and atmosphere was the best. The beach excellent for for a family and the hotel is central located near shopping. The first time to the island and it was a blast. High recommendation for the Marriott.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by dannyyofrom Los Angeles, CA

Nice pool, next to the beach.

Posted Jun 27, 2013
It was a decent hotel. It didn't smell too good when we first walked into the room. But it went away after I ran the AC for a while. Also there was a whistling noise, which I figured out that it was happening when the hallway creates a negative pressure and sucks the air out of the room and the gap between the door and the floor was creating a loud whistling sound. I think it was just in our room. It was loud enough where it really bothered me. I just placed a towel to block the gap under the doorway and it was nice and quiet. I think it was just our room, because I could hear the whistling noise from the hallway, but as soon as I open our door it was peaceful in the hallway. I only stayed 2 nights so I didn't let the people at the front desk know. Hotel is located next to the beach and they have a nice big pool with a jacuzzi. I'd wouldn't mind staying there again in the future. The king size bed they had was nice. The pull out sofa bed was very squeaky and uncomfortable. I gave it 3 stars because it's not really a 4 star or 5 star quality hotel. You get what you pay for, and this hotel isn't one of the expense hotels there anyhow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ricky1from San Ramon, CA

Great hotel. Not overly lavish but just right.

Posted Jun 19, 2013
Great Service! It was our first time in Kona and this hotel was in the perfect area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Kailuagirlfrom Kailua, HI

Awesome hotel

Posted May 14, 2013
We spent one night here recently and loved it,  the staff was very nice, check in was super fast.  The pool was amazing, perfect for kids, and it was crystal clean.  Too bad we didnt have more pool time.  There is an ABC store connected to the hotel to pick up inexpensive snacks water, etc., and the location is beautiful, right on the water.  They have a wonderful collection on Hawaiian royalty artwork.  Room was clean, bed was not super comfy, was too soft, but okay.  They offer lemon water in the lobby, that we loved.  We will stay here again for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Muskokatravellerfrom Bracebridge, ON, Canada

a very good experience

Posted Jan 25, 2013
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet, interesting cultural displays, nice pool area with bar/food service
comfortable, clean, friendly, helpful staff, reasonable rate for the area and time of year, fantastic breakfast buffet included in the rate, convenient to everything downtown
5 out of 5
Recommended
by TandCKfrom Morgan Hill, CA

Very clean & if you want to be central, it's perfect!

Posted Nov 4, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet
Cons: no microwave, told breakfast included - not true
The hotel had excellent service, extremely clean, very comfortable and if you want to be on the main strip close to clubs and action - it's perfect! Our personal preference is a condo so next time we'll make a different choice. But - for a hotel, it's fabulous! It should be noted we were told breakfast included - NOT true. Also, no microwave, which we found strange. Food is costly here so something to be aware of. If there was a con, we'd have to say they should update their bathrooms as the shower heads are heavy and the toilets are very low. Other than that, beds are very comfortable and all was great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Knich

Hotel was perfect for the price...

Posted Oct 25, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet
I would've given it 5 Stars, however we weren't entirely impressed with the gal working Concierge. BUT the rest of it was perfect! We were there simply for the Manta Ray dive and weren't expecting too much from the hotel. We were pleasantly surprised...the wifi in our room worked all the time, the staff was friendly and the cleaning ladies it seemed were constantly in the rooms on our floor doing their thing. I really couldn't have asked for anything more from this hotel, they aced it on all fronts. Would've been nice had the concierge lady had more options for things to do at sea level for us (in particular suggestions on transportation to the Green Beach!....we didn't rent a car that week & were just looking for public transportation options or Tours.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Travel2hawaii

Good location

Posted Oct 24, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet
This hotel is located in downtown Kona, not closed to any other luxurious hotels. I liked the facts that restaurants and bars are walking distance, yet the hotel was pretty quiet. Rooms were very clean and our room had a beautiful view of beach. The restaurant is right next to the beach, a beautiful place to have a breakfast! Overall, I really enjoyed my stay at Courtyard. When I am visiting Big Island next time, I am definitely staying there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Honeymooner2012from Maine, USA

Great people and location.

Posted Jun 6, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, location
The hotel is newly renovated and located centrally in the Kona district. The staff was very friendly and curtious.