Ratings based on 40 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler from Monterey, CA

Perfect location.

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location plus the name Marriott.
Cons: Don't lock the 2 rear entrances at night (11pm). My family got in about 11:15pm in a major rain downpour and were soaked running around to the front.
Location: Can walk to the Kona brewery/pub. Starbucks is close by.
It has the water, shopping and restaurants all within steps of the hotel. Elevators are fast, never waited for more than a few seconds an elevator. The Luau was nice but the food was not as good as I was expecting, pork was way too dry (over cooked), no desire for a second trip to the buffet. A good show is what your paying for, not the food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from San Diego CA

Good location in the town of Kona

Posted May 20, 2015
This hotel is across the street from the beach, and it has its own lagoon. It's also in the town of Kona, so lots of stuff is walkable. I really liked the coffee drinks I got at Menehune coffee, which is right in the lobby, along with the ABC store, open til 11 pm. I would stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A traveler from UT

Nasty people, expensive, not honest about what yo

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Room was supposed to have many high-end features and it did not. They refused to compensate me for the discrepancy. I requested a room with a microwave and was assured there would be one. There was not one in the room when I arrived and they said there would be a charge, eventually they brought me a microwave, but it was filthy inside and had garbage inside. They charged me for parking and I wasn't expecting that. It was a decent pace, but they misrepresent what you get and have hidden charges. The manager was very rude when I politely explained my concerns, she was very snotty. I complained about her and then she kept calling early in the morning while I was trying to work. Finally I took her call and she explained that it was my fault that she misunderstood ???? and asked what she could do to make our stay better in a snotty tone, I told her we would like her to quit badgering us. It was a terrible experience and we spent a fortune there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2015 by lvaleros@konabeachhotel.com, Hotel Management
Aloha, We couldn’t be more disappointed than to hear that your recent stay was not as you had anticipated. It is our goal to ensure a seamless experience for all our guests, and we do apologize that your stay did not reflect that. All guest feedback is taken seriously and we will certainly share your with our management team. Again we deeply regret that you experience fell short of your expectations and wish we had the chance to change your impression. Thank you for alerting us to your experience, we hope to have an opportunity in the future to regain your trust in our brand. Mahalo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Excelent, great location.

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Location: Lots of restaurants near by, easy beach access nice place to swim and snorkel
Great location, nice beach in front of the hotel with visit every day of Mr. Turtle. Don't miss the Luau. Very helpful and friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2014
Aloha, Thank you for choosing the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel for your recent stay in the area. We’re pleased you enjoyed your stay and that your luau experience fully impressed you; we appreciate you kind comments. Thank you for sharing your review; we hope we can welcome you back for another great stay in the future. Mahalo
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A traveler from Kona, HI

GREAT FAMILY FUN!!!

Posted Sep 3, 2013
We were delighted the moment we stepped into the hotel. The staff and atmosphere was the best. The beach excellent for for a family and the hotel is central located near shopping. The first time to the island and it was a blast. High recommendation for the Marriott.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by dannyyo from Los Angeles, CA

Nice pool, next to the beach.

Posted Jun 27, 2013
It was a decent hotel. It didn't smell too good when we first walked into the room. But it went away after I ran the AC for a while. Also there was a whistling noise, which I figured out that it was happening when the hallway creates a negative pressure and sucks the air out of the room and the gap between the door and the floor was creating a loud whistling sound. I think it was just in our room. It was loud enough where it really bothered me. I just placed a towel to block the gap under the doorway and it was nice and quiet. I think it was just our room, because I could hear the whistling noise from the hallway, but as soon as I open our door it was peaceful in the hallway. I only stayed 2 nights so I didn't let the people at the front desk know. Hotel is located next to the beach and they have a nice big pool with a jacuzzi. I'd wouldn't mind staying there again in the future. The king size bed they had was nice. The pull out sofa bed was very squeaky and uncomfortable. I gave it 3 stars because it's not really a 4 star or 5 star quality hotel. You get what you pay for, and this hotel isn't one of the expense hotels there anyhow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ricky1 from San Ramon, CA

Great hotel. Not overly lavish but just right.

Posted Jun 19, 2013
Great Service! It was our first time in Kona and this hotel was in the perfect area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Kailuagirl from Kailua, HI

Awesome hotel

Posted May 14, 2013
We spent one night here recently and loved it,  the staff was very nice, check in was super fast.  The pool was amazing, perfect for kids, and it was crystal clean.  Too bad we didnt have more pool time.  There is an ABC store connected to the hotel to pick up inexpensive snacks water, etc., and the location is beautiful, right on the water.  They have a wonderful collection on Hawaiian royalty artwork.  Room was clean, bed was not super comfy, was too soft, but okay.  They offer lemon water in the lobby, that we loved.  We will stay here again for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Muskokatraveller from Bracebridge, ON, Canada

a very good experience

Posted Jan 25, 2013
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet, interesting cultural displays, nice pool area with bar/food service
comfortable, clean, friendly, helpful staff, reasonable rate for the area and time of year, fantastic breakfast buffet included in the rate, convenient to everything downtown
5 out of 5
Recommended
by TandCK from Morgan Hill, CA

Very clean & if you want to be central, it's perfect!

Posted Nov 4, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet
Cons: no microwave, told breakfast included - not true
The hotel had excellent service, extremely clean, very comfortable and if you want to be on the main strip close to clubs and action - it's perfect! Our personal preference is a condo so next time we'll make a different choice. But - for a hotel, it's fabulous! It should be noted we were told breakfast included - NOT true. Also, no microwave, which we found strange. Food is costly here so something to be aware of. If there was a con, we'd have to say they should update their bathrooms as the shower heads are heavy and the toilets are very low. Other than that, beds are very comfortable and all was great!