Ratings based on 18 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.0 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
by NJMom22from Florham Park, NJ, USA

Lovely family hotel

Posted Apr 30, 2012
Pros: Free Internet, Quiet, clean
Spent Easter break '12 here and found a beautiful hotel with friendly staff and a relaxing atmosphere. Skip the pool grill and just order from the restaurant. For a few more bucks, you get better food at the bar or restaurant. On the pricey side but money well spent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by FLsunfun

Lovely staff, couldn't have been more helpful

Posted Jan 2, 2012
Cons: there is a beach club there for locals
Wonderful classy hotel. The only drawback is there is a private club for locals. One day we had a group of foul mouthed teenagers near us on the beach who went out of their way to play obnoxious music and curse for everyone to hear. The beach is lovely, the service is fantastic but their club manager needs to have a talk with their members about reining in their spoiled children.
2 out of 5
by oceanviewfrom Colorado

The grounds are phenomenal but everything else was lacking!

Posted Feb 20, 2011
Pros: Quiet, on the beach
Cons: hotel room was filthy, staff didn't seem to care
We were very impressed with the grounds however when we open the door to our room we were very disappointed. We had requested a non-smoking room but smoke from other areas filtered through the AC systom and as a result it reeked of cigarette smoke. It was espacially noticable at night when we were trying to sleep. Linens were smelly, tiles were broken, surfaces were dusted but the overall carpet, furnishings had seen better days. It was so dirty it was disgusting. Coffee maker did not work. I spoke to the front desk and someone came by and dumped some clean towels and bedding on the sofa. I have never had such a bad experience at a hotel of this rank. I hope they get their act together. My family and I were very disappointed with the overall state of our room and the lack of effort the staff took to rectify some simple things like cleaning the mold off the tub and bathroom tiles. A little clorax and elbow grease would have gone a long way. Such a shame to have a hotel get run down like this.
5 out of 5
by Tomahawkfrom Tomahawk

beautiful private beach

Posted Feb 8, 2011
Pros: Quiet
the hotel was wonderful and the beachfront was spectacular. Needed transportation however to get to the hopping strip of fort Lauderdale.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A traveler

Great Relaxing Get-Away Hotel for a Family

Posted Jul 30, 2010
Local family of four with a 5 year old and a 3 year old enjoyed a relaxing day/evening away. Loved the pools and how wonderful to be right on the beach! Reception staff upgraded the room upon arrival without asking as the room was not ready when we arrived early (2:00pm). Room had a wonderful view of the pool and ocean. Staff was very friendly and welcoming. Enjoyed the music by the pool, hammocks, playground, walk on the beach, etc. We all had a great time. Wish we could have stayed longer but looking forward to a return visit!
1 out of 5
by A traveler

Tremendous Dissapointment- think Cheezy Aunt Edith's 1980s condo terrible service!

Posted Nov 20, 2009
We were going to stay at the Ritz, and boy are we sorry we chose to stay at Lago Mar instead! It was Motel 6 at a 4-5 star price. The restaurant was pretty ordinary, reminding me of an Embassy or Hampton in...ok, but not what you expect for a 5 star resort. Service was horrible. We tried to eat at 1:30pm and told we couldn't, the restaurant was closed. Rooms were circa 1980 and very shabby. Bathrooms (2) were poorly lit, and unclean. Plumbing fixtures were those white plastic ones from the 80s. In summary, shabby & outdated, dirty & grossly overpriced. The view of the beach was nice, but the resort itself a grave dissapointment.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

CAn't wait for our fourth week at Lago MAr

Posted Jun 9, 2009
This June will be our fourth annual trip to this resort- a very well kept secret resort! It is hard to find a hotel in FLL ON THE BEACH!! THe 2 bedroom suites are spacious and a nice respit place for us and the 3 children during those summer rain showers/t-storms. The food is good ( a little expensive, but it is vacation!) Staff is caring and attentive. Any problems /needs immediately met. We have stayed in resorts in FLL and surrounding areas that are pricier but with less beach access ( who wants to cross the street??) and without the convenience of f a kitchenette.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Appropriate facilities for the money

Posted May 4, 2009
Friendly floridian atmosphere on the beach. Great relaxation spot.
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Ok if you prefer older grand hotels...

Posted Sep 28, 2008
We chose this property for a one-night stay on the beach before we left the Southern Florida area after a week in the Florida Keys. It didn't quite live up to expectations. The older decor, including cliche coral pink and seafoam green tropical furnishings, made us feel like we were in a grandparent's home. That might be great for some people, but it is not what we would consider a 4 or 5 star place. Some other negatives included - the website indicated that a standard room might have queen sized beds but they couldn't be guaranteed. Fine, but when we got there we were informed all of the standard rooms just had double beds. The room also had that stale, old smell. Luckily the wonderful manager on duty upgraded us (the staff were the best part of this experience as they were extremely friendly). Also, the antiquated furnishings extended beyond the room. The soda shop was just old and didn't have the classic ""soda shop"" feel one would have expected. The hallways, elevators - just everything was unappealing (though the entry foyer was beautiful). The bed and even the linens and sofa in the suite felt cheap and old. It was very disappointing. Other than the incredible staff, the other positives were the beach, pool and activities. The beach was wide and expansive, the pool seemed very nice and there seemed to be lots of activiites for kids. It seems that this property could be so much better with a substantial renovation and upgrade.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

jewel of Fort Lauderdale!

Posted May 16, 2008
I took my family here last Summer. The resort is awesome! The staff is unparalleled. I plan to return! It's expensive and not convenient to restaurants outside the resort but there is an amazing breakfast buffet everyday, a very classy restaurant for dinner and a casual diner type eatery for burgers and such which caters to kids. The suites have microwaves and refrigerators. If you have kids, I suggest making a trip to the grocery store to pick up a few packages of Easy Mac or other kid friendly food so that you don't spend a fortune on meals. The dinners in the Aqua restaurant are well worth the price for a splurge while you are there. The brunch is also there and it's not to be missed. I love this place!