Ratings based on 134 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A travelerfrom Orange County, CA

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Location.
Location: Gas Lamp district, Hotel Bar and Rest. are great.
Nice quiet room. Easy check in. Great Bar. Close to Gas Lamp, Amtrak, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom San Diego, CA

Cozy hotel close to EVERYTHING!

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Loved the Sophia hotel, will definitely come back!!! The bar was awesome, The staff was great, no complaints:)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler

Trendy and Comfortable

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Stayed in San Diego to go to a concert and very much loved this hotel. The one downside is the parking; there not really parking anywhere nearby so you pretty much have to pay for valet parking at the hotel. However it is very fast and reliable valet service so besides the extra charge it is convenient. The room I stayed in was very compact but was very comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom murrieta, ca

We love this hotel!

Posted Mar 23, 2015
It's walking distance to wherever you want to go. Staff is great and rooms are very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom Mexico

Downtown delight!

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Clean, well appointed rooms in the heart of the city. Best part is breakfast and happy hour at the restaurant Currant, right outside the lobby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by BarryPAfrom Pennsylvania

Loved Sofia!!

Posted Nov 6, 2013
This is a lovely old building where the guest rooms have been totally remodeled. The bathroom in my queen room, while small with just a shower, was modern and immaculate. Bottled water and coffee was provided in the room along with a microwave and refrigerator. I've read reviews that say that the rooms are small, which they are, but I found them small cozy, not small cramped. Probably the best valued hotel I've ever stayed in, and would definitely stay again. Only complaint is the mandatory "guest fee" for internet access; I always feel that this cost should be rolled into the room rate and not included as an add-on.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by marita123456789from atlanta, ga

very cool location!

Posted Oct 7, 2013
The hotel has a great location, near the gaslight district (but not in the middle of it) and close to the banker's district. This has been renovated to keep the best of the old with modern features. The ambiance is wonderful and customer service was attentive. We really appreciated the coffee in the room, free wifi, and water as well.. Two details about the room could use attention. First, the a/c is loud and seems to run on full vent most of the time. Second, the toilet works very efficiently but is also loud. So, it's better if you're a sound sleeper/don't have a roommate. We never heard noise from other rooms, so it was just local.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by KimP27from Dallas, Tx

Great extras!

Posted Jun 3, 2013
We stayed here for just a night, but I wish we had stayed longer to take advantage of the Saturday morning walking tour they host. And to take out the bicycles they have available for use down to the beach. First come, first serve. Both complimentary. They also provide FREE WIFI (well... maybe not free since they charge you a daily fee, but at least it was readily accessible without having to pay with your credit card for 30 minutes of internet). I would call the hotel petite and cute. Our room was just big enough. But it had everything we needed. I really don't understand the open door design of the shower. This isn't the first hotel I've stayed at that has them. It just gets the toilet and floor all wet. As for location, it is right on the outskirts of where the bars and clubs seemed to be situated. You could easily walk to them though. Only a few short blocks. We chose to drive and parking was difficult to find. You end up walking anyway unless you're lucky enough to find a spot right in front of where you want to go. $30 valet fee. $7 daily hotel fee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by MurtasaArzaifrom East Coast

Nice hotel w/ a suprising number of amenities/perks and close to convention center/Gaslamp

Posted Mar 26, 2013
Pros: Close restaurants
Cons: No free Internet
Went to San Diego for a business conference and chose this hotel as several others were booked and its relative proximity to the Convention Center. It was a fairly nice hotel with a lot of amenities (bikes, walking tour, yoga studio) which were good. The room is small and has an European feel to it. Not a bad place for the single/couple traveller who spend most of the day in the city and want to be near the Gaslamp district/convention center.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by SusyS29from Oceanside, CA, USA

Great location to gaslamp district @ great price

Posted Dec 12, 2012
Pros: Free Internet, Quiet
Cons: $30 valet parking
My hotel stay was great only thing I didn't really like was the $30 valet parking. Check in and checkout process was quick and staff was friendly. My view was of the building next door, unlike the last time I had stayed a few years back which was of downtown. I would recommend this hotel to family and friends because its reasonably priced compared to other high end hotels in the area and it is close to the gaslamp district. The room was clean, bathroom updated, iron, and refrigerator available. I would definitely stay here again.