Ratings based on 148 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A travelerfrom Peru, IL

Nice hotel near the hospital where I had tests.

Posted May 30, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: It was a little pricey.
The room was very comfortable and near the hospital. All staff we dealt with were great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom California

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Very clean, contemporary and sufficient space in each room.
Very clean, contemporary and sufficient space in each room. Staff is very friendly!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom AZ

Hotel in the middle of everything.

Posted Mar 24, 2015
This hotel was actually pretty nice, it was the mid-point of every tourist site we wanted to visit in downtown Chicago. Staff are friendly and helpful. And every destination was just walking distance away. The room was clean and comfortable, a tad small but we picked the cheapest room since we were only using it to sleep. Overall great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom Mpls MN

Loved the location, a little in the small side

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Service and location
Cons: A little bigger rooms
Location: Too many sirens
Best customer service ever, Steven the bellman went above and beyond, all were super helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Hedwigfrom Texas

Like Home...Only Better

Posted Nov 5, 2013
I've been staying at the Allerton for many years now and love the location! The neighborhood is quiet and offers great restaurants and shopping. The staff is nice and I really appreciate the great morning coffee....free and very good. The petite suite is the perfect size for solo travelers and this time my friend got her own petite suite for a girlfriends weekend. Nice convenient bar.  
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Grisellefrom Orlando, FL

Great location

Posted Oct 23, 2013
This is an excellent hotel to stay in.  You are near restaurants, magnificent mile and about a 10/15 minute  walk to the Navy Pier.
3 out of 5
by ModestManfrom Redlands, CA

Needs some improvement!

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Housekeeping needs the most improvement. Which would explain why our room was dirty when we unpacked.Our housekeeper didn't understand English which made it difficult to get any good cleaning service.The elevators are quiet small as well as the bathroom in the hotel room. This is more of a 3 star hotel. It's only in a convenient place. The only amazing service we received was at their restaurant and one of front desk woman. I'd recommend looking at surrounding hotels and compare pricing.
2 out of 5
by Winnebago

Very Unworthy

Posted Apr 16, 2013
The rooms in this hotel may be historic, but they are unbelievably small, with rooms only having double beds smashed into tiny rooms. They are very old, but I would not call this place historic. Just old. So sad to see travelers show up on special occasions, only to discover that the rooms are anything but 4 star! How many hotels offer anything less than a queen size bed? Seriously over promoted and rated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by BigDfromSAfrom San Antonio, TX, USA

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 6, 2012
Pros: Free Internet
Bed was not very plush, similar to a futon maybe a bit better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by ChicagosMyThingfrom Michigan, USA

OMG Where's the Coffee?!

Posted Dec 4, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants
Cons: No free Internet
Great location for walking to Magnificent Mile shopping. Beautiful city views from 18th floor. Cleanest hotel bathroom I've ever seen. Condescending concierge with a foreign accent. Friendly, funny, welcoming front desk guy at check-in. Nice, helpful doorman. Slightly rude baggage-hold guy. Last, but not least, I didn't find the HIDDEN complimentary coffee until checkout. Shame on them for not pointing it out or noting it in the room!