Ratings based on 144 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Hedwig from Texas

Like Home...Only Better

Posted Nov 5, 2013
I've been staying at the Allerton for many years now and love the location! The neighborhood is quiet and offers great restaurants and shopping. The staff is nice and I really appreciate the great morning coffee....free and very good. The petite suite is the perfect size for solo travelers and this time my friend got her own petite suite for a girlfriends weekend. Nice convenient bar.  
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Griselle from Orlando, FL

Great location

Posted Oct 23, 2013
This is an excellent hotel to stay in.  You are near restaurants, magnificent mile and about a 10/15 minute  walk to the Navy Pier.
3 out of 5
by ModestMan from Redlands, CA

Needs some improvement!

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Housekeeping needs the most improvement. Which would explain why our room was dirty when we unpacked.Our housekeeper didn't understand English which made it difficult to get any good cleaning service.The elevators are quiet small as well as the bathroom in the hotel room. This is more of a 3 star hotel. It's only in a convenient place. The only amazing service we received was at their restaurant and one of front desk woman. I'd recommend looking at surrounding hotels and compare pricing.
2 out of 5
by Winnebago

Very Unworthy

Posted Apr 16, 2013
The rooms in this hotel may be historic, but they are unbelievably small, with rooms only having double beds smashed into tiny rooms. They are very old, but I would not call this place historic. Just old. So sad to see travelers show up on special occasions, only to discover that the rooms are anything but 4 star! How many hotels offer anything less than a queen size bed? Seriously over promoted and rated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by BigDfromSA from San Antonio, TX, USA

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 6, 2012
Pros: Free Internet
Bed was not very plush, similar to a futon maybe a bit better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by ChicagosMyThing from Michigan, USA

OMG Where's the Coffee?!

Posted Dec 4, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants
Cons: No free Internet
Great location for walking to Magnificent Mile shopping. Beautiful city views from 18th floor. Cleanest hotel bathroom I've ever seen. Condescending concierge with a foreign accent. Friendly, funny, welcoming front desk guy at check-in. Nice, helpful doorman. Slightly rude baggage-hold guy. Last, but not least, I didn't find the HIDDEN complimentary coffee until checkout. Shame on them for not pointing it out or noting it in the room!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Traveler3773 from Rochester, MI, USA

Right on the Magnificent Mile!

Posted Oct 19, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, on magnificent mile
Cons: No free Internet, small elevators
An "old" hotel, but totally updated so you don't feel out of touch with current times. Me and the girls loved it for a girls weekend away! The front desk switched rooms around so we could all be together and were very helpful when we couldn't check in until later. Very nice - would stay here again!
3 out of 5
by Upupandaway123 from California

Fast check in

Posted Oct 18, 2012
Pros: Quiet
Cons: No free Internet
The room and bathroom very small it is ok for one person. Wireless Internet bad,parking very high priced.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by biztravelerlady from Fort Collins, CO

I liked the hotel, employees were friendly.

Posted Oct 1, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet
Cons: No free Internet
Overall I was pleased with the hotel and have few complaints. The one thing I don't like is when a hotel nickel and dimes you like with the internet. I paid for one night, but it was so slow, it just didn't work. Luckily I was on my ipad and just used the 4G. I sure didn't pay for the second night. The mini bar stuff is usually a rip off and there were no vending machines. The drug store was a block or two away. If they made mini bar prices reasonable I would actually maybe take advantage of stuff like that. High priced hotels like that leave me feeling like the value isn't that great. I've had great value and internet service at other lower priced chains. I didn't mind the price, but not much value for what you get. Great location though. Safe area. The hotel is old and quirky, but that was okay too.
2 out of 5
by JeninGA from Atlanta, GA, USA

Paying for the location

Posted Aug 20, 2012
Pros: location to michigan ave
Cons: No free Internet, sagging old mattresses
Yes the location is great, however, the lumpy sagging mattress, the wet carpet and the mold in the bathroom didnt make up for it. They did a beautiful remodel and you cant beat the location but they should have spent some $$$ on new mattressess. Dont expect a good nights sleep. Rooms are very small. even with them trying to fix the problems for us, the new room STILL had a sagging mattress. Wouldnt go back