Ratings based on 61 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Bob39 from Florida

Elegance for a reasonable price

Posted Oct 25, 2013
If you go to Chicago, then you must stay in downtown Chicago, and to do so, you must stay at the Whitehall Hotel. Here you can be treated like royalty, sleep in a room fit for a King and Queen, and when you go outside, you can walk to many of the finest restaurants. As you walk down the street, people will actually smile and say hello and when on an elevator or in a retail store, they will ask where you are from and how do you like their city. If and when my wife and I return to Chicago, we will definitely stay at the Whitehall Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by baplayer from Memphis, TN

A Quiet Place to Get a Little Rest

Posted Oct 23, 2013
A very quiet hotel with great beds. Probably not the place to stay if you hang out in your room. Even when full you don't have to wait to check in or out. Carry a few dollars in your pocket to tip and they treat you like you own the place. Price can vary quite a bit, but it seems to match the variance found for other hotels at the same time. I have stayed several times and always had a good experience. Managers on duty always seem to be ready to make anything wrong, right.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by rap10 from Northern California

Great location, excellent staff

Posted May 7, 2013
Our recent stay at the Whitehall was a delight--steps from the Magnificent Mile, clean and attractive rooms, good value and a great staff. We were traveling with an elderly parent, and the staff was very helpful and considerate--went out of their way.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by veliketotravelyah from Saugatuck, MI, USA

Great location.

Posted Feb 21, 2013
The location is great. But everything is small; elevators, rooms, bathroom. The view is another close building and the windows are drafty. NO ICE ON THE FLOOR. You have to call to get ice delivered, hence $tip. No in-room coffee and downstairs serves ONLY coffee and tea. Newly remodeled so the king bed was wonderful. The staff was very nice. Doubt I'd stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by wonderjen from California, USA

Great location and pleasant staff

Posted Dec 11, 2012
This hotel is currently being renovated, so It is a littel noisy in the morning. Great location, staff was very nice. Room was clean and comfortable. Had a great time, Thank you!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Stogie from West Palm Beach FL

Good for money

Posted Nov 15, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet
They are remodeling this hotel. It is in a great location and amazing cost for what you get . No coffee in rooms which was a turn off for me, but they have coffee downstairs at 7am.
1 out of 5
by A traveler from Utah, USA

Nothing more than 2.5 stars. For its location

Posted Oct 29, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants
Cons: No free Internet, Noisy
I dont usually do this but I felt this definitely needed to be said. Staff was ok. Not the most energetic bunch, when I walked in it felt like a ghost hotel, even for the middle of the night. The elevator was horribly small but i can understand that worked for people in the 1920's. As soon as we got into our hotel room I noticed the room was much colder than the hall, You'd think the heater would solve the problem but no, definitely not, I had to call the front desk and they had to get me mechanic, i asked them if they could just switch my room because its 3am and by the time we go to bed trying to fix this and get ourselves settled it will be 4 or 5am...and we already have to check out by 12pm. So what are we really paying for? and just as I predicted they couldn't fix it, finally the front desk switched out queen size hotel room to a king size which was nice, but then I noticed other things that came with this hotel, No wifi, the basic cable had a bad cable, luckily a little jiggle of the wire and shock to my hand fixed it. The toilet doesn't flush all the way it took me 3 times holding the handle down just to flush some toilet paper. And don't expect to find any outlets they love to minimize those. I had to unplug some lamps just to charge my phone. Also the Number one thing that bothered me, the curtains don't close. Come on! seriously!!?! I can't cover up my window when the sun is coming through?? only the transparent curtains are moveable. If I were to say some positive things the Mechanic guy was nice and so was the bell boy. The bed is definitely comfortable, There pet friendly for a $30 dollar fee. Location is great but I was expecting more for there location like quality.
4 out of 5
by RandomTraveler2

Awesome location

Posted Sep 12, 2012
Pros: location
Cons: No free Internet
I wasn't sure what to expect after reading other reviews, but on the whole it was what everyone else said. A wonderful location, amazingly comfortable bed and friendly staff in not the most polished of hotels. If you're looking for ultra posh, look elsewhere, but if you're looking for comfortable, cozy, and friendly close to everything this is the spot for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by IllinoisMom from O'Fallon, IL

Great Location

Posted Jul 4, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants
Cons: No free Internet, Poor breakfast
The location of the Whitehall Hotel is wonderful. It is 1 block from the John Hancock Tower and there was easy access to public transportation. The staff was friendly, and the room was nice. Our bathroom had paint peeling on the ceiling, but they are renovating currently, so it was not a major issue. Several times, there was only one elevator running, and the lobby was quite warm. You had to pay for Internet in your room, which is wrong in this age of wireless routers! Breakfast was $20 per person....we found a cafe a block away that had $5 breakfasts! All in all, we had a good experience and we would stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Lovechicago4ever from Decatur, IL, USA

The staff made us feel wanted from the time we pulled up

Posted Jun 27, 2012
Cons: No free Internet
Love this hotel, great price and excellent service