Ratings based on 65 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Michigan

Never again

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: The air conditioner was working.
Cons: Staff attitude and honesty would be a good start.
Location: Two blocks off northern Michigan Avenue, across from Bloomingdales/shops at 900 Michigan Avenue, near Water Tower. Mostly good for shopping.
The only good thing about this hotel is its location. If you book this hotel through travelocity, please note that the hotel does not honor your request for room size, even if you pay full cost for the larger bed. They preferentially assign rooms to people who book through the hotel's web site and, in my opinion, discriminate against everyone else who books through travel sites. They were completely unapologetic. For almost $400 a night, this hotel was poor. Valet parking is $65/night, and their web site says self-pay is $65/day but across the street the garage is $45-50/day. There was nothing special here and the staff's attitude was dismissive and rude. I will never choose this hotel again. The Westin down the block is much nicer in every way, and there are greater older hotels within 2 blocks of here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Florida

Friendly staff and close to everything

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Pros: The location, the staff and the bed.
Cons: Elevator size and ice on the floors.
Location: See above
This is an older hotel so it doesn't have the height or view that you might want. However, the staff was friendly and very helpful with information about events and travel around the city. The room was nicely furnished and the bed was super comfortable. The water pressure wasn't great, but on par for most hotels. The elevators were few and tiny. Though we never found ourselves waiting as they were relativity quick. You had to always order ice from room service. They discouraged you from going to the bar (the only place to get ice) and getting it yourself. I also wish the room had a useable refrigerator. The refrigerator in place was packed full of "mini-bar" type items on automatic sensor, leaving no room for personal use. The hotel is a block from the magnificent mile, practically across the street from the 360 and within 2 miles of nearly all the most popular attractions in Chicago. If you like to shop this is the hotel for you. I would definitely stay here again. But next time I'll bring a cooler.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Des Moines, IA

Great price, great location, very nice hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: Location, price, cleanliness
Cons: Tiny elevators
Location: Michigan Avenue Chicago. Near Hancock Towers and many great places to eat and see.
Stayed 2 nights at The Whitehall Hotel. Great location and easy to walk to many great areas of Chicago. Hotel was very nice. Room was clean and good size for the area. We would not hesitate to go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2015 by Jerrod C. , Hotel Management
Dear Andy, Thanks for the fantastically warm words about your recent stay with us! I am glad that our great location served as a great launching pad for exploring the city. I hope to welcome you back soon on your next stay in Chicago's Magnificent Mile. All the best, Jerrod Capiak Guest Experience Manager The Whitehall Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Nashville, TN

Just around the corner from the Magnificent Mile.

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: In the thick of things in Chicago.
Location: Le Pain Quotidien is close by - just like you walked into a bakery/cafe in Paris. It's are a few blocks from Lou Maltinas, Ditkas and tons of shopping
Friends suggested staying close to the Chicago 360 (John Hancock) building. This hotel is very very very close to that and just around the corner from the Magnificent Mile. It is a good ways from the museums but you can walk or catch a cab. The staff was helpful and courteous and we enjoyed our stay in the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2015 by Jerrod , Hotel Management
Dear Amanda, Thank you for sharing this wonderful review of your recent experience at The Whitehall Hotel. I am elated to see that we made such a great impression and that our fantastic location made for easy access to world class shopping and museums. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Chicago's Magnificent Mile. Kind Regards, Jerrod Capiak Guest Experience Manager The Whitehall Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Bob39 from Florida

Elegance for a reasonable price

Posted Oct 25, 2013
If you go to Chicago, then you must stay in downtown Chicago, and to do so, you must stay at the Whitehall Hotel. Here you can be treated like royalty, sleep in a room fit for a King and Queen, and when you go outside, you can walk to many of the finest restaurants. As you walk down the street, people will actually smile and say hello and when on an elevator or in a retail store, they will ask where you are from and how do you like their city. If and when my wife and I return to Chicago, we will definitely stay at the Whitehall Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by baplayer from Memphis, TN

A Quiet Place to Get a Little Rest

Posted Oct 23, 2013
A very quiet hotel with great beds. Probably not the place to stay if you hang out in your room. Even when full you don't have to wait to check in or out. Carry a few dollars in your pocket to tip and they treat you like you own the place. Price can vary quite a bit, but it seems to match the variance found for other hotels at the same time. I have stayed several times and always had a good experience. Managers on duty always seem to be ready to make anything wrong, right.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by rap10 from Northern California

Great location, excellent staff

Posted May 7, 2013
Our recent stay at the Whitehall was a delight--steps from the Magnificent Mile, clean and attractive rooms, good value and a great staff. We were traveling with an elderly parent, and the staff was very helpful and considerate--went out of their way.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by veliketotravelyah from Saugatuck, MI, USA

Great location.

Posted Feb 21, 2013
The location is great. But everything is small; elevators, rooms, bathroom. The view is another close building and the windows are drafty. NO ICE ON THE FLOOR. You have to call to get ice delivered, hence $tip. No in-room coffee and downstairs serves ONLY coffee and tea. Newly remodeled so the king bed was wonderful. The staff was very nice. Doubt I'd stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by wonderjen from California, USA

Great location and pleasant staff

Posted Dec 11, 2012
This hotel is currently being renovated, so It is a littel noisy in the morning. Great location, staff was very nice. Room was clean and comfortable. Had a great time, Thank you!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Stogie from West Palm Beach FL

Good for money

Posted Nov 15, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet
They are remodeling this hotel. It is in a great location and amazing cost for what you get . No coffee in rooms which was a turn off for me, but they have coffee downstairs at 7am.