Ratings based on 16 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.2 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
2 out of 5
by Dave77

Not a five star hotel.

Posted Jul 31, 2013
Slow internet with poor WIFI signal quality.  But the staff was nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by WJM3 from Houston, TX

Great location, helpful staff.

Posted Oct 4, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet
The location was ideal, the staff was beyond helpful without being in your face. I would recommend it if you are in the downtown Chicago area and want easy access to all the activities and dining.
2 out of 5
by travelinglady123456

Nothing 5 star about this hotel.

Posted Jun 22, 2012
I have had many wonderful stays at the Ritz Carlton chain of hotels. This Chicago location falls very short of their standard. The staff at check in was very pushy and condescending. The hotel, all around had an extremely unpleasant smell. Nothing 5 star about this hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by luxuryeathotelwithkids from Silicon Valley, CA, USA

needs updating of decor, but VERY kid friendly!!

Posted Jun 14, 2012
Pros: kid friendly
Cons: old decor
based on others' reviews, I chose this over other hotels for its kid friendliness. and they did a GREAT job at that! upon arrival, my daughters chose a free toy from their toy cart, then they had a welcome packet that detailed other fun activities. They had a free cookie making party at 4pm each day. and movies in the pool (aimed toward older kids than mine) the room was elegant, but seemed old.. but perhaps that is the style of the ritz. nice gift shop. but horrible gift wrap job for my $350 gift!! made it look like it was wrapped by my 5 year old - ugly! I emailed the hotel but got no response about that feedback.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ford8600 from East Central Indiana

This hotel was in a safe location and made us feel like movie stars.

Posted Jan 19, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet
We arrived late in the evening at the hotel. Service was excellent and very welcoming. When we checked in the hotel had bumped us from a regular room to a 2 room suite for the same price. They had coloring books and also had milk and cookies waiting for them. The upgraded room was beautiful with 2 bathrooms and was overlooking the magnificent mile. The room was spotless and the beds were very comfotable. We ate breakfast in the hotel restuarant. it was a little pricey but remember its the Ritz. Food was great and service was too. We have 2 girls and we went to the American girl doll store. We did not know this but you dont have to leave the hotel to get there. The mall is attached to the Ritz which was awesome for us. We had a fabulous time shopping and we will Difinitly stay here again. Thank you Ritz-Carlton for your service and beautiful hotel!:-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Chicagofirsttimer

Attentive, friendly and Great rooms!

Posted Nov 10, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet, great beds and sheets, very clean, great location in city
From the time we pulled up to the hotel until the time we left we were taken care of and greeted and made to feel comfortable. Our room was wonderful. Clean clean, beautiful room and a beautiful view. They say "Minnesota Nice" but we decided it should be "Chicago nice" everyone we met was helpful and informative. Our first trip to Chicago-what a clean city we will be back to tThe Ritz of course.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by kclay98

Good Hotel - Great Staff

Posted Jul 15, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, top notch concierge staff
Cons: no in-room coffee service unless requested
Ritz was an excellent experience. Room was clean, comfortable with a view of Navy Pier. The room makes very good use of space and had the best darkening shades I've ever experienced. I slept better than I do at home! The only negative was the room did not come with a coffee maker or a docking station for an iPod. No worries...just called the front desk and within minutes coffee service and an iPod docking stereo were brought to the room. Concierge staff were outstanding. They got us into sold out shows, booked tours for us as well as gave great restaurant recommendations for some off-the-beaten-path places. They even provide cards that get you priority seating at some of the more popular downtown restaurants allowing us to skip wait lines that were up to an hour long! Although we did not eat on site, we heard great reviews from other guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by OU812asWELL from Lexington, KY

Great Hotel.

Posted Apr 13, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants
This is simply a great place to stay in Chicago. I would definitely do it again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by tradewinds from IL

great hotel

Posted Mar 6, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet
Great hotel with very nice view! But our room didn't have any sofa... I wish we had one.. But other than that, it was a great place to stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by RITDePMom from Iowa

Fabulous Service!

Posted Feb 15, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet, wonderful view
Celebrated my husband's 50th birthday weekend in Chicago. They found out, and when we returned to our hotel after dinner they had a beautiful chocolate and fresh fruit dessert with a note waiting in the room. Sure, the Ritz Carlton is pricey, but once in awhile it's just really fun to splurge! Our room was lovely, the bathroom was huge, the amenities were yummy smelling! And being located right at Watertower so we could shop the sales without worrying about winter coats was a real bonus!