Ratings based on 55 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

fabulous location

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Location is fabulous for shopping
Very nice hotel in an excellent location near Michigan Avenue.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2015 by Stephen Blackford, Hotel Management
Being only one block off of Michigan Ave. is an amenity that is difficult to beat. With so many options for dining, shopping, and various attractions you are never at a loss for things to do. Thank you for taking the time to offer some feedback regarding your most recent stay at The James Chicago.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom W

Spring break visit to Chicago

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Had a great time at the hotel and the weather was beautiful for our trip only thing that we would like better is for for them to give us ice automatically every evening instead of having to ask for it
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2015 by Stephen Blackford, Hotel Management
Dear W, I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy your trip to The James Chicago and were lucky enough to have nice weather! A rarity in Chicago in the spring. During your next visit please request our nightly turndown service which includes a bucket of ice. Thank you for taking the time to offer some feedback regarding your most recent stay at The James Chicago.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A travelerfrom st. louis, mi

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Cons: Spa, was not what. I expected. The massage therapist gave me a massage with rubber gloves on. Odd not relaxing.
Location: One block frm Michigan avenue, shopping! Restaurants and nightlife was great!
The James was a great hotel. The staff including doormen were friendly and helpful. The hotel was close to everything. Michigan Ave was only a couple of blocks away. Great location!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2015 by Stephen Blackford, Hotel Management
Dear angie, I am happy to hear that all of the team members you encountered at The James were very accommodating to you during your stay. It is tough to beat our location with so much within walking distance it is rarely necessary to take a taxi, money better spent on shopping and dining! We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Chicago.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by firehouse17from Northern, IL, USA

Awesome!

Posted Dec 28, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet, modern rooms, staff
My wife and I stayed on a Sunday night. The staff was impeccable and friendly. Room was very clean and modern. We left for Xmas shopping and dinner. We returned to find the bed turned down. We will return. I think this is a hidden gem for the value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by kfrazie

All around great hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, free wifi
Trendy and friendly. Great hotel that is close to all major attractions.
3 out of 5
by HotelGeek

Not bad for the price point but I was expecting much more.

Posted Aug 9, 2012
Pros: Free Internet, Quiet
Room quality was okay for being a 4 star hotel. There are to many other chicago hotels for me to come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by WindyCityVisitorfrom Lafayette, IN, USA

Every staff member we encountered was friendly, helpful, and polite.

Posted Jul 19, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet, turn down service (ice in room), pet friendly
We were only in town one night, but we enjoyed our stay at The James. Easy walking distance to the Metra system. We would stay again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jacks66from Houston, TX, USA

Hotel was very warm and inviting.

Posted Jul 17, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet
Cons: Noisy
We only stayed here one night. We changed hotel after three days. I was very impressed with The James. Wish we had stayed here the entire trip. The service was great and the Hotel was clean. It is in a prime location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Chicago2from St cloud, mn

We were always greeted with a friendly face at the door.

Posted Jun 22, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet, excellent service
Great hotel. Very accessible location to all the major sites!
3 out of 5
by Chook27

OK not great

Posted May 31, 2012
Pros: Free Internet, location
Cons: small beds
The location of the hotel is fantastic, close to all the action. Looks great but the hotel itself was not worth the money. Rooms were a decent size but beds were very small, fine for couples wanting to snuggle but not ideal for friends away on a long weekend. When we called requesting a cot they were not able to put in the room due to fire hazard but did acknowledge although the rooms are meant for 4 adults there is no way 4 could comfortably fit in there. There's also only 2 small elevators to service the hotel which wasn't sufficient for the number of people staying so there were long delays at times. Probably better suited for a romantic getaway.