Ratings based on 52 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
by firehouse17from Northern, IL, USA

Awesome!

Posted Dec 28, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet, modern rooms, staff
My wife and I stayed on a Sunday night. The staff was impeccable and friendly. Room was very clean and modern. We left for Xmas shopping and dinner. We returned to find the bed turned down. We will return. I think this is a hidden gem for the value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by kfrazie

All around great hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, free wifi
Trendy and friendly. Great hotel that is close to all major attractions.
3 out of 5
by HotelGeek

Not bad for the price point but I was expecting much more.

Posted Aug 9, 2012
Pros: Free Internet, Quiet
Room quality was okay for being a 4 star hotel. There are to many other chicago hotels for me to come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by WindyCityVisitorfrom Lafayette, IN, USA

Every staff member we encountered was friendly, helpful, and polite.

Posted Jul 19, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet, turn down service (ice in room), pet friendly
We were only in town one night, but we enjoyed our stay at The James. Easy walking distance to the Metra system. We would stay again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jacks66from Houston, TX, USA

Hotel was very warm and inviting.

Posted Jul 17, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet
Cons: Noisy
We only stayed here one night. We changed hotel after three days. I was very impressed with The James. Wish we had stayed here the entire trip. The service was great and the Hotel was clean. It is in a prime location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Chicago2from St cloud, mn

We were always greeted with a friendly face at the door.

Posted Jun 22, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet, excellent service
Great hotel. Very accessible location to all the major sites!
3 out of 5
by Chook27

OK not great

Posted May 31, 2012
Pros: Free Internet, location
Cons: small beds
The location of the hotel is fantastic, close to all the action. Looks great but the hotel itself was not worth the money. Rooms were a decent size but beds were very small, fine for couples wanting to snuggle but not ideal for friends away on a long weekend. When we called requesting a cot they were not able to put in the room due to fire hazard but did acknowledge although the rooms are meant for 4 adults there is no way 4 could comfortably fit in there. There's also only 2 small elevators to service the hotel which wasn't sufficient for the number of people staying so there were long delays at times. Probably better suited for a romantic getaway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by FlipperOntheFlyfrom San Antonio, TX, USA

Great Location.

Posted May 31, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet, location
Cons: no ice machine
Location, location, location! The staff is friendly, efficient and very accomodating. Rooms are small but quite comfortable and quiet. Many great restaurants and great shopping nearby. Would have preferred more housekeeping, but that is a sign of the times, (limited towels and no changing of the sheets). Can't wait to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Albis

I will definitely stay at the James Hotel next time I visit Chicago

Posted May 3, 2012
Loved my stay at the James Hotel! The staff is WONFERFUL !!!
1 out of 5
by bigwilly

Worst Customer service I've ever had

Posted Aug 20, 2011
I travel quite a bit and have never been inclined to write a bad review until now. Long story short our reservation was lost even though we had the confirmation email. They treated us terrible even though our 4 year old autistic son was having a hard time. We ended up paring over twice what we booked the room for after an hour of waiting. No apologies just rudeness and terrible customer service. It was very obvious this is not a kid friendly hotel and my autistic son was annoying them. There are so many great places to stay in chicago don't waste your money here. And to be honest the rooms aren't that nice.