Ratings based on 21 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
by esperancefrom michigan

Very nice stay.

Posted Mar 15, 2012
Pros: Quiet
Cons: No free Internet
Good location, clean rooms, relatively quiet, quick elevators, excellent staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Tichwi

Wonderful weekend

Posted Feb 13, 2012
Pros: Quiet
My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful weekend at the Blackstone. After he arrived, he realized it was a hotel that he had always wanted to stay at, and it lived up to his expectations. We were close to everything downtown. The Art Institute was a short walk up Michigan, and Buddy Guys was a block away. The staff at the hotel was very nice. The restaurant downstairs (Mercat a la Planxa) was excellent. We had dinner there the first night, ordered breakfast in our rooms for the morning, and went back for Sunday brunch. We loved the decor in the hotel, though we didn't get a chance to explore the Art Hall as there was a conference going on at the time. Even though there wasn't free wi-fi in the rooms, we were more than happy with the free wi-fi in the lobby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by KnittingGoddessfrom Champaign, IL

I'll definitely be back.

Posted Apr 12, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet
The Blackstone is a grand old Chicago hotel, updated with beautiful furnishings and all the modern amenities. The rooms tend to be a bit small, as do the elevators, but this is a reflection of its age. It his home to one of my favorite Chicago restaurants. The staff is friendly and helpful. And the location can't be beat.
4 out of 5
by Jeff45678

Great location

Posted Feb 7, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants
The location of this hotel is excellent, the staff is friendly and the common areas are very inviting. The room was unbelievably small, there was the last guest's discarded food in the waste can and the bedspread was so in need of laundering that it actually smelled. The bed spread and the other guest's waste food in the trash can may have been an unusual experience. Other than those two issues, my stay was fine and the location right downtown was wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by CajunCasafrom Baton Rouge, LA

GREAT hotel in Chicago!

Posted Feb 7, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet, beautiful decor!
We stayed at the Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel and was thrilled with the view of Navy Pier, the staff that waited on us hand & foot, and a wonderful tapas restaurant that was downstairs. WE will definitly stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by gfd214from Rison, AR

The staff at the Blackstone is great! They make you feel more than welcome.

Posted Feb 3, 2011
Pros: Free Internet, Quiet
The Blackstone is a wonderful place to stay in Chicago. We plan to stay there again next year. The stafff is very accomodating and the hotel is very nice. The hotel is relatively small and this makes is a nice place to spend a relaxed week-end.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

A wonderful experience

Posted May 8, 2010
This was probably the nicest all around hotel stay we've experienced. The staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. Our room had a gorgeous lake view and was tastefully decorated and meticulously clean. The concierge level lobby provided complimentary breakfast, free bottled water and soft drinks, early evening tapas, and evening desserts in a comfy place. The location was great and cabs were easily accessible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A traveler

Amazing experience! Recommend highly!

Posted Mar 7, 2010
My boyfriend and I stayed here this past weekend for our one-year anniversary and had an amazing stay at the Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel. The front-desk staff was very helpful and cordial, and I was impressed with the entire atmosphere. We were upgraded to a larger room, free of charge, and I've never felt so comfortable and "at-home" at a hotel. The room was clean, had great amenities and I would come back in a heart beat! I highly recommend people stay at this hotel. We only stayed there one night but I wish it had been for longer!
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Beautiful room

Posted Jan 24, 2010
Everything about the hotel was great. Room was very nice, great bathroom, very clean and inviting. would definitely stay there again. staff was very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
by A traveler

BE ASSERTIVE AND IT WORKS

Posted Aug 16, 2009
The Blackstone is run by a very young staff. That's fine, except they don't know and clearly have not been trained to show the genteel, accomodating ways that prevail at outstanding hotels with more experienced staff. I did not find the staff to be outgoing or warm; although, everyone was courteous and relatively competent the conceirge was perfunctory, and not very helpful. The check in desk put us in a room overlooking the HVAC and an airshaft -- inconceivable in a high quality hotel , unless it's 2 AM and the last room available. When I promptly challenged the room assignment we were moved. The bathroom in the second room had numerous long black hair on the floor. Yuck. By then, I was room fatigued, and just cleaned them up myself. The lounge chair in the room --which was, other than the above, extremely well appointed, although on the small side was extremely uncomfortable. When I asked for maintenance, the chair was replaced after which it was only somewhat uncomfortable. Finally, the Blackstone is a gorgeous old hotel, but the new rugs in the lobby are already dirty and tired -- which like condition of the lunge chairs indicates to me that the facility may have a maintenance problem. ALL THAT SAID, the location is superb walking distance from all museums, shopping, and transportation, and the rooms well appointed. If the hotel maintenance were better, and the staff on its game, this could easily be a 4.5 star facility. But I think that 3-3.5 is generous at the present time.