Ratings based on 37 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
by JR70 from Asheville, NC

Nice Hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2013
Nice rooms in older hotel with small old building elevators. First room had noise problem due to proximity to air conditioning units on adjacent roof but staff was good in moving us to better location in hotel (seems to happen with discount room bookings, no upcharge for the second, better room). Breakfast not convenient in this location but for donut shop in lobby, super sweet options only but just a few blocks to WaterTower Place for breakfast. Room service is outrageously expensive and valet parking was $59 per night but there is a self park $34 option available 2 blocks away. Staff very nice. Overall, good stay with acceptable limitations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by dreamergirl from Salt Lake City, UT

European-Feel

Posted Jul 20, 2013
My boyfriend and I stayed here for my birthday and everything was wonderful.  The staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms were elegant and modern.  We loved the bar with the outside patio on the roof and also enjoyed a relaxing romantic dinner on the patio of their restaurant.  Everything had a distinct european feel to it. Only complaint might be the small bathroom which gets very steamy when you take a shower.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by TravelProfessional from Mpls,MN

Historic Hotel with Contemporary twist

Posted Feb 4, 2011
I stayed at this hotel after it had been newly renovated. Nice update for a historic hotel. Like any renovation... the paint and wallcovering was not perfect. Great rooftop patio. Great value in downtown Chicago.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by hikershan from milwaukee

Very quaint and so close to everything!

Posted Feb 3, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet
Great price for a great hotel!! Very stylish, and so close to everything, I would definately recommend it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A traveler

Raffaello Hotel September '09

Posted Oct 1, 2009
The Raffaello staff was super....especially since they upgraded us to a suite which had 2 flat screen TV's, refrig. w/bar, microwave, & plenty of coffee available. The bed was really comfy w 4 fluffy pillows. The BR could be private from the sitting area which was a nice feature. The maid staff actually tucked in the sheets rather than letting them hang. We loved visiting the garden roof (we were there 4 nights). We took the subway from O'Hara w/ no problems & also to all the museums, etc. Much of our sight seeing was near.& we walked everywhere shopping & eating, etc. The Feast (less than 2 blocks) is a great restaurant for breakfast & evening. We also liked Mike Ditka's Steaks & esp enjoyed the singer who sounded just like Frank Sinatra. He also sang Dean Martin, Johnny Cash,plus the steaks were delicious. We highly recommend the Field Museum & Art Institute, as well as Shedd's Acq. & the Planatarium. The stained glass museum at the Navy Pier was beautiful & aactually an unexpected treat. The 1 1/2 hours Arch. Tour on the river was very informative & the guide was very informed on all the buildings. I would certainly stay in the Raeffllo again & highly recommend it. They were helpful w/directions & info. The Lobby is small, but adequate & there being no restaurant was not a problem for us as there are plenty of nearyby places to enjoy a good reasonable meal or an expensive one. They have fitness room but we were too tired to utilize it.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Great Hotel, Greater Location

Posted Dec 18, 2008
I am from the west suburbs and wanted to spend a night downtown with my wife and daughter to see the holiday lighting of Michigan Ave. Doorman and desk staff are very warm. Historic Chicago architecture with Mediterranean ambiance is terrific. Stayed on the 15th floor with a nice view of the city. Clean room, comfortable bed, pillows and linens, quality bathroom amenities, great price. I will be back. Soon-to-be restaurant will be huge plus. Oh, and you can't beat the location much less the price.
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Was terribly disappointed. 35th Wedding Anniversary.

Posted Dec 4, 2008
The front desk staff, doormen, and maid service was very pleasant. The hotel itself was not the 4 star quality we have been used to. There were not enough aminities for a celebration atmosphere. There was no bathtub for a bubblebath for instance. The shower door was only a half door, therefore not warm and cozy and water ran onto the floor. There was very limited room service- only breakfast and pizza delivery at night. So there were no cozy nights of movies with a tempting room service menu. The movie selections were poor. There were no bellmen or luggage carts. The edge of the carpet was coming up in our room and my husband stepped on a nail. Our view was awful. We definitely did not have the luxurious 4-day stay we had planned for a 35th wedding anniversary.
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Interesting...hmmmm...Interesting

Posted Nov 23, 2008
This hotel is a very nice boutique hotel. The rooms are very nice with amenities like rain shower, LCD tv (although not one HD channel and the signal was fairly weak), robes, slippers, etc. Check-in was smooth and easy. The lobby is small and there is only one host on duty at all times. I didn't understand why there were 4 doormen and one desk attendant. The concierge was nowhere to be found. My daughter thought the hotel was haunted. If you are looking for intimate and quiet then this is the place for you. There is no restaurant or pool or much of anything to do outside your room. Basically, this is a nice hotel right off Mich Ave that you can stay to come and go from the retail shops. The hotel looks like they bought all the furniture from Ikea. This isn't bad as that furniture can be extremely stylish yet functional. Put Ikea next to Snaidero and good luck telling them apart. Thing is, why not put the bulk of the money into an extremely comfortable bed? I don't get it. The bed is the most important thing! Raffaello sure missed the boat in the bed department. Overall I liked it. I probably won't stay again considering other comparative options that will get you much greater comfort and expanded amenities for the money (I paid $*** for my family of four).
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Great Room!

Posted Nov 17, 2008
A big 2-room suite that was very well furnished and comfortable. It is a great location within walking distance to the John Hancock building and the Water Tower/pumping station which is where you get tour buses and can buy tickets to events. A minor complaint would be that you had to pay to use the computers in the business center. Also, I would have liked a free continental breakfast for the price of the room. They offer a $15 breakfast off the lobby, but I can't comment on the quality of the food since we chose not to pay that amount.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Great 50th Birthday Celebration

Posted Nov 9, 2008
I spent the weekend celebrating my 50th birthday and my daughter's 26th birthday along with another daughter and friend. We had two rooms and were extremely comfortable. The decor is fresh and the rooms are perfectly cleaned. The bathrooms are beautifull, nice ceramic tiles and gorgeous granite counter tops compliment the decor. Thank you for such a beautifully restored hotel. The hotel staff are incredibly friendly and very helpful. I will return to Chicago and stay here.