Ratings based on 11 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2015
I wasn't really impressed. It may be fine for some, but I thought they went overboard with trying to look and be eclectic. Yet, it just kind of made things somewhat uncomfortable. Some people may like that feeling of disconnect. I just didn't care for it. The staff was helpful, and attentive. The hotel was clean and well kept. I may have just expected more from the rating. Thank you!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by David Miskit, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of PUBLIC Chicago. We understand that gracious, candid feedback drives success. We are delighted to read that you found our staff helpful and attentive and your accommodations clean and well kept. We do hope that you’ll give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. STAYPUBLIC David Miskit General Manager PUBLIC Chicago
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from K

Great stay!!!

Posted Mar 23, 2015
We stayed in the one bedroom suite for a friends wedding. The room was beautiful and staff were very accommodating. The morning coffee bar and fireplace was perfect for a cold weekend. The Gold Coast area is perfect walking distance to Michigan Ave shopping and nearby restaurants within walking distance made the location perfect!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by David Miskit, Hotel Management
Dear Kim K, Thank you for your wonderful review of PUBLIC Hotel Chicago. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your room, our coffee bar with its fireplace setting, and the service provided by our staff. Our location in the Gold Coast area is indeed perfect for nearby shopping on Michigan Avenue and we are glad you were able to take advantage of this. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. STAYPUBLIC David Miskit General Manager PUBLIC Chicago
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Nice but could be better

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Pros: A nice, modern feeling hotel. The staff was gracious.
Cons: Terrible wi-fi. Free for 1 mbps or $20/day for 4 mbps (too slow) No vent in a small bathroom No refill of toiletries; emptied 1 or 2 wastebaskets
Location: More of a residential neighborhood. Restaurants were a few blocks away.
The Public is a nice, modern feeling hotel with room for improvement. Clearly you could see bones of the former Ambassador East which was what this property used to be known as. The Public did keep the name of their well-known restaurant, Pump Room. We went to the Library and Coffee Bar on a Saturday night. We are in our mid-50’s and felt a bit out of place so took our drinks back to our room. It was loud and crowded with young, stylish professionals. We found out the next day that there were two parties going on in the bar which is why it was so crowded and boisterous. We called down to the front desk on Saturday evening because our neighbor’s TV was so loud we could hear it in our room. I think it was a combination of their TV being turned up as well as the walls being thin. Security did come up and asked them to turn their TV down (and they did.) We could even hear our neighbor’s phone when it rang. Sunday morning I went to the front desk and received a complimentary Chicago Tribune. I wanted a Diet Coke, but found that they don’t have coke products or any vending machines of any kind on any floor. The front desk directed me to the Library and Coffee Bar which has a breakfast service but they didn’t have any diet soda. They directed me to the Pump Room and I couldn’t find anyone there so I just went back to my room. I found that the Pump Room doesn’t open for brunch until 9:00 and I was there at 8:30.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by jtowery from Los Angeles, CA

Great location and customer service!

Posted Jul 31, 2013
This is a great Chicago hotel. I'm currently staying here on business with a large group of associates. The location is a very clean and beautiful part of Chicago, with tons of great restaurants and bars to choose from. However, what stands out most is the hotel staff. In particular, Paul at the front desk is fantastic! He has gone far out of his way on multiple occasions to accommodate our every need. Where the hotel itself lacks, Paul exceeds. He's made my group and myself feel at home since we were handed our room key upon checking in. He's provided the upmost in customer service by taking care of our every need and beyond. I will definitely stay here during my next visit to Chicago and recommend to friends in the future. 
5 out of 5
Recommended
by carolmarie from St. Louis, MO

Lovely Gold Coast spot

Posted Jul 25, 2013
We don't usually stay in the Gold Coast area and were happy to find this deal.  Nice walking thru lovely residential area to restaurants, Lake Michigan, and entertainment venues. Rooms are simple and stylish and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Eurointhecity from Chicago, IL

Beautifully restored historic hotel - GOLD COAST

Posted Jul 2, 2013
Wonderful experience at recently restored historic hotel in the heart if the Gold Coast (best area of Downtown Chicago). Beautiful, thoughtful design, clean and simple. Fun and hip. Popular w the locals as it is situated in the wealthiest residential district yet within walking distance to restaurants, shopping, beach, parks and nightlife. Clean, super comfortable bed and linens. Could use more towels and products. Friday night checkin was surprisingly busy - could use more receptionists to avoid long wait. Great vibe made for great experience - will definitely return and recommend. 
5 out of 5
Recommended
by worktrvl

excellent hotel all around

Posted Nov 28, 2012
Pros: Free Internet, great lobby computers for use
beautiful hotel, really nice and helpful staff. i would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by mindseyecards from Ann Arbor, MI, USA

We loved the location and 'neighborhood' feel.

Posted Jul 25, 2012
Pros: Free Internet, Quiet
It was great to find such a hip hotel in a low key neighborhood but so close to everything we wanted to do. We walked to the Chicago Zoo and were only three blocks from Lake Michigan. The hotels swanky upscale interior was further complimented by a friendly and accomodating staff. We would definately stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Vive7 from San Francisco, CA, USA

Great location. Lobby bars got awfully crowded in the evenings. At least we could not hear the noise from our room.

Posted Dec 7, 2011
Pros: Free Internet
Cons: lobby is overly packed in the evenings
Coffee bar/lounge is great for breakfast. Hotel decor is very nicely done.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by lovedThePublic

One of my favorite hotels, though not the most expensive

Posted Nov 15, 2011
I love the design of this hotel. The room was one of the most pleasant I've experienced due to the high-design. I would describe it as minimalist and modern, but I think anyone would be comfortable and enjoy it, even if that isn't always your thing. The restaurant and bar were also great. Great design, food and wine selection