Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Lovetowander98888 from Example: New York, NY

Fabulous Location, Great Room with a View

Posted Jul 2, 2013
Boutique hotel, with modern, well designed rooms and very comfy beds. Our room had a picture perfect view of the city. The room was small, but we were only there for sleeping and dropping off shopping bags. Great hotel for the price in a perfect location for a weekend in Chicago.
2 out of 5
by Ray22 from Chicago Heights, IL

Disappointment

Posted May 30, 2013
Bad check in experience. I will not go back to this hotel again.
2 out of 5
by Traveler11223344556677889 from Michigan, USA

Besides location, Wasn't pleased

Posted Mar 28, 2013
Pros: Free Internet, Quiet
I loved the location of this hotel. Right next to all the shopping. Besides that, I was not happy with the hotel. There was no hand soap in either of the two rooms we had. For a "suite", it was a basic tv with no hd. After a night out on the town our room keys did not work. The elevators are really slow. The lady at the front desk said she "fixed" the problems with our cards, she didn't. The second guy was much more helpful and took care of the situation. The wi-fi is terribly slow and you get little to no cell reception. Overall I'd rather go to a different hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
by burto

good accomodations, excellent locatiion and staff was outstanding from doormen to housekeeping

Posted Mar 19, 2013
Excellent value for the money. Good accomadations, good location and excellent staff
2 out of 5
by luv2travel2chicago from MN

Poor quality

Posted Apr 2, 2012
Cons: No free Internet, Noisy
I was recently in Chicago for a family vacation. Before I had arrived I called for upgrade pricing and was told one price and when I checked in the girl told me a expensive upgrade fee which tripled the amount given right before arriving at the hotel. The girl that checked us in was very rude to me and my family. She also asked how many people in each room. I booked 2 Junior Suite 1 king bed room. I told her 3. She told me a few of the rooms did not have working pull out coaches. I told her we need the pull out couch to work otherwise we would upgrade to a 2 bedroom king suite but there was none available when we arrived. Both rooms were two different lay outs. I wanted the same lay out for both rooms because the room I had had the same exact lay out as what we saw on there website. The 2nd room was alot smaller. I called the front desk and the lady advised there was no rooms available with the same lay out as the 1st room unless we wanted a room that the pull out couch did not work. We stayed for 3 nights. After the 1st night our room was cleaned so thorough that they even threw away our food that we had set aside to save. The 2nd day the room was not cleaned and had stuff every where. The 3rd day of checking out the 2nd room had cock roaches in there bathroom! This was horrible! The pull out couches were clearly not taken care of and had dirt and dust every where. The 1st room was noisy all you can hear was sirens from the ambulance and fire trucks and 2nd room was near a delivery dock so all you could hear was trucks delivering and backing up! Overall I did not have a good experience here. I will give a extra star though for the staff manager though. He printed out our city passes for us for free and was very friendly to us every time we came in and out of the hotel! I have stayed at a few places by Michigan ave or on and I recommend to pay a bit more for a better quality hotel then stay at this sort of hotel! Really read your reviews before booking!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by lazaro

Decent hotel

Posted Nov 22, 2011
Great Location. Not all the bells and whistles of a bigger hotel, but for the money was just fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by paula17 from canton, mi

Really went out of their way to make us comfortable

Posted Nov 15, 2011
Pros: Quiet, great location
Was a very busy weekend and yet the staff did their best to make us comfortable and go out of their way to reheat food at early morning hours.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Traveler2222

Great Stay

Posted Sep 12, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants
Cons: No free Internet, Noisy
Great location, right off Michigan Ave. Room was great, very clean and comfortable. Only complaints were lack of free internet and it does tend to be a bit noisy (was on the 11th floor).
5 out of 5
Recommended
by beachprincess97 from Akron, OH

Beautiful hotel, close to everything!

Posted Aug 6, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants, close to shopping
I traveled to Chicago for the first time to see the city and to shop. The Affinia was a beautiful hotel. Very clean and super friendly staff. The room was more than I expected and very comfortable. This hotel is within a very easy walking distance to all of the Magnificent Mile. We walked all of it daily. We were able to walk down to the river and also to Navy Pier. The hotel is right next door to Genos East and a few short blocks from some cute breakfast cafes. I will stay at the Affinia next time I am in town!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by otchick2001 from Detroit, MI

A real gem!

Posted Apr 12, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet, great location, very large room and bathroom for a boutique hotel, very clean
Cons: short walk to subway but not too far.
The location of the Affinia was excellent-could not have asked for better! Staff was great and was very welcoming. Room size and layout was great for a boutique hotel! Lucky to have found this one!