Ratings based on 99 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Tnastime from Orange County

Funfineryandfab

Posted Oct 13, 2013
My girlfriend and I did extensive researching for the perfect vacation hotel. What a find in Amalfi! Fabulous location, within walking distance of so many attractions and shopping, the hotel in its finery made us fee like a million dollars and the food included was the added bonus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Exhibitguy from Knoxville, TN

Convenient & Easy

Posted Oct 4, 2013
Great Location for food and shopping. Close to the subway.I like the small size of this hotel. Just walk right in the front door and be greeted by a helpful staff. Send a fax, leave a bag, get directions and find a place to eat. All done by the same people, quick and easy. Sufficient breakfast by the elevators on each floor and a light snack and beer each evening at the bar. Good experience.
1 out of 5
by Manishain66

Worst experience of life!!

Posted Aug 23, 2013
I booked two night stay for me and my family through my credit card rewards point. They messed up booking, the room booked was not fit for family of four and Hotel staff, was not at all cooperating,tried to exploit the situation by moving to worst room besides charging illegal extra fees. Photo and description doesn't match, staff is not fit, worst experience of life. I stayed for just one night and cancelled booking for next night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by lantzgd from Berkeley, CA

Very Nice!

Posted Jul 3, 2013
Other than a somewhat lackluster continental breakfasts, the Amalfi Hotel is wonderful. The staff go out of their way to make you comfortable, and the room was both inviting and plush.  Excellent location to see all of downtown, and within "reach" of anything you might possibly care to enjoy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by FirstTimeAmalfiGuest from Saint Paul, MN, USA

Not the same old hotel experience

Posted Mar 12, 2013
Pros: Free breakfast, Free Internet
I stayed at the Amalfi for a six days, for business. I loved having the continental breakfast on each floor every morning, and that there was a tray provided in the room for hauling back my coffee, fruit, juice and muffin. The complimentary evening happy hour was a bonus too. I especially appreciated the hearty appetizer bar. I loved the check-in experience. It was nice to sit down and check in with the "Experience Designer", rather than having to stand in line waiting for the next available staff person. The staff was always friendly and attentive. I love the hats worn by the doormen. Very Blues Brothers, very Chicago. The room was comfortable and met my needs. I liked the little "extras" in the room, like having a loaner umbrella in the closet and two bathrobes. Of all the bath products provided, I was surprised that there was no lotion. But the lighted makeup mirror and comfy seat more than made up for that. The hotel is in a very nice area and I felt safe walking to and from my meetings and in going out for dinner in the evenings. Unfortunately, it IS a nice area and the inexpensively priced restaurants were few and far between. I wish that the in-room dining consisted of more sandwiches/salads and less of the expensive entrees from the steakhouse. All in all, though, it was a very pleasant experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Fleurcita from Palo Alto, CA, USA

Great location, near downtown

Posted Jan 31, 2013
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet
We enjoyed our stay here, the hotel is really nice and the rooms are big and clean. The stuff was friendly and cordial. The continental breakfast was OK. The location was good, very close to downtown and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Shoppinggals from Windsor, ON, Canada

The staff at the Amalfi were helpful and very friendly!

Posted Dec 30, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet
We really enjoyed our stay at the Amalfi. We enjoyed the breakfast, Happy Hour, the gym facilities and the staff at the Amalfi Hotel. The hotel was clean and quiet. The concierge staff recommended two wonderful restaurants and also arranged tickets for Second City for us. The location was superb and the price was very competitive. I would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone visiting Chicago!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by gwjw from Middleville, MI 49333, USA

Awesome

Posted Dec 6, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Quiet
We loved it and will definately go back there when we go to Chicago. They treated our dog like a star and we thoght the staff was terrific. Best place to stay in Chicago!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by nychicagomom from michigan

great hotel

Posted Nov 1, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet, cocktail reception
Spent two nights very happy with hotel. Parking garage 1 block down 44 dollars a night a little cheaper. Breakfast and cocktail reception a nice touch. Close to everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by CanAm2 from British Columbia, Canada

Had no problem checking in early.

Posted Sep 27, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet, Free breakfast
Arrived in Chicago by Amtrak around 11:00am, had some concerns about checking in early but no problem. Checking in was pleasant and very helpful in getting directions to Wrigley Field , restaurants & sights. Hotel was very clean including our room. Our room and king size bed were very comfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel & would definitely stay there again.