Ratings based on 39 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.0 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
by BellaRoseGirlfrom Michigan

Great Hotel for Business or Pleasure

Posted Oct 10, 2013
Went there and stayed for 4 nights and do not have one negative thing to say.  Very clean rooms and the service was impeccable, professional with a friendly-homey touch.  Right smack dab in the middle of everything, which helps when dining or shopping.  Would defiantly stay there again.  
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2014 by Jenny K, Hotel Management
Thank you for the fantastic review! We are very happy that you enjoyed everything from our location to our cleanliness and rooms! We can't wait to see you again when you next visit Chicago.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review! We are very happy that you enjoyed everything from our location to our cleanliness and rooms! We can't wait to see you again when you next visit Chicago.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Tawmtoo

Great Location and cool place

Posted Oct 10, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants
Cons: No free Internet
Cool place right in the middle of downtown Chicago.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2014 by Jenny K, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to rate your great stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future.
2 out of 5
by shanshakshamfrom Little Rock, AR, USA

the hotel has an interesting feel but it doesnt quite "take"

Posted Sep 21, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, great walking distance
Cons: Noisy, rundown rooms, terrible "view"
The few staff we saw were courteous. hotel seemed a little "shabby chic"...decor just came across as confused funky. it just seems for the money we were spending, we were expecting rooms of bigh standard like the W and Westin. The Furniture in the room was all beat up, scuffed and scraped. There was big wall mirror that had coke (or God knows what else) all over it that maid service didnt clean up befote we got into our room. Our room had a horrible industrial rooftop view. Beds were very comfy and honor bar was awesome. Hotel had thin walls and lots of street noise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2014 by Jenny K, Hotel Management
We are very sorry you were disappointed in your stay with us. We're committed to making our hotel better than ever, and we've been working towards that goal. We'd love to see you again in the future; we're confident we can wow you with our improvements.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

SUPER!!!

Posted Mar 20, 2009
Absolutely awesome hotel, close to everything. Room looked great and the staff was awesome! I will only be staying there for all my travels in Chicago!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2014 by Jenny K, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your great stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future.
1 out of 5
by A traveler

terrible

Posted Nov 22, 2008
I will never stay at this hotel again they got me lost did not help me at all they were not friendly and i just will never stay again.... the hotel was beautiful but they offered nothing i was charged to park my car it was just horrible.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Rockin' Weekend!

Posted Jul 25, 2008
6 of my George Washington U Frat brothers got together the weekend of July 12th to go to the Cubs vs. Giants game (Cubs won 8-7). We do this every year, and decided we would actually stay at a "real" hotel this year. One guy's wife travels with business, and recommended the Hotel Sax. Glad she did. This place used to be the House of Blues which makes it pretty cool from the start. It doesn't look like any hotel I have ever stayed in. Everything was really funky in a good way. The rooms are awesome. Plasma TVs, CD players, huge beds, and quality coffee are basically the only things guys need to survive. The bartender even whipped up some special drink for us. They called cabs for us, and had them waiting to take us to the field. They had this plush set up with all the latest games on XBOX, movies and music on Zune players, and food and drinks. We felt like we were back in college, hanging out, playing games, and drinking beer. This was like you died and went to heaven. Check-in and chieck-out were easy, and didn't take a lot of time.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Best stay ever

Posted Jun 21, 2008
My wife and I recently stayed at the Hotel Sax for our anniversary/vacation. We had never stayed here before so we didn't know what to expect. The hotel exceeded our expectations. The room was great with comfortable beds, plenty of room, and the hotel was located close to everything we were interested in. However, the best part about Hotel Sax was the staff. The concierge was one of the most helpful people we've ever met. She helped us to get reservations, made great suggestions on restaurants and basically helped make our stay perfect. The day we were supposed to leave the hotel arranged towncar service to the airport for less than what a taxi would have cost. The only slightly bad thing about the hotel was the high prices for the in-room bar and that the Crimson lounge downstairs catered to a much younger crowd; however, all in all Hotel Sax will now be our regular place to stay when we go to Chicago.
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Great as long as you don't park there

Posted May 27, 2008
I would love to give this hotel a great review. The room was excellent and their Microsoft studio innovative and fun. However, our stay was ruined when we picked up our car from their valet service and found that the car had been completely ransacked and some cash stolen (luckily we removed the real valuables before leaving the car). I was just really upset that we had been violated and when I complained to management, I was told, quite indifferently, that the hotel did not run the valet parking (that their doormen push, by the way). They and the parking management gave me the run around so I finally demanded that the parking charges be removed since my car would have been safer on the street, they did remove the charges. I did park my car on the street going forward and, surprise, nothing more happened to the car. I live in NYC, which is supposed to be crime central and I have never had a break in before. Maybe it's Chicago, but I'm thinking the hotel/parking facility should be more responsible in keeping guest cars safe! I will not feel safe about staying there again.
4 out of 5
by A traveler

B-

Posted May 25, 2008
The facility is very nice, new and clean. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The decor in the lobby and the Crimson Lounge is beautiful. Although, the fragrance scent they have in the air is over bearing. The facilities are lacking but there are several restaurants close by. The Crimson gets kind of clubby on the weekends so you would have to be okay with this. Room service is costly for what you get. Pretty average hotel for the money.
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Great staff, amenities limited, needs security

Posted Jan 5, 2008
This is a high quality hotel. What one needs to consider is the need for a breakfast dining room, etc. Meals are available in room but to find restaurants you're better off going to State Street or Michigan or other local places. Also, there were no soft drink or snack machines on each floor. On my last day, a street person made it in and was soliciting me for money and no one caught on to get him out. He shouldn't even have gotten past security. They need to pay better attention. There are many other hotels close by, I will pick one of them next time.