Ratings based on 201 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.2 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
by A traveler from St. Louis

Hotel has an excellent location.

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: The location and proximity to venues.
Cons: The hotel has some charm in its age, but it needs updating and renovation.
Location: Great location, convenient to the Art Institute, Millennium Park, and walkable to the Museums.
The hotel is conveniently located on Michigan Ave., across from Millennium Park and the Art Institute. The lake view, from our room was awesome!
2 out of 5
by A traveler

Deadhead Weekend!

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Pros: The convenient location of the hotel and the low rates (for Chicago) are the biggest selling points here.
Cons: Just about everything, to some extent.
Location: The hotel is very close to Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium, Soldier Field, and Millennium Park and Grant Park, as well as several restaurants and stores.
To start off, when we booked our room, they misspelled the name on the reservation, which led to confusion at the front desk. As well as this, we booked for a room for 3 adults, intending to book a room with a king bed and a sofa-sleeper, which we were told we would receive. However, they neglected to tell us that all rooms with a king bed and sofa-sleeper were ALREADY BOOKED. We ended up in a room with only one king bed, and one of us ended up having to sleep on an old, rickety roll-away bed for three nights, which cost an extra twenty dollars per night. The person sleeping on it had to add blankets to it to make it bearable to sleep on. Assumingly due to the low rates when compared to other hotels in the city, and its location relative to places such as Soldier Field and Navy Pier, the hotel is usually packed not only for holiday weekends in general, which we stayed on (4th of July), but also for any events taking place in the area. We were unlucky enough to stay on the same weekend as the Grateful Dead Farewell Tour at Soldier Field. The hotel was packed with Deadheads all weekend, and the floor we were staying on had a lingering smell of marijuana smoke at all hours. Not entirely sure how (or why) the staff didn't pick up on this. The parking garage next to the hotel is not very large, either, and if you leave for any extended period of time, don't be surprised if your spot is taken and the garage is full. All in all, the stay was uncomfortable for all three of us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from suburban chicago

Downtown Chicago Staple

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing - things are in great shape and you get the feel of the wonderful history of the hotel!
Location: Right on Michigan Ave - couldn't be any more convenient to everything!
I love this vintage hotel and would stay here every time I am in downtown Chicago! Every single person I came into contact with was extremely cheerful and very helpful. They are all so nice!! Tha room was great and we even had a view of the lake! Wonderful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Oklahoma City, OK

Attended last day of Grateful Dead's last concert.

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: Room was vrey comfortable. Good size room with high ceilings. Hotel location was excellent. Price was reasonable in view of location and event.
Cons: Very minor issues.
Location: Excellent location on Michigan Ave. Walking distance to Soldier Field concert. Close to Grant Park, Millenium Park. Subway nearby.
Slightly older hotel, but has been reasonably updated. Room was vrey comfortable. Good size room with high ceilings. Hotel location was excellent. Price was reasonable in view of location and event. Would definitely stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Dallas,TX

Disappointing hotel.

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: Historical significance and location.
Cons: Updating and cleanliness.
Location: Lots to do right around the hotel - museums, parks, etc.
Very disappointing stay. While the historical significance of the hotel was interesting, the facilities (rooms and common areas) left a lot to be desired. Troubles with the TV in our room the first day led the front desk offering to "upgrade" our room. Our new room was the exact same...small, dated, semi-clean room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Kansas

A cosy break

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: Extremely comfortable bed,
Location: Knitting shop, fabric shop, Starbucks, Panera, tour buses, Chicago Architecture Foundation, and Chicago Symphony gift shop within 4 blocks!
We came to Chicago for husband's conference. We found plenty to do close by, and an extremely comfortable night's rest. We ate at Miller's restaurant one evening. When he was busy, I found plenty to do too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Morgantown, WV

Right Where You Want to Be

Posted Jul 5, 2015
The Congress Hotel is beautiful, conveniently located, comfortable, and well-staffed. We had a small, almost silly problem with our room. We were upgraded to a larger room with a tremendous view of Buckingham Fountain and Lake Michigan. The bellmen can make reservations with extra perks (like free dessert) at many restaurants. They are great with directions too. Just make sure you leave yourself extra time to bring your car if you valet it.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Is upset

Definitely not a first choice hotel again

Posted May 12, 2015
As soon as we checked into our room, we all had to relieve ourselves, so my husband went into the bathroom first, and low and behold he observed dried up yellow spots on toilet seat, which we could only assume it was urine, and to top that off, there were strains of hair (which we could only assume it was public hair on the toilet seat
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Lima,Ohio

Nice hotel close to Michigan Ave.

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Suite was good size... Loved the large bathroom and the king size bed was very comfortable.
Cons: Cost!!! Was very expensive...
Location: Not a far walk from Michigan Avenue.... Loved the shops in the Conrad hotel
Staff was excellent ... Very kind and helpful. Allowed us to extend our stay for an additional hour. Checked out at 1pm instead of noon for no additional charge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Indianapolis, IN.

Beautiful Old Hotel, best service ever!

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: The Personnel were the best! Views were breathtaking, food was above average., price of room was comparable to local hotels.
Cons: Condition of the rooms, ie. the drapes and wallpaper was depressing, but it IS an OLD hotel, and was appreciated as a historical monument.
Location: Center of Miracle Mile, facing the east in the middle of Grant Park and looking out toward the Navy Pier and Shedd's Aquarium and Lake Michigan!
Great location and reasonable room price, Best service I have ever had from the hotel personnel, anywhere. I must recommend the Perfect Omelette in the morning and the Pork Chop and Scalloped Potatoes in the evening. Clean and beautiful old hotel, bathrooms have been renovated in a lovely 12" light grey tile and very modern, in-room doors and knobs from antique times, except solid entry doors with card-key locks for the best security. I hope the owners decide to repaper and replace the draperies, as they are both ancient and in need of replacement. View of Grant Park is spectacular; I brought my Wife and Granddaughter just for the memories that I have from my last stay about 22 years ago. I think the restaurants are a little pricey, but I was very pleased with our visit. Thank You to each member of the Excellent Staff.