Ratings based on 194 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.1 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Is upset

Definitely not a first choice hotel again

Posted May 12, 2015
As soon as we checked into our room, we all had to relieve ourselves, so my husband went into the bathroom first, and low and behold he observed dried up yellow spots on toilet seat, which we could only assume it was urine, and to top that off, there were strains of hair (which we could only assume it was public hair on the toilet seat
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Lima,Ohio

Nice hotel close to Michigan Ave.

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Suite was good size... Loved the large bathroom and the king size bed was very comfortable.
Cons: Cost!!! Was very expensive...
Location: Not a far walk from Michigan Avenue.... Loved the shops in the Conrad hotel
Staff was excellent ... Very kind and helpful. Allowed us to extend our stay for an additional hour. Checked out at 1pm instead of noon for no additional charge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Indianapolis, IN.

Beautiful Old Hotel, best service ever!

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: The Personnel were the best! Views were breathtaking, food was above average., price of room was comparable to local hotels.
Cons: Condition of the rooms, ie. the drapes and wallpaper was depressing, but it IS an OLD hotel, and was appreciated as a historical monument.
Location: Center of Miracle Mile, facing the east in the middle of Grant Park and looking out toward the Navy Pier and Shedd's Aquarium and Lake Michigan!
Great location and reasonable room price, Best service I have ever had from the hotel personnel, anywhere. I must recommend the Perfect Omelette in the morning and the Pork Chop and Scalloped Potatoes in the evening. Clean and beautiful old hotel, bathrooms have been renovated in a lovely 12" light grey tile and very modern, in-room doors and knobs from antique times, except solid entry doors with card-key locks for the best security. I hope the owners decide to repaper and replace the draperies, as they are both ancient and in need of replacement. View of Grant Park is spectacular; I brought my Wife and Granddaughter just for the memories that I have from my last stay about 22 years ago. I think the restaurants are a little pricey, but I was very pleased with our visit. Thank You to each member of the Excellent Staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from St. Louis

Chicago in October

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: conveneince to where I needed to be for work function - had a nice walk getting to meeting.
Location: walking distance to many Grant Park features/museums; eat at BullChicks on Wabash - really good, economical meals
Selected the Congress Plaza as part of hotel/flight package. Was very impressed with room - high ceiling, wide window, very comfy bed and furnishings. Within walking distance of train station; local eateries; shopping and cultural areas. Appreciated the classical architecture accents with the modern amenities.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Iowa

Not our cup of tea

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Marble floors etc
Location: It's on the Mile, lots to do.
This was our honeymoon(and I called and mentioned that fact). The location was great and the building had charm because it is so old. The room was in a corner overlooking a parking lot and alley. We felt the room was way too hot and the only recourse was they brought up a box fan. Parking was expensive, but it is everywhere around there. Just thought them knowing it was our honeymoon they could have given us better service and room.
1 out of 5
by A traveler from Phoenix, AZ

The only thing nice about this hotel was the view

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: The View
Cons: The entire place needs to be renovated.
Location: The location is ok and there is a park across the street and good restaurants within about a 15 min walk.
The room smelled horrendous and the paint was peeling off the wall. There was a leak at some point from the ceiling that bowed out the wall below and the wallpaper was peeling from the leak. The molding was pieced together and overlapping. There was a 3" gap between the mirror and where it was put into the wall to replace the old mirror. The convenience shop was a joke and the gentleman couldn't give me a receipt because it was the only one he had and they had to reconcile them at the end of the shift. Unfortunately you could tell this hotel was amazing when it first opened and the view was beautiful, but they have let it go to shambles. I would never, ever stay at this hotel again even if is was a free night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from merrillville, indiana

A nice hotel with a huge touch of Chicago

Posted Mar 24, 2015
I really enjoyed my stay at congress plaza, I only stayed one night for a night out with friends but my one night I stayed was very enjoyable. It was kinda creepy at night because it reminded my of the haunted hotels because the hotel is very vintage but it was still a great experience because I was on the 15th floor great view of the buildings and being high up just makes me feel on top of the world !!!! I will be back one day soon. Thank you for having me congress plaza and also thank you for being partners with Travelocity :-)
2 out of 5
Recommended
by PeteBusinessTraveler from Detroit, MI

Gorgeous old hotel that is notably past its prime

Posted Nov 8, 2013
This hotel was the Ritz of its time. Stunning lobby, rooms with tall ceilings, magnificent location and steeped in history. This is where early century presidents stayed when in Chicago. Even the elevators are works of art. The windows in my room were probably 6 ish ft tall and offered a spectacular panorama looking out onto Grant Park and Lake Michigan. The late victorian era furniture was  worn yet still lovely. The bathroom had updated (contemporary styled) fixtures and although they were fully functional, they looked badly out of place and cheap. If you are a history or architecture buff, you may be able to overlook a certain amount of rattiness. If you're seeking a fresh and bright looking place to stay. The congress plaza may not be your first choice.
3 out of 5
by Poleycarp from Phoenix, AZ

Lakefront view amazing.

Posted Oct 9, 2013
Quality for price good, room was small with a big view. Staff was solid and helpful but a bit chaotic due to lobby and front door drop off.area locations. Would only choose this location again for price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by wampy from Saint Paul, MN

Great Location, easy car access, expensive to park

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Great Room facing Lake, old, but comfortably furnished, an historic hostelry, with beautiful period decor.