Ratings based on 187 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.1 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
2 out of 5
Recommended
by PeteBusinessTravelerfrom Detroit, MI

Gorgeous old hotel that is notably past its prime

Posted Nov 8, 2013
This hotel was the Ritz of its time. Stunning lobby, rooms with tall ceilings, magnificent location and steeped in history. This is where early century presidents stayed when in Chicago. Even the elevators are works of art. The windows in my room were probably 6 ish ft tall and offered a spectacular panorama looking out onto Grant Park and Lake Michigan. The late victorian era furniture was  worn yet still lovely. The bathroom had updated (contemporary styled) fixtures and although they were fully functional, they looked badly out of place and cheap. If you are a history or architecture buff, you may be able to overlook a certain amount of rattiness. If you're seeking a fresh and bright looking place to stay. The congress plaza may not be your first choice.
3 out of 5
by Poleycarpfrom Phoenix, AZ

Lakefront view amazing.

Posted Oct 9, 2013
Quality for price good, room was small with a big view. Staff was solid and helpful but a bit chaotic due to lobby and front door drop off.area locations. Would only choose this location again for price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by wampyfrom Saint Paul, MN

Great Location, easy car access, expensive to park

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Great Room facing Lake, old, but comfortably furnished, an historic hostelry, with beautiful period decor.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Amm50474from Springfield, MO

Fine, but room label was misleading

Posted Sep 18, 2013
This was a pretty standard hotel room wise. The staff was very courteous and helpful. But, I paid extra for a Lake view room and there was not a view of any body of water outside my window!! There was also a summer dance party in Grant Park for half of my stay and I didn't sleep well!! Even though these things were bothersome the location was excellent and close to many attractions!! The staff always knew directions or which bus to take to attractions!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by KiChifrom Cypress, TX

Great Location!!

Posted Jul 26, 2013
Location was perfect. Access to the parks, CTA, and Lake Michigan. Parking was easy, but expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by steve1022

Great Location - close to public transit

Posted Jul 25, 2013
We did a quick weekend with lots of downtown Chicago activities. The location on Michigan Avenue close to buses and trains and the museum campus is awesome. Nice to stay in old historic hotel. Classy lobby. Nice room for aged hotel. Impressive view
1 out of 5
by kirbyg99from Columbus, Ohio

old and run down

Posted Jun 5, 2013
I felt like I was in a basement. the windows were on the ceiling. the bathroom was a step up and when you dont remember that during the night watch out for the scream. I thought I broke my foot. just a horrible place and very tired and run down.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by ConcertHopperfrom Louisville, KY, USA

Nice for the money

Posted Mar 28, 2013
Pros: Quiet
Cons: No free Internet
It's an older hotel but has been very well taken care of. The location is great, walking distance to many great features in Chicago. Only thing I found to be a bit sketchy was the parking. The parking staff wasn't very friendly nor did they seem to care about your vehicle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by nb123from Washington, DC, USA

great location, comfortable, get your money's worth

Posted Mar 8, 2013
great location, comfortable, get your money's worth
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Halfrestfrom Maine

Very enjoyable stay, great location

Posted Mar 7, 2013
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet
Cons: No free Internet
This is a classic old hotel, lots of style and architecture. Comfortable rooms with a nice view of the park. Very quiet, solid walls. Cable TV was inadequate - few channels (but we weren't in Chicago to watch TV). Frustrating that they charge extra for internet access - but Starbucks and Panera Bread are nearby for free wifi. We would stay here again.