Ratings based on 191 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.1 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom St. Louis

Chicago in October

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: conveneince to where I needed to be for work function - had a nice walk getting to meeting.
Location: walking distance to many Grant Park features/museums; eat at BullChicks on Wabash - really good, economical meals
Selected the Congress Plaza as part of hotel/flight package. Was very impressed with room - high ceiling, wide window, very comfy bed and furnishings. Within walking distance of train station; local eateries; shopping and cultural areas. Appreciated the classical architecture accents with the modern amenities.
3 out of 5
by A travelerfrom Iowa

Not our cup of tea

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Marble floors etc
Location: It's on the Mile, lots to do.
This was our honeymoon(and I called and mentioned that fact). The location was great and the building had charm because it is so old. The room was in a corner overlooking a parking lot and alley. We felt the room was way too hot and the only recourse was they brought up a box fan. Parking was expensive, but it is everywhere around there. Just thought them knowing it was our honeymoon they could have given us better service and room.
1 out of 5
by A travelerfrom Phoenix, AZ

The only thing nice about this hotel was the view

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: The View
Cons: The entire place needs to be renovated.
Location: The location is ok and there is a park across the street and good restaurants within about a 15 min walk.
The room smelled horrendous and the paint was peeling off the wall. There was a leak at some point from the ceiling that bowed out the wall below and the wallpaper was peeling from the leak. The molding was pieced together and overlapping. There was a 3" gap between the mirror and where it was put into the wall to replace the old mirror. The convenience shop was a joke and the gentleman couldn't give me a receipt because it was the only one he had and they had to reconcile them at the end of the shift. Unfortunately you could tell this hotel was amazing when it first opened and the view was beautiful, but they have let it go to shambles. I would never, ever stay at this hotel again even if is was a free night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom merrillville, indiana

A nice hotel with a huge touch of Chicago

Posted Mar 24, 2015
I really enjoyed my stay at congress plaza, I only stayed one night for a night out with friends but my one night I stayed was very enjoyable. It was kinda creepy at night because it reminded my of the haunted hotels because the hotel is very vintage but it was still a great experience because I was on the 15th floor great view of the buildings and being high up just makes me feel on top of the world !!!! I will be back one day soon. Thank you for having me congress plaza and also thank you for being partners with Travelocity :-)
2 out of 5
Recommended
by PeteBusinessTravelerfrom Detroit, MI

Gorgeous old hotel that is notably past its prime

Posted Nov 8, 2013
This hotel was the Ritz of its time. Stunning lobby, rooms with tall ceilings, magnificent location and steeped in history. This is where early century presidents stayed when in Chicago. Even the elevators are works of art. The windows in my room were probably 6 ish ft tall and offered a spectacular panorama looking out onto Grant Park and Lake Michigan. The late victorian era furniture was  worn yet still lovely. The bathroom had updated (contemporary styled) fixtures and although they were fully functional, they looked badly out of place and cheap. If you are a history or architecture buff, you may be able to overlook a certain amount of rattiness. If you're seeking a fresh and bright looking place to stay. The congress plaza may not be your first choice.
3 out of 5
by Poleycarpfrom Phoenix, AZ

Lakefront view amazing.

Posted Oct 9, 2013
Quality for price good, room was small with a big view. Staff was solid and helpful but a bit chaotic due to lobby and front door drop off.area locations. Would only choose this location again for price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by wampyfrom Saint Paul, MN

Great Location, easy car access, expensive to park

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Great Room facing Lake, old, but comfortably furnished, an historic hostelry, with beautiful period decor.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Amm50474from Springfield, MO

Fine, but room label was misleading

Posted Sep 18, 2013
This was a pretty standard hotel room wise. The staff was very courteous and helpful. But, I paid extra for a Lake view room and there was not a view of any body of water outside my window!! There was also a summer dance party in Grant Park for half of my stay and I didn't sleep well!! Even though these things were bothersome the location was excellent and close to many attractions!! The staff always knew directions or which bus to take to attractions!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by KiChifrom Cypress, TX

Great Location!!

Posted Jul 26, 2013
Location was perfect. Access to the parks, CTA, and Lake Michigan. Parking was easy, but expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by steve1022

Great Location - close to public transit

Posted Jul 25, 2013
We did a quick weekend with lots of downtown Chicago activities. The location on Michigan Avenue close to buses and trains and the museum campus is awesome. Nice to stay in old historic hotel. Classy lobby. Nice room for aged hotel. Impressive view