Ratings based on 51 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Colorado Springs, CO

Nice hotel that's close to the beach.

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: Food and drinks, quiet and low key, relaxing, very friendly staff
Cons: Nothing major to mention
Location: Great location to the beach. Close to shopping and other dinning options. And for $1, you can take the bus pretty much anywhere along hotel zone
The hotel as a whole is a little out dated and could use some updating and repairs. Our room wasn't ready for us at the time of check in, which was around 7pm. Found it strange and was told by front desk that it was still being "cleaned", but we could see on the computer screen that it said "Maintenance". The next morning we woke up to a water leak in our room. We notified the front desk and they had someone come fix it pretty quickly and the problem didn't return during the rest of our stay. Another complaint we had was the persistent personnel asking us to listen to a 90 minute pitch on joining their vacation club/time share. They were offering 2 free massages for our time, but we said no the first time and would of liked to have not been bothered everyday. And lastly, This is was a resort that we were led to believe was an "Adult Only Resort", but it clearly was not, as there were a number of children here. It didn't really bother us, but it would have been nice to know. Everything else was great. The food was great everyday with quite a few options to choose from at each meal. The staff was very friendly including the wait staff around the pool. They work so hard all day, make sure to tip them a few extra $'s! The pool is close to the beach. The views are amazing. It is close to shopping and other dinning options. The resort is small and pretty quiet, an ideal place to go and relax, not party. Overall we had a great time and would recommend this place to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Sandos is a great location, friendly staff and good food/drinks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Texas

Nice Hotel on the beach. Great staff 6/24-7/1/2015

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: The staff,pool area with cabanas,the beach and the location. The service is outstanding.
Cons: A/C in the lobby and also in the rooms. More shows and activities at night. More upbeat music in the bar instead of 80's videos of the Lion King.
Location: you are very central so its close to a lot of activities.
We just returned from Sandos Cancun. When we arrived I asked to be upgraded.They showed us to the 2 rooms we booked that were not a good view facing tennis courts and AC units. Then he offered us a suite and said they could bring in two beds for my two teenage daughter in the living room with a separate master for me and my wife. The balconies over looked the Lagoon and the main road thru Cancun. Great sunsets and glad we did the swap. We would have rather faced the ocean/pool which we will do next time. We were celebrating my wife's 51st Bday and they made it very special. From a message in the sand that said Happy Bday to a dessert on the beach at noon and a perfect setting for dinner as well. The table was covered with roses and two waiters.As far as the beach and pool staff they were amazing.Jorge,Carlos,Esteban,Michael and Esteban the supervisor at the pool bar took very good care of us. The crew that provides pool,activities,yoga,volleyball they were awesome. Adan we had met at another resort 2 years ago and my wife and daughters were excited to see him at Sandos. He is hilarious and does a great job.Also the rest of his team especially Veronica. She is very talented and personable. The other girl I forgot her name she was great too.(Lea?) As far as the concierges Armando Perez and Javier were great. very professional.Only negatives were 2 of 3 restaurants you had to wear pants and a/c first night did not work they did fix it next AM.We will return to Sandos.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from TEXAS

Not worth your money!

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: EVERYTHING.
We were extremely disappointed with our experience at Sandos. Let me first start with the conceirge staff.. believe me when I say that all they care about is selling you a time share. They are absolutely no help at all.. not interested in helping you with your questions. I do not want to go on vacation and be stressed about being pushed to BUY A FREAKING TIME SHARE!!!!!! I am on vacation to relax.. already paid enough money to stay at your resort.. what more do you want? STUPID! Food was terrible. The presentation of the food at Zangos was absolutely beautiful but nothing ever tasted like it looked. Especially the dessert. Hibachi restaurant was OKAY. The chefs are really nice and fun. Seasons restaurant was probably the worst food I've ever tasted. It took us an hour and a half to get our food. You need LONG pants to dine, which is stupid when they let people in with jeans, tennis shoes and a baseball cap. Don't even waste your time.. the food is terrible. WILL NEVER COME BACK. DO NOT STAY HERE!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from new york

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: all
Cons: maybe the shows they have could be a bit longer
Location: location wise is ok there is not much to do around like on same block but the public buses are very safe
it was a very good experience, overall the hotel, staff and activities were very good. I would really recommend this hotel . we only had a bad experience with a tour we booked but nothing to do with the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Chicago, IL

Nice hotel, great food.

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: The food selection.
Cons: The wi-fi reception could be much better.
We stayed at Sandos Cancun for nine nights and enjoyed the great food selection as well as the attentive staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from CA

Great hotel, on the beach and nice staff

Posted Mar 28, 2015
The hotel room was so spacious and clean and the AC made it always cold and nice. The water pressure is so high and the bed is so comfortable. The all inclusive deal made it amazing! Drinks by the pool, food, wine, restaurants, buffets, coffee, room service, fully stocked minibar, anything you want is available anytime!! The food is average but abundant. Overall, we loved it, great value.
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Location: We will not stay in the hotel zone again. We prefer the openness and privacy of the resorts along the Mayan Riviera.
We have stayed a six different all inclusives in Cancun and the Mayan Riveria . Although there was nothing really bad about the Sandos , it is near the bottom of our list of favorites. Checkin on a Wednesday was chaotic and although our room was ready , many did not get a room until after 5pm. The hotel was very clean and the staff was friendly. There is no swim up bar and you have pay extra for a cabanas at the pool although cabanas on the beach were free. Drinks at the pool bar were low quality. There are three restaurants, a buffet, an a la carte and a Japanese. You have to have a reservation for the Japanese. Food was adequate but not of highest quality, especially the meats. One night was an outside Carribbean buffet. This place is small compared to others and entertainment was in very tight quarters. Again, nothing really bad, but you get more discriminating after staying a several places and making comparisons.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by mexicofiesta from Michigan

elegant hotel

Posted Mar 12, 2013
Pros: Free breakfast, Free Internet, Quiet, very nice breakfast buffet
Sandos Hotel is a very nice hotel. The staff are friendly and personalize service. Our room was checked 3 or 4 times a day, between changing linens, turning down the bed and restocking the mini bar. Restaurant staff are excellent. Service in the bar was sometimes surprisingly slow , however, especially because the bar was usually quiet, with only a handful of people in there most times. The food in the upscale reasons, Seasons, was superb. My only complaint was that they seldom changed the menu so items served were usually the same night after night. Hey, if you like lobster, though, and want it every night, this is the place. The desserts, , however, were works of art. They were almost too pretty to eat but I am glad I did because they were fabulous! The pool areas are lovely, there were lots of lounges and swinging beds to lounge in. The gym was well maintained and the spa very pretty and calming. Entertainment in the bar area was quiet, with solo musicians playing their instruments in the evening. If you want a calm, low key hotel, this may be the place for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by surfseekers from Syracuse, NY, USA

Hotel was amazing

Posted Feb 22, 2013
this was the first trip for my girlfriend and I. It was out of this world. The accomodations, the service the ease of travel were all more than what we expected. Please keep the deals coming!