Ratings based on 43 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
by mexicofiesta from Michigan

elegant hotel

Posted Mar 12, 2013
Pros: Free breakfast, Free Internet, Quiet, very nice breakfast buffet
Sandos Hotel is a very nice hotel. The staff are friendly and personalize service. Our room was checked 3 or 4 times a day, between changing linens, turning down the bed and restocking the mini bar. Restaurant staff are excellent. Service in the bar was sometimes surprisingly slow , however, especially because the bar was usually quiet, with only a handful of people in there most times. The food in the upscale reasons, Seasons, was superb. My only complaint was that they seldom changed the menu so items served were usually the same night after night. Hey, if you like lobster, though, and want it every night, this is the place. The desserts, , however, were works of art. They were almost too pretty to eat but I am glad I did because they were fabulous! The pool areas are lovely, there were lots of lounges and swinging beds to lounge in. The gym was well maintained and the spa very pretty and calming. Entertainment in the bar area was quiet, with solo musicians playing their instruments in the evening. If you want a calm, low key hotel, this may be the place for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by surfseekers from Syracuse, NY, USA

Hotel was amazing

Posted Feb 22, 2013
this was the first trip for my girlfriend and I. It was out of this world. The accomodations, the service the ease of travel were all more than what we expected. Please keep the deals coming!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by basparks from Maryland, USA

Nice all-inclusive experience but "Luxury Experience" is questionable.

Posted Jan 16, 2013
Overall we enjoyed our stay at Sandos during the Christmas holidays but there were a few drawbacks. Upon our arrival, we were greeted with roses, delicious mango drinks and a hot towel while we checked in which was wonderful. Unfortunately, our next impression wasn't too great because after checking in they sent us over to the concierge who we thought would give us a quick overview of the hotel/facilities but instead they invited us to a welcome breakfast the next morning which we quickly realized was a one-on-one breakfast with a rep who would encouraging us to join the Sandos Club or whatever it's called. Not quite a timeshare program but I believe similar. We very politely declined and finally had to say that we were super tired and hungry and that we would let them know if we were interested in the Club. I realize that they're just doing their job but no one wants to deal with this stuff the first 15 mins at the resort! We had two rooms on the 6th floor (this premium floor has a bar/lounge/TV/music/wifi). Both rooms were very nice, clean and spacious and had great views. My daughters' room did not have a balcony though which was disappointing. We had lots of goodies in the room - bottle of champagne, candy bars, peanuts, tequila w/salt, limes and shot glasses, 3 bottles of various booze and a mini refrig with beer, soda, water. Lighting could be better in the rooms. The 4 restaurants were all pretty good, however we were disappointed to find out that Zango turned into a buffet for dinner when it was advertised to be a la carte in the evening. Apparently, they changed it because they were at full capacity during the holidays and I assume understaffed. Food was always good but I've decided that I really like to be waited on for dinner! Service in Zango for the most part wasn’t that great. It seemed that many tables were often available but we were still waiting in line. At breakfast, my husband got our juice and silverware a few times when a waiter couldn't be found. St. Trop, the outdoor bar/grill, was good although this bar closed early. An outdoor evening bar would be great. Gaijin, the Japanese steakhouse was very good. Seasons was excellent but very limited menu and my daughter was disappointed with the serving size of the lasagna she ordered - it was very tiny! Bar One was okay...there was entertainment each evening which was pretty good. We never tried room service. We were very disappointed when we discovered that we could not get chardonnay, pinot grigio or white zinfandel at the resort. Come on, these are the most popular wines in the US so you would think they would offer at least one of them in the all-inclusive deal. One night, a bar tender at Bar One said he would give me some zinfandel but not to tell anyone! If you want white wine, you’ll have to settle for sauvignon blanc (which started to burn our throats by day 3!). Frozen drinks were excellent – frozen mango margarita was the best!! The pools and beach area were beautiful. The staff worked their butts off to pamper and please all the guests. During this busy time, I had to get up by 8am and reserve beach chairs. Victor was very helpful....he would move chairs, umbrellas and provide towels. We loved the rough surf too. Santa arrived via parasail which was cool. However, we were trumped by the resort next to us when their Santa arrived via helicopter!! Entertainment staff seemed to work 24-7 and they were very good at getting people involved. There was beach volleyball, stretching on the beach, bingo, water aerobics, horse shoes, Christmas shows, casino night, various bands/singers in the evening, water volleyball. Decent music throughout the day too. One elevator was broken most of the week and one was having trouble. Spa was very nice and they offered specials throughout the week. Gym was large and very nice. The grass tennis courts looked terrible....these need to go! Wifi in rooms was horrible. We had to go to bars or lobby. We went to Senor Frogs for lunch and had a blast. Check out was easy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by lurp from Yorktown Hts. , NY, USA

this resort welcomed us and made our stay wonderful

Posted Jan 3, 2013
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Quiet
Cons: No free Internet
Sandos Cancun was a wonderful resort. All inclusive and well worth the price. We were there for the week between Christmas & New Years , the staff from the waiters to bartenders were attentive and always smiling. We felt special and because it is a smaller resort the staff knows you and remembers your choice of drink. The food was delicious and there were so many choices. We felt very safe at Sandos Cancun, which was very important since we were a group of mothers/daughters. I would love to go back and would recommend it to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ashmonov from Harrisburg, PA, USA

sandos rocks!

Posted Nov 28, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet
Great place with service stuff, and superb food!!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by mattnmeg from Charleston, SC, USA

Wonderful Experience, I would return for sure.

Posted Oct 4, 2012
Cons: they need better wifi.
I just finished my honeymoon here, we spent seven days here, minus one for sunburn recover....I spent a ton of time looking for the right place, once i stumbled on this hotel, it really just looked like everything i was looking for. All Inclusive, Right on the Beach, Value, and most importantly, Solid Reviews(Im a business traveller and live by these). Everything looked good so i took the plunge. I was completely satisfied with my visit. I could go on and on about how clean the hotel is, the food, the drinks, the beautiful beach, or the fact that everything including room service(even booze) was all included but that was all secondary to the staff. The staff here is simply outstanding. I dealt with pretty much the same people every day, i think it was the off season, i dont even really know but they were probably not as staffed as they would usually be, but i couldn't tell. The entire front desk staff was outstanding, and made sure I had everything i needed at all times, including sending up some nice surprises for our honeymoon. All of the service staff was outstanding too, in particular, Natalie, the Breakfast Greeter was awesome every day. Jacob, one of the waiters by the pool was probably the most diligent worker i've ever seen. Once i told him to keep em' coming, i never had an empty margarita the rest of my visit. Lastly, there was Alejandro, i think he was the food manager at night but he served my three times, those were my best three dinners coincidentally. Im dragging on, this place is awesome, especially in the off season, we knew most of the other guests by name and had a blast with our temporary friends! I do think they should consider more WiFI routers throughout the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by rockman from Wilkes-Barre, PA, USA

Great small private all inclusive

Posted Oct 2, 2012
Pros: Quiet
Cons: not alot of night life
This hotel was very small and private! Great spot for a honeymoon!My husband and I honeymooned here in August. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The food was excellent! Pools have a great view of the ocean with private huts to enjoy the sunset. Our room was spacious with very comfortable beds. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a quiet relaxing get away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by portuguesegirl from Fall River, MA, USA

the staff were the best they always tried to fullfill your needs dont matter what the request was i loved that about this hotel .

Posted Sep 19, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet
Cons: needs a bar in the pool
The hotel was a little smaller then we are used too, but at the end it was for the best we got to meet great people from everywhere around the world . the service was great ,we had such a awesome time, the staff was wonderful ,Laura ,Ricky and Elias were the best they made this trip so much fun also the staff that works at the pool restaurant were great we always had drinks by the beach or the pool ,overall great experience would definitely go back, thanks Sandos
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ritz03 from California, USA

Sandos Cancun- Great Resort, Anibal and all of the staff were great.

Posted Jun 5, 2012
Pros: Free Internet, Quiet, all inclusive
Excellent Customer Service, from the reception desk to the staff of entertainment. Great overall experience. If you are looking for a quiet getaway this is the place; it is away from the downtown and all the noise.
2 out of 5
by mrtravel222 from Jersey City, NJ, USA

Much better value for your money at other resorts. Not very welcoming and everything was additional.

Posted Feb 22, 2012
Pros: Quiet
Cons: No free Internet
They are also building a much larger resort next door which blocks a lot of the views and sun.