Ratings based on 304 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler

Great Stay at GR Carbie

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Free-Wifi... felt a little disconnected from the world
Location: Close to everything
We actually got upgraded to stay at their sister hotel right next door... the GR Caribe. It was a very nice surprise. With the upgrade you could take advantage of everything both hotels had to offer. We had an incredible room with an ocean view on the first floor. The whole experience was incredible. The staff is so nice and accomodating. We were never once asked or pressured about a timeshare or anything like that. There are about 4 restaurants in the Caribe... a beach patio called Bogavanate (incredible food and view), a fancy restaurant called Veneto (Aaso incredible food), a breakfast area with made to order omelettes and such, and a "Snacks" bar next to the pool with great "Snack Bar" style foods all day. I never went hungry. Room service was also free. Great quiet pool, great beach, and everything. Special thanks to Hector who cleaned our room, Gabby for inside bar entertainment and drinks, Rick who showed us around, and our pool waiter whose name I can't quite remember. BTW, not sure why there are some reviews saying the food was bad. That's ridiculous. I don't think McDonald's has an all-inclusive resort yet, but when they do, maybe you should stay there instead if you are that picky.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Grannyshell from Chicago

Love it!

Posted Oct 6, 2013
This was our 5th year and we're going back again next year! Staff is wonderful and the wait staff in the Marco Polo restaurant is exceptional - the maitre 'd recognized us our first night and welcomed us back! Excellent menu choices and beautifully presented (some new and interesting additions this year)! Love the flaming Mayan coffee! Nice selection of dishes at breakfast. Poolside snack bar offers a great selection throughout the day. Fresh made pizzas poolside is a great new addition! Rooms super clean and very comfortable beds! Unfortunately, no vent fans in the bathroom. Also, young children were taking up the seats at the swim-up bar :-(  Perhaps a separate bar where youngsters can get "froo-froo" non-alcoholic drinks?  My BFF and I go to Royal Solaris because it is a smaller all inclusive resort right on the ocean. We're there to suntan, read, play cards, generally relax and be catered to. We're not clubbers, and we don't need to shop as at our age, our homes already have enough "stuff." There are vendors that set up at the resort but they aren't pushy, and if you want a keepsake or little gift to take home, they're available. We have learned how to avoid the timeshare folks just outside the lobby area, and this year they didn't seems as aggressive. If you're looking for a 5 star resort, this isn't it! However, if you want a place to relax, have good food and drinks, and be treated royally, I highly recommend the Royal Solaris!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by SUNSHINE666 from Los Angeles, CA

GREAT VIEW

Posted Jul 10, 2013
IT WAS A GREAT VACATION AND THE HOTEL MADE IT BETTER
2 out of 5
by Jennifer53661122 from Louisville, KY

Don't plan to stay at this hotel next time!!

Posted Jun 3, 2013
This was my 8th time to go to Cancun. This time was special, it was my honeymoon. The hotel was supposed to do something special for honeymoon, I showed them the marriage certificate, nothing!! The liquor was for sure bottom shelf, and the food was horrible. We were sick after eating the first meal. The bed was very, very uncomfortable. Over all of my stays in the past so far, I liked Omni Hotel the best, I last stayed there in 2011, but it was better by a longshot. I also ran into a couple that usually went to the Royal Solaris they have been 6 times, they said the food and the liquor have changed dramatically and they wouldn't be back to this one also! I would research to get a better bang for your buck before staying here!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by ashley038873 from pa

Royal Solaris was great

Posted Mar 15, 2013
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Quiet
Cons: No free Internet
It was a great place, three nice pools, nice beach area. Food was great, bartenders were great as well. There was great live entertainment everynight.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by parlierh6 from Georgia, USA

That was the friendliest staff I have EVER incountered

Posted Feb 28, 2013
Cons: No free Internet
I was completely taken back by the friendliness of the staff and their attention to cleanliness throughout the whole resort. The bed comfort though was lacking (mattress cover is needed). I will be booking a trip next year at this time for the Solaris resorts whether it be the Royal or another one of their sister properties.
2 out of 5
by mgorman from NY

Quality of resort has declined

Posted Feb 19, 2013
Cons: No free Internet, Noisy, Poor breakfast, bad selection of food, uncomfotable beds
My husband and I stayed at the Royal Solaris for a night after our flight was cancelled and our current hotel (GR Solaris) was booked and unable to accomodate us for an additional night. We were grateful that the Royal Solaris had a room available and the staff was very helpful. We had previously stayed at the Royal Solaris for a week in January 2010 and enjoyed it. However, it appeared to be a very different hotel this time around. The food selection at the buffets was smaller and much lower in quality. I got extremely sick after eating my one and ONLY meal. I vomitted the whole night. My husband and I are in NO WAY snobby about the many hotels we've stayed at in Cancun. We understand that most all-inclusive hotels are basically the same when it comes to most things. Upon checking into our room, we were very disappointed. The room smelled of cigarette smoke badly. The bed was really really uncomfortable. I barely slept between listening to the noisy mini fridge kick on and off, the people in the room next door having intercourse, and the potential food poisoning it was a very unpleasant stay for us. We were very grateful that we only stayed for one night. I would STRONGLY reccommend that you spend a tiny bit more and go to the GR Solaris. It was considerably better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by pcw577 from Hurley, South Dakota

Very friendly staff. Well kept property. My wife and I will definately return.

Posted Feb 14, 2013
Pros: Free breakfast, Quiet, staff
Cons: No free Internet, no coffee in lobby area early enough
We were impressed with the friendliness of the staff. The grounds are very clean. Food is very good. Don't miss the free nightly shows. Spend the extra money and get an ocean view room. We look forward to a return visit.
2 out of 5
by tawnysis from Indiana, USA

not impressed with accommodations

Posted Feb 4, 2013
Pros: Quiet
Cons: No free Internet, Poor breakfast
This was my seventh trip to Cancun. I was shocked that we didn't have a fridge in our room. We were authorized 4 bottles of water a day but when we asked for the water we were told someone will deliver it to your room...water usually didn't show up. Beach was great! Snack bar was great! Entertainment staff was great! I've paid less with better accommodations. By the way, some rooms have fridges but most do not. I went with a group of 12. We all paid the same but 2 couples had refrigerators in their rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Nevets202 from Manhasset , York

Exceeded all of ouir expectations,beautiful accomodating & fun.

Posted Dec 14, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Free Internet, Quiet, on the beach, outstanding customer service, all inclusine, very safe and clean, excellent work ethic from all, gorgeous location, easy to meet people, all guests seemed happy, beautiful sea sunsets, beautiful long beach
Cons: there are no cons
We had a wonderful time.The staff at all in all venues, the matre'd's,bartenders,restaurnaunt, entertainers etc. were all very nice.smiled and had a great work ethic. The hotel was wonderful, the rooms clean comfortable and we had a beautiful view of the ocean. We liked the all inclusive resort so much we never left the grounds and spent most of the time on the beach. There were activities during the day and terrific entertainment each nightl. W highly recommend this hotel and would like to extend a big thank you to the management and staff at all levels for their excellent customer service and smiles. We will be back. Ola, Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays !!!