Ratings based on 310 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Nice hotel and friendly staff

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Very relaxing and comfortable,especially staff made us feel at home, very attentive and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler from Mnpls., MN

Beautiful beach, awesome waves, great pizza lunch!

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Pros: See above
Cons: Mexican restaurant didn't have much of a selection for lunch that would please an entire family. Insane charges for plastic bracelets & plastic keys!
Location: Loved the paddle boats and kayaks on the lagoon side. staff could have been more friendly & not eat, while on the job. They expected tips!
Loved, the beach, the kids water park, pizza and lunch outside by the pools were yummy; waves were awesome; the nightly shows were beautifully done with very colorful costumes and fun acts, especially the Monday- Mexican show! Restaurant manager was very helpful and found our daughter's $1000 retainer!!! On the morning of the last day, June 12th, the front desk manager found our daughter's brand new jacket, which no one else was able to find that week! Our adventure trip to Coba worked out really well, and we had a fun time! The staff of the Best Day Travel company for the Coba trip were very helpful and patient with us! My son and I, just loved the huge hot tub overlooking the sea, and the bar staff always kept our yummy drinks full for us as well as our kids! Our cleaning lady! I think, Aurora, was very nice, and did a wonderful job. Every time we got back to the room, it looked and smelled very clean! My husband did get sick with some time of tummy issue, but we don't know what it was from.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from white plains , new york

Family vacation

Posted Jun 19, 2015
I recently booked my parents and 5 year old brother, a 5 night stay at this resort while I was in contact with them they had nothing but great things to say about this resort . Let's keep in consideration that my mom is picky when it comes to resorts. Everything seems to be going great accept for the fact that the Wifi for a day cost you about $16 USD .
2 out of 5
by A traveler from California USA

Poor hospitality,charging extra even its exclusive

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: There is lot to improve, need new management who can think about how to care visitors, Need some interior designer who can make rooms roomie.
Location: Proper ventilation in hotel special by elevators on all the floors.
Food is nasty, not much variety , restaurant opening late and closing early, In bar very limited brand, Hotel is full of food smell hall way and elevator area so stuffy with nasty smell. My wife she got sick in first night because of that. We request to change the room for the view we requested but they said can not do this for the next two days. Ask for internet they but they charge extra for that. Not enough supplies in the bathroom. I had to look for different place next day to avoid more sickness. This was my experience in less than one day.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Ft Lauderdale

Very Limited Restaurants.

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Cons: Improve quality of food and at least open the three restaurants for all meals!
The location is on the Gulf with great views and the staff is exceptional. There was major one show nightly and music in the lounge. Some of the entertainment was very good, some just okay. The restaurant(s) is very limited. Basically all you have to choose from is a buffet with typical buffet food, nothing to rave about. There are two other restaurants, but one small restaurant is open only for dinner and their menu is limited to few choices. The third restaurant was open for one lunch and it also is a buffet! There was poolside food on steam tables. Nothing exceptional about the food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Nice hotel,bars closed early but overall good time

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Nice note, great beach. Wonderful upgrade . Great for a girls weekend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler

Great Stay at GR Carbie

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Free-Wifi... felt a little disconnected from the world
Location: Close to everything
We actually got upgraded to stay at their sister hotel right next door... the GR Caribe. It was a very nice surprise. With the upgrade you could take advantage of everything both hotels had to offer. We had an incredible room with an ocean view on the first floor. The whole experience was incredible. The staff is so nice and accomodating. We were never once asked or pressured about a timeshare or anything like that. There are about 4 restaurants in the Caribe... a beach patio called Bogavanate (incredible food and view), a fancy restaurant called Veneto (Aaso incredible food), a breakfast area with made to order omelettes and such, and a "Snacks" bar next to the pool with great "Snack Bar" style foods all day. I never went hungry. Room service was also free. Great quiet pool, great beach, and everything. Special thanks to Hector who cleaned our room, Gabby for inside bar entertainment and drinks, Rick who showed us around, and our pool waiter whose name I can't quite remember. BTW, not sure why there are some reviews saying the food was bad. That's ridiculous. I don't think McDonald's has an all-inclusive resort yet, but when they do, maybe you should stay there instead if you are that picky.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Grannyshell from Chicago

Love it!

Posted Oct 6, 2013
This was our 5th year and we're going back again next year! Staff is wonderful and the wait staff in the Marco Polo restaurant is exceptional - the maitre 'd recognized us our first night and welcomed us back! Excellent menu choices and beautifully presented (some new and interesting additions this year)! Love the flaming Mayan coffee! Nice selection of dishes at breakfast. Poolside snack bar offers a great selection throughout the day. Fresh made pizzas poolside is a great new addition! Rooms super clean and very comfortable beds! Unfortunately, no vent fans in the bathroom. Also, young children were taking up the seats at the swim-up bar :-(  Perhaps a separate bar where youngsters can get "froo-froo" non-alcoholic drinks?  My BFF and I go to Royal Solaris because it is a smaller all inclusive resort right on the ocean. We're there to suntan, read, play cards, generally relax and be catered to. We're not clubbers, and we don't need to shop as at our age, our homes already have enough "stuff." There are vendors that set up at the resort but they aren't pushy, and if you want a keepsake or little gift to take home, they're available. We have learned how to avoid the timeshare folks just outside the lobby area, and this year they didn't seems as aggressive. If you're looking for a 5 star resort, this isn't it! However, if you want a place to relax, have good food and drinks, and be treated royally, I highly recommend the Royal Solaris!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by SUNSHINE666 from Los Angeles, CA

GREAT VIEW

Posted Jul 10, 2013
IT WAS A GREAT VACATION AND THE HOTEL MADE IT BETTER
2 out of 5
by Jennifer53661122 from Louisville, KY

Don't plan to stay at this hotel next time!!

Posted Jun 3, 2013
This was my 8th time to go to Cancun. This time was special, it was my honeymoon. The hotel was supposed to do something special for honeymoon, I showed them the marriage certificate, nothing!! The liquor was for sure bottom shelf, and the food was horrible. We were sick after eating the first meal. The bed was very, very uncomfortable. Over all of my stays in the past so far, I liked Omni Hotel the best, I last stayed there in 2011, but it was better by a longshot. I also ran into a couple that usually went to the Royal Solaris they have been 6 times, they said the food and the liquor have changed dramatically and they wouldn't be back to this one also! I would research to get a better bang for your buck before staying here!