Ratings based on 76 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from h

Great hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Loved our time at Omni Cancun. Great staff. Great resort. Only complaint is we could not get a reservation for dinner any night if our stay, already booked. As a suggestion make your plans on first day of arrival for dinner. Conseulo, the server in the beach is top notch! She is awesome.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from m

Disappointed

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Attempted to contact hotel to make reservations for restaurants and spa for 3 weeks before arriving with no response! (We had party of 8) and were unable to get into all but 2 dinners. Buffet was awful. Pools and beach bars all open at 10 but close at 6 leaving no other options. Optional steak restaurant for additions $$ was not worth it, don't waste your money. $5.00 charge for room service every time was not huge deal just annoying when you already paid for all inclusive. Overall service was decent but rooms were run down. We travel to all inclusives at least twice a year and I am an Omni preferred member but we won't be coming back here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler from Pennsylvania

Cancun Family Trip

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Friendliness & cleanliness
Cons: Room temperature. The A/C never got ahead of the humidity.
Location: Countless excursions to choose from and most all accommodate getting you to their venue as part of the price.
Gave our daughter her choice of senior week in Ocean City, MD with friends or a family trip in Cancun. She said it was an easy decision to travel to Mexico. She already has a bucket list started of future travels to tropical destinations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Michigan

Nice hotel, good food, and Great Drinks!

Posted May 6, 2015
The workers should be more educated on the excursions that they are selling. We asked for a 4 wheeler/zipline trip and what we got was golf carts not 4 wheelers. We did still have fun all though it was not what we asked for. Last dinner reservations need to be reconsidered how they are taken. Every 7:00 and 8:00 reservation for the Italian restaurant was booked for the week when we got there. Reservations should only be taken daily to avoid this problem. Overall experience was good and we would go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler from Wisconsin

Great customer service

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness, service and nightly entertainment (especially Michael Jackson show)
Cons: The best restaurant on the property, Da Vinci, was not included as part of the All Inclusive. Great if one meal from there was included.
Location: Used Cancun Valet for private airport transportation which I would recommend. Rappelling and zip-lining with Cancun Adventures was fun.
Resort is older and décor is a bit outdated but it was clean and overall well maintained. The service was great as the staff was always very friendly and attentive. Beach area was nice and sandy, no rocks, but there was a lot of seaweed (true for all resorts in that location). Atmosphere was relaxed with mostly families and couples but mood changed when a fraternity/sorority showed up as they were very loud and oblivious to those around them. The food was good and there were plenty of dining options available to satisfy us and our children. Overall we had a very positive experience at the Omni.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Cincinnati Oh

Very nice hotel & stay

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Wonderful time the people were great. Food excellent entertainment great. Loved my experience would come back again. Could of used a mattress topper on the beds. Still was a wonderful time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Minnesota

Awesome Vacation

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: The friendly staff and that the beach was right there by the hotel.
Location: Location was good. Ventured out one day and went went to a nearby island.
The hotel was great! Staff was amazing and very friendly. Food was good and drinks we good also. Would go back again. If you are looking for a family friendly hotel this is a great choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Wonderful time!

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Great staff.....nice room....and the food was good. We will visit again !
4 out of 5
Recommended
by squarebomb from NJ

Had a wonderful vacation @ Omini

Posted Nov 4, 2013
We stayed at Omni for one week last July.  It wasn't hard to have fun when traveling with 25 people.  The place was nice and clean and the staff were attentive to your needs.  The rooms were also clean.  The beds were comfortable and the ocean view was spectacular.  The bathrooms were kept clean and the room fridge was always stocked.   We took an all inclusive package and it was worth it.  Food selection was plentiful and the alcohol was bountiful.  We usually had breakfast at Piña Colada or La Paloma.  The servers knew us well because we tip a lot.  We love Piña Colada's ocean view while having breakfast or dinner.  The food there was mostly delicious with only a couple of selections that came out a little dry for my taste but it's not a problem with an all inclusive package as you could always change it for something else.  La Paloma was nice because it's easily accessible from the main hotel lobby.  The buffet selection changes every day and they have different themes every night.  I don't think we've met a server who wasn't on their toes in that restaurant during our stay.  They have everything.  Trattoria was a lovely restaurant.  They really wanted the guests to feel like they are dining at a classy restaurant because they try not to overbook.  So when we got there, the place felt cozy and also felt that gave us proper attention despite our number.  I inquired about a couple of entrees because I couldn't decide on one so they served me both so I wouldn't wonder which one tasted better.  And by the way, both tasted so good.  One was a deer entree.  Never ate one before and that oso was cooked perfectly.  I didn't spend too much time at the bars other than the Lobby Bar.  Good thing we had all-inclusive drinks because I don't have that much tolerance to alcohol but it still took me 3 shots of tequila to get me tipsy.  Don't miss the karaoke bar across the main entrance at night.  We spent a few nights there and took over the place.  LOL!   The activities center was a mixed experience.  If you don't know how to haggle for price, you'll get price ranges that wider than the Gulf of Mexico.  First few quotes we received were beyond insulting.  We were even threatened and scared into thinking that if we chose to go with a competition, that we will be dead in the water if something happened to us (accident).  But we weren't born yesterday so we got the best prices in town.  Make sure you do your research before you get there.   We had a great surprise during our stay there.  We didn't know that the beach area is also a huge sea turtles' nesting ground.  So every night, you'll see the mommy turtles come in from the ocean to dig and lay their eggs under the sand.  You're not allowed to get near the turtles or to use bright flash photography.  But after a mommy turtle lays her eggs, the security guards allowed us to take pictures of her but not the eggs.  Although, I've seen a few people who got up close and personal with the turtles and eggs.  They were able to get awesome pictures of both.   Probably the only major issue we had during our stay was the lack of emergency kits available throughout the resort.  My son's thumb got caught between a glass door at the activities center and not one staff knew where to find an emergency first aid kit.  They will bend their backs making sure you had a great time partying, eating, and drinking but when it comes to emergencies, a huge language barrier suddenly appears.  Thank God for the other tourist who was just checking in at the lobby.  When he realized that I wasn't getting anywhere trying to find a first aid kit, he offered to use his.  It could pretty well be his only kit but he gave it to us anyway.  God bless his soul.  Anyway, that's over and my son's thumb's skin and nail are back to normal again.   So my recommendation is have fun at Omni.  Prices are good and the food and drinks are great.  All-inclusive package is the only way to go.  Party on but don't forget to bring your own first aid kit.  Enjoy!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by CDC51977 from Indianapolis, IN

Omni Cancun (Aug 2 - 12, 2013)

Posted Aug 14, 2013
Stay in three bedroom Villa with wife, two children, mother-in-law, and sister. Price was very good. Service at the time of checking in was very slow. Food was fair to good. Entertainment was good. See the Saturday night show! House keeping was very good. The most outstanding service in the La Palmoma can from Andres. After a long day of traveling, he revived our sprits! Call him "Mr. Gorgeous." and enjoy is excellent service. Also, of note is the Bellman "German." He helped my mother-in-law and provided several services when the check-in desk was too busy or couldn't help. Also, if you need a concierge ask for Alberto or Samantha - their advice and service was very good.