Ratings based on 66 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
by becausewecantravel from Texas, USA

This is a very Nice Hotel made for a nice visit

Posted Feb 7, 2013
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet
Very Nice Hotel, Clean, always came and cleaned your room. very nice place to have solitude. Definately not a party place. But good location for the hotel Zone. Shopping in the little mexican market is not possible. They harrassed us so much I just didnt end up buying anything. I am tolerate but they were literally in your face and wouldnt even let you look. Do the upgrade to regent club although we didnt use it all that much but came in handy when we did. oh and the time of year was prob wrong chose. wish i would of waited a month
5 out of 5
Recommended
by flyawaytime from New York, NY, USA

It was a pleasure dealing with everyone. Loved the food in The Grill.

Posted Dec 20, 2012
Pros: Free Internet, Quiet
The hotel was very accommodating. We originally had a room facing the street but when we requested a room with an ocean view we were able to get an immediate change. Food was delicious and the concierge was helpful in scheduling a tour. A good time was had by all.
2 out of 5
by CancunNYer from Yonkers, NY, USA

This hotel was not good!

Posted Oct 10, 2012
Cons: poor ac
The air conditioner was poor. We always felt hot in our rooms. We booked for three people online and upon arrival they charged us extra 30 per night for the third person saying its based on 2 people even though we booked for three. Pool was nice and so was beach. The people that put the games together were awesome but hotel is not worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by NH603 from NH

Great location & beach

Posted Jun 8, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet, best beach, location
Would recommend taking advantage of Double resort credit offer.
1 out of 5
by ColombiaRiz from Kissimmee, Fl

Is This Really a Hyatt?

Posted May 16, 2012
Pros: ocean view
Cons: very dirty
I have stayed at numerous Hyatt hotels and can say with certainty that is the worst Hyatt by far. Upon our arrival at the hotel, we were impressed with the atrium lobby and design of the hotel. It was clearly an older hotel, but the public spaces seemed very well maintained and had a retro-modern look and feel. We were assigned a city/street view room, so we inquired about upgrading to an oceanview room. We were quoted $20 extra per night and went for it. We taken to a room on the 4th floor. Our initial impression of the room was fine. Minimalistic room, simple, with a great view of the beach and ocean. Upon closer inspection however, we found the room to be very filthy. Filthy is acutally an understatement. It actually was one of the dirtiest hotels that I have ever stayed at. The enamel on the bathroom tub was very badly peeling. The grout was peeling off and was dirty. The drain was rusty. The shower head had a green mildew slime around it. The wall just outside the shower had soap scum all over it. The floors were dirty and with hair. The bathroom area had a frosted glass door which was very stained. In the room area, the fabrics (chairs, bench, etc) was stained and we chose not to sit on it. The linens were very worn and poor quality for a 4-star Hyatt. The floors were dirty. The walls were marked up and dirty. There was garbage on the floor prior to our check-in. The only thing we enjoyed about the hotel was the view. It really was a remarkable view of the ocean. We did spend a lot of time by the beach which was very clean and the water was amazing. This hotel has a lot of potential but poor management with a lack of priorities has allowed this hotel to enter a state of unacceptable disrepair. I hope the Hyatt corporate office takes more time to train this hotel in cleanliness and mainteance.
1 out of 5
by FidoDog from California, USA

The cost and maintenance is the worst I've seen compared to other Hyatt's.

Posted Apr 21, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, staff cooperated with room change.
Cons: No free Internet, too complicated to use.
The room had problems and I had to move to another room, i.e., door closet that wouldn't open, thermostat that didn't work properly, shower that would suddenly stop spraying, a sink basin that would not drain properly, worn spots, etc. Also, I made rsvtns for a room with a view, however, this was not acknowledged, and I had to pay $20.00 per night extra for a room with a view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by AlexWong from Spokane, WA, USA

Cancun Spring Break 2012

Posted Mar 26, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet, near clubs and bars, great security
My two roommates and I decided to visit Cancun (the #1 spring break destination in the world) this year during our University's spring break. We chose the Hyatt Regency due to its particular location and the class of hotel for the price that we paid. I would consider the Hyatt to be the classiest hotel any of us have ever stayed in. We were all amazed at the price that we got for our room compared to the neighboring hotels. After talking with other groups staying in different hotels in the area, none of them were staying in buildings as nice as ours and for as good of a price as we got. I would highly recommend staying with the Hyatt Regency Cancun to anyone and everyone visiting the Country. From the customer service to the elegance of the building’s architecture, our stay could not have been any better. At check-in, make sure to jump on the double credit deal that the concierge will offer you. The deal is, if you throw down a certain amount of cash up front on your first night in the hotel, they will deposit double the amount into your room account for drinks, food, and any other amenities you may need to charge to the room throughout your stay. This is a legit deal that you will most definitely find useful. The Hyatt may not be one of the primary hotels for students looking to party, but it has a prime location to all of the clubs and bars. The atmosphere at the Hyatt is a very relaxing adult environment where all of the guests can enjoy the sun and “recover” from the night before. The pool, which has a swim-up-to bar, provides a more exclusive experience while still providing a lounge area in the hot sun. The Hyatt also owns a strip of beach in front of the ocean, which also is exclusive to the paying guests of the hotel. The hotel employees make rounds around the pool and out on the beach to serve the guests laying out on the reclining chairs, so you never have to get up to get a drink or food. During the night, the hotel is quiet and relaxing. It provided a wonderful place to return to and unwind after a long crazy night out at the clubs. Where most of the Vacationers visiting Mexico are forced to endure long walks, or bus/taxi rides which will eventually add up in price, just to make it out to the popular nightlife area, we only had to make a 5 minute walk each way every night. The list of clubs and bars that we were within walking distance to included; Coco Bongo, The City, XXX Dos Equis Bar, the Bulldog, DaddyO, and Mandala. I've been to Cancun before during the summer, and it was nothing like experiencing Cancun during the month of March. The hoards of students wandering the beaches and clubs was unbelievably awesome. We have never met so many different people from all sorts of places around the globe. Though the Hyatt is not considered a party hotel, if interested you can always just stroll over to the near by hotels, just south along the beach, and partake in the beach parties they throw.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by michaelruthann from upstate ny

safe location

Posted Nov 15, 2011
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Quiet, beachm
my fiancee & i stayed @ hyatt cancun 6 nov thru 13 nov 2011. EVERTHING was great ! we stayed on the regency club floor, well worth the upgrade. beach was perfect. pool was a bit chilly , but pool area was well maintained and staff could not be helpful enough. we only ate 1 breakfast buffet @ restaurant " O " we really did not care for that' we had a great breakst in club lounge the other 6 mornins & 6 nites of appetizers & comp drinks in the club lounge . we would definitely stay @ hyatt on our next trip to cancun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by OCBudgetTraveler from Irvine, CA, USA

Good Value, Double you Credit program made it great

Posted Nov 15, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants
Cons: No free Internet
The Hyatt Cancun offered a good value for the money. It is not the newest hotel but it was recently remodeled and looks pretty nice. The location at the north tip of Zona Hotela affords some great views of the rest of the hotels on the beach. The lobby bar is very nice and is very relaxing for drinks. The staff was courteous and helpful and the on-site deli made it easy to access reasonably priced food and drinks. Their double your credit program they are running through the end of the year was a great deal. It almost made it feel like an all inclusive resort. It is walking distance to all the clubs downtown if that is your scene.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by mcmetro2001 from New Jersey

Great service, great location and great beach

Posted Nov 15, 2011
Pros: Quiet, location, great beach
Cons: No free Internet
Great value for your money. Clean, high end, great beach and great location. Would book at this hotel again.