Ratings based on 69 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from F

Great hotel with a beautiful view!

Posted May 4, 2015
I enjoyed the great staff and services at the hotel. My room was always clean and stocked daily! I felt very comfortable and safe my entire stay there. I will definitely visit there again!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from NE

Hotel with Great Location

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: lOCATION. Pools were nice. Close to beach & long beach walk area.
Cons: lower prices on food or offer food specials at a reasonable price. Even your buffet was too expensive!
Location: Great to be able to walk to ferry to go to Isla. Great to walk for groceries or restaurants.
we were surprised at how expensive the food was at the hotel. Drinks also expensive. We ate out! But we had a great time!
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Minnesota

Hotel looks nicer in pictures than in person

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: The best thing about this hotel was that it was close to the supermarket and some of the offsite restaurants.
Cons: Find a better way to help keep the lobby and outside noise out.
With the mess of a flight delay and the lost luggage, it was disappointing to finally get to the hotel and be told we were not on the all-inclusive plan and that it would cost an extra $117 per person per day. That was a big shock as we thought we booked an all-inclusive trip. After trying out their food in different restaurants within the hotel, we decided it was cheaper and better to go eat off site. That was a good decision as they over charge for the resort food and it is not even good. The food offsite in the surrounding restaurants within a few blocks were much better and more authentic. We upgraded to an ocean view room. It was a small room and just faced the beach. We hoped the room was bigger. Their rooms are not very cozy or comfortable. Beds are hard. Pillows were bad. You can hear everything going on in the lobby as it echos. You can also hear all the music and activities going on outside at night. One evening, there was a party going on outside until 3-4am. It was almost impossible to sleep and we were on the 9th floor. It also didn't help that there was construction going on for a hotel next door so you hear all that while sitting on the beach during the day. I would not recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by becausewecantravel from Texas, USA

This is a very Nice Hotel made for a nice visit

Posted Feb 7, 2013
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet
Very Nice Hotel, Clean, always came and cleaned your room. very nice place to have solitude. Definately not a party place. But good location for the hotel Zone. Shopping in the little mexican market is not possible. They harrassed us so much I just didnt end up buying anything. I am tolerate but they were literally in your face and wouldnt even let you look. Do the upgrade to regent club although we didnt use it all that much but came in handy when we did. oh and the time of year was prob wrong chose. wish i would of waited a month
5 out of 5
Recommended
by flyawaytime from New York, NY, USA

It was a pleasure dealing with everyone. Loved the food in The Grill.

Posted Dec 20, 2012
Pros: Free Internet, Quiet
The hotel was very accommodating. We originally had a room facing the street but when we requested a room with an ocean view we were able to get an immediate change. Food was delicious and the concierge was helpful in scheduling a tour. A good time was had by all.
2 out of 5
by CancunNYer from Yonkers, NY, USA

This hotel was not good!

Posted Oct 10, 2012
Cons: poor ac
The air conditioner was poor. We always felt hot in our rooms. We booked for three people online and upon arrival they charged us extra 30 per night for the third person saying its based on 2 people even though we booked for three. Pool was nice and so was beach. The people that put the games together were awesome but hotel is not worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by NH603 from NH

Great location & beach

Posted Jun 8, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet, best beach, location
Would recommend taking advantage of Double resort credit offer.
1 out of 5
by ColombiaRiz from Kissimmee, Fl

Is This Really a Hyatt?

Posted May 16, 2012
Pros: ocean view
Cons: very dirty
I have stayed at numerous Hyatt hotels and can say with certainty that is the worst Hyatt by far. Upon our arrival at the hotel, we were impressed with the atrium lobby and design of the hotel. It was clearly an older hotel, but the public spaces seemed very well maintained and had a retro-modern look and feel. We were assigned a city/street view room, so we inquired about upgrading to an oceanview room. We were quoted $20 extra per night and went for it. We taken to a room on the 4th floor. Our initial impression of the room was fine. Minimalistic room, simple, with a great view of the beach and ocean. Upon closer inspection however, we found the room to be very filthy. Filthy is acutally an understatement. It actually was one of the dirtiest hotels that I have ever stayed at. The enamel on the bathroom tub was very badly peeling. The grout was peeling off and was dirty. The drain was rusty. The shower head had a green mildew slime around it. The wall just outside the shower had soap scum all over it. The floors were dirty and with hair. The bathroom area had a frosted glass door which was very stained. In the room area, the fabrics (chairs, bench, etc) was stained and we chose not to sit on it. The linens were very worn and poor quality for a 4-star Hyatt. The floors were dirty. The walls were marked up and dirty. There was garbage on the floor prior to our check-in. The only thing we enjoyed about the hotel was the view. It really was a remarkable view of the ocean. We did spend a lot of time by the beach which was very clean and the water was amazing. This hotel has a lot of potential but poor management with a lack of priorities has allowed this hotel to enter a state of unacceptable disrepair. I hope the Hyatt corporate office takes more time to train this hotel in cleanliness and mainteance.
1 out of 5
by FidoDog from California, USA

The cost and maintenance is the worst I've seen compared to other Hyatt's.

Posted Apr 21, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, staff cooperated with room change.
Cons: No free Internet, too complicated to use.
The room had problems and I had to move to another room, i.e., door closet that wouldn't open, thermostat that didn't work properly, shower that would suddenly stop spraying, a sink basin that would not drain properly, worn spots, etc. Also, I made rsvtns for a room with a view, however, this was not acknowledged, and I had to pay $20.00 per night extra for a room with a view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by AlexWong from Spokane, WA, USA

Cancun Spring Break 2012

Posted Mar 26, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet, near clubs and bars, great security
My two roommates and I decided to visit Cancun (the #1 spring break destination in the world) this year during our University's spring break. We chose the Hyatt Regency due to its particular location and the class of hotel for the price that we paid. I would consider the Hyatt to be the classiest hotel any of us have ever stayed in. We were all amazed at the price that we got for our room compared to the neighboring hotels. After talking with other groups staying in different hotels in the area, none of them were staying in buildings as nice as ours and for as good of a price as we got. I would highly recommend staying with the Hyatt Regency Cancun to anyone and everyone visiting the Country. From the customer service to the elegance of the building’s architecture, our stay could not have been any better. At check-in, make sure to jump on the double credit deal that the concierge will offer you. The deal is, if you throw down a certain amount of cash up front on your first night in the hotel, they will deposit double the amount into your room account for drinks, food, and any other amenities you may need to charge to the room throughout your stay. This is a legit deal that you will most definitely find useful. The Hyatt may not be one of the primary hotels for students looking to party, but it has a prime location to all of the clubs and bars. The atmosphere at the Hyatt is a very relaxing adult environment where all of the guests can enjoy the sun and “recover” from the night before. The pool, which has a swim-up-to bar, provides a more exclusive experience while still providing a lounge area in the hot sun. The Hyatt also owns a strip of beach in front of the ocean, which also is exclusive to the paying guests of the hotel. The hotel employees make rounds around the pool and out on the beach to serve the guests laying out on the reclining chairs, so you never have to get up to get a drink or food. During the night, the hotel is quiet and relaxing. It provided a wonderful place to return to and unwind after a long crazy night out at the clubs. Where most of the Vacationers visiting Mexico are forced to endure long walks, or bus/taxi rides which will eventually add up in price, just to make it out to the popular nightlife area, we only had to make a 5 minute walk each way every night. The list of clubs and bars that we were within walking distance to included; Coco Bongo, The City, XXX Dos Equis Bar, the Bulldog, DaddyO, and Mandala. I've been to Cancun before during the summer, and it was nothing like experiencing Cancun during the month of March. The hoards of students wandering the beaches and clubs was unbelievably awesome. We have never met so many different people from all sorts of places around the globe. Though the Hyatt is not considered a party hotel, if interested you can always just stroll over to the near by hotels, just south along the beach, and partake in the beach parties they throw.