Ratings based on 97 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Too Hot

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Beautiful hotel, very clean and the food was great, only down side was the open air lobby, with no air conditioning. I like to escape the heat, and there is very little shade. The staff could not have been more pleasant and friendly.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from new york

The hotel was nice since its on the beach

Posted Jul 26, 2015
The staff was excellent but too many ants . They should consider reservations for dinner. Hotel itself can use some updating. Not enough activities
1 out of 5
by A traveler from San Antonio Tx.

No man land place.

Posted Jul 23, 2015
This hotel has old furniture, small pool, They have like 22 shaded places with 2 beds to be at the pool but at 7:00 AM All of them have towels and fake belongings, the same at the beach, So you have to be at the pool or beach at 6:00 AM to get a nice shaded spot. what?? yes Sr. Lack of security personnel there can be people having loud conversations in the hall way at 3:00 in the morning. The restaurants slow service not enough waiters. They did not gave me the room that I paid for the first night until the second night. Then a personal told me that if they did not gave me the room I have to talk to Travelocity to get reimbursement because they are not committed to the reservation on Travelocity. This place is not 5 stars. The food is bad. don't go there look for a better place. Don't recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Virginia

All-inclusive at Caribe-in July

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Pros: The employees - excellent service regardless if the person was entertaining, bartending, serving food/drinks,cleaning the pool, trimming the grass.
Cons: Lobby needs to be air conditioned at least in some areas where people can visit without the humidity. Possibly floor fans to circualate the air?
Location: Hotel zone -We took a bus to Wal-mart, got our barrings and then were able to walk to the Flamingo Mall, which is between Forest Gump and Outback.
We traveled in July 2015, and didn't realize the humidity was so HIGH and the resort was open air lobby so unless you were in the water, your room, or a restaurant, it was close to miserable. I had not packed enough outfits to change 3 times a day! We met friends there and were constantly trying to find a cool place to 'visit.' The hotel staff were excellent from people mopping the floors constantly, adult activity/entertainment (Jonathan, Aldo, Mike), and to the bartenders & servers (Lobby: Enrique, Tony, Norma and Violeta, Zambia?). We ate in Gaviotas most mornings and the wait staff were excellent, as well as the 'pool bar' people were soooo good. I visited this bar and the lobby bar the most and you would think I could remember the bartenders, but.... . The upstairs restaurant (how soon we forget names) with Carolina as our seater. She was so nice, patient and always smiling. I liked this restaurant as it was air conditioned, looked out over the pool, beach and food was good. Fernando at Sunset Grill was awesome, friendly and attentive. WE also ate at Maria's - Mexican restaurant which was good but I guess I am too used to American/Mexican so this was 'fancy.' We did not try the Italian restaurant but looked at the menu and it looked good too. I also found nachos at the 24 hour cafe. Cheese was more runny than I am accustomed but it was good. I walked around to the children's area and it appears there is supervised children activities from 9 a.m. to 8 p.m.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Hotel on the beach

Posted Jul 8, 2015
The hotel was beautiful and the staff was awesome. My sister got married at the hotel and had her reception on the beach, the ceremony was beautiful the food was delicious. I had a wonderful time. The food at the hotel was delicious and the restaurants looked real clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from C

My favorite of them all.

Posted Jul 2, 2015
I've gone to Cancun a lot of time and stayed in other hotels but this one is truly the one where I feel at home.. The people is so friendly Mario, Felipe, Daniel, Johanna..... I can keep going naming them all.. The food is great. Rooms are clean and beach is so relaxing.. Location is very close to downtown and restaurants.
1 out of 5
by A traveler from chicago

Mouldy hotel room

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: It is a beach front property and the staff we amazing too bad they workforce a terrible hotel
Cons: Clean room with a soft bed
Location: It's located in the best area
Might be the worst hotel I have ever been too....Mouldy rooms and prison hard bed. Even VIP rooms smell like mould
1 out of 5
by A traveler from New York, NY

Very disappointing experience

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything, but most especially the rude, unhelpful, and prejudiced staff.
Unfortunately we did not enjoy our stay. From more minor things (Wifi never working, room service took over an hour to arrive, pool area was often unclean) to more major things (discrimination by staff against my 4 year old African American child). It was truly an awful stay. So many options in Cancun - we should have stayed somewhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Houston, TX

Great value for the $$

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: I liked the room, the service, the pool and beach and the overall cleanliness. We would look at booking this hotel again if we go back.
Cons: The two "fine dining" restaurants, Maria's and Il Pescatore were little more than nicer versions of the buffets. They can be skipped.
Location: We did little else than lay by the pool this trip but there is good shopping nearby.
My wife and I booked this hotel based on other reviews and were not disappointed in the least. We had a clean room with a decent bed, a decent view and overall I give it a 4/5. Decent food, excellent staff, a great pool and beach area too. I definitely say to upgrade to at least the junior suite like we did. Apparently the other rooms are not as nice. When we checked in they offered us a discount on an upgraded room but weren't pushy about it. We politely declined and they were more than happy to continue the check in process. Rubi was our pool server and she was amazing. She memorized my wife's drink request day one and even made suggestions based on that. Our drinks were always full and she even brought fresh ones a little early when she would go on break so we wouldn't be without. Jonathon of the entertainment team was great too. He organized water volleyball daily (which I love to play) and always had a lot of energy and was willing to do whatever he could to make the stay more enjoyable. He even changed the music by the pool when I mentioned it was a little on the depressing/slow side. Jesus at the beach bar was great too and gave us recommendations on where to go buy some vanilla and tequila cheaper than the hotel. My only complaint is something the hotel has little to no control over and that is noisy neighbors running up and down the hall and slamming doors. I feel like if this is my only issue, it was a pretty good stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Great End of Summer Vacation

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Location: Xcaret was a great experience. You can book online and pay a little extra for transportation and the plus package that includes meals. A must do!
My family and I spent 3 Nights at the Gran Caribe Real and LOVED IT. I read many reviews before and felt it was a good choice. The room was exceptionally clean and the minifridge was well stocked and restocked frequently. The meals are all delicious. The beds are ok...a little firm, but I've had worse. The rooms are quite loud in the evenings from activities taking place in the lobby. However, the bar there closes at 12am so after that the noise level is decreased drastically. All of the employees are great. They are kind, funny, and efficient. I see some people here complained of being harassed about timeshares....this did not happen to us once, nor did we see/hear of anything like that. I also see people complaining of not getting the rooms they booked...also not an issue for us. We booked 2 different rooms that were exactly what we requested (I think it helps if you pre check in online the day before). It was a great vacation that definitely exceeded our expectations. We were not ready to leave. Definitely recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation.