Ratings based on 89 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.0 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom Houston, TX

Great value for the $$

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: I liked the room, the service, the pool and beach and the overall cleanliness. We would look at booking this hotel again if we go back.
Cons: The two "fine dining" restaurants, Maria's and Il Pescatore were little more than nicer versions of the buffets. They can be skipped.
Location: We did little else than lay by the pool this trip but there is good shopping nearby.
My wife and I booked this hotel based on other reviews and were not disappointed in the least. We had a clean room with a decent bed, a decent view and overall I give it a 4/5. Decent food, excellent staff, a great pool and beach area too. I definitely say to upgrade to at least the junior suite like we did. Apparently the other rooms are not as nice. When we checked in they offered us a discount on an upgraded room but weren't pushy about it. We politely declined and they were more than happy to continue the check in process. Rubi was our pool server and she was amazing. She memorized my wife's drink request day one and even made suggestions based on that. Our drinks were always full and she even brought fresh ones a little early when she would go on break so we wouldn't be without. Jonathon of the entertainment team was great too. He organized water volleyball daily (which I love to play) and always had a lot of energy and was willing to do whatever he could to make the stay more enjoyable. He even changed the music by the pool when I mentioned it was a little on the depressing/slow side. Jesus at the beach bar was great too and gave us recommendations on where to go buy some vanilla and tequila cheaper than the hotel. My only complaint is something the hotel has little to no control over and that is noisy neighbors running up and down the hall and slamming doors. I feel like if this is my only issue, it was a pretty good stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Great End of Summer Vacation

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Location: Xcaret was a great experience. You can book online and pay a little extra for transportation and the plus package that includes meals. A must do!
My family and I spent 3 Nights at the Gran Caribe Real and LOVED IT. I read many reviews before and felt it was a good choice. The room was exceptionally clean and the minifridge was well stocked and restocked frequently. The meals are all delicious. The beds are ok...a little firm, but I've had worse. The rooms are quite loud in the evenings from activities taking place in the lobby. However, the bar there closes at 12am so after that the noise level is decreased drastically. All of the employees are great. They are kind, funny, and efficient. I see some people here complained of being harassed about timeshares....this did not happen to us once, nor did we see/hear of anything like that. I also see people complaining of not getting the rooms they booked...also not an issue for us. We booked 2 different rooms that were exactly what we requested (I think it helps if you pre check in online the day before). It was a great vacation that definitely exceeded our expectations. We were not ready to leave. Definitely recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by cecefrom New York

The best for a family vacation, love it

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: love the service from the staff, the hammocks in the rooms, the kids clubs, even the night show, and the kids show
Cons: the only things that needs improvement is with the people thats want to sell the time share is a very annoying that someone is all over you
Location: the are is nice there is restaurant, mall area, night clubs
the staff was very nice, love, love the kids clubs they were amazing with the kids. I have never left my kids with no one in a hotel but these people were excellent. me and husband got a couples massage It was a bit expensive and not that great it was average. the beach had to much waves. the hotel was super clean. I love the hammocks in the rooms
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2014 by Jorge, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff. We are very glad to know you were pleased with the hotel overall. We look forward to hosting your stay once again and continuing to meet your expectations. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. All the Best, Jorge A. Hernandez Mtz. Operations Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Hogglefrom Phoenix, AZ

Gran Caribe Real food gets 4 and 1/2 stars.

Posted Oct 29, 2013
The overall resort was very nice. It's high points were the food. They have exceptional restaurants and service in the restaurants. The poor part of our trip was two fold. Checking in is short of a nightmare. If you request a king, they give you two doubles and if you need the doubles, you get the king room. The noise level in the hotel rooms is horrible. The halls, slammed doors, people talking can not be quieted, even with towels pressed against the doors. Wish we had ear plugs!
4 out of 5
by DMT9from Leawood, KS

Posted Apr 30, 2013
This was a wonderful time to visit Cancun.   When we got to the Gran Caribe Real, they informed us that they didn't have any ocean view rooms, which we had booked and paid for.  So, they encouraged us to upgrade to their concierge floor (6th floor) with an ocean view, which they could give us in a couple of days.  They discounted the upgrade.  So we spent the first two days in a lower level room with a view of the parking lot.  Two days later we got moved to the 6th floor, which we liked much better, of course.  After talking to other guests, they were possibly doing this to many people.  The rest of our visit was ver nice.  All of the service was great!  Daniel and Marco were very friendly and helpful.  It would have been nice to have more shade around the pool area.  There were a few cabanas at the pool and many on the beach, but you had to get up early to save one around the pool.  Thought the food was very good for the most part.  The buffet's didn't change much, but, we didn't care.  Not sure if we will come back to this resort, but the beach was beautiful and the room was nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by kiko1971from houston,tx

the best hotel for famalies in cancun

Posted Feb 27, 2013
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet, deposit safe in room, friendly staff
i went last year in june not knowing what to expect and i left cancun with a smile on my face this hotel was very nice,clean,friendly staff,beautiful ocean view and the food was great.if you are looking for clean rooms,good food ,deposit safe in your room this place is awesome! i went there last june for my birthday and i am going back again this june to celebrate yet another birthday :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
by rbarfrom Phoenix, AZ, USA

Better for families.

Posted Jun 20, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet
The hotel was very clean. Food was very good. We ate at all of the restaurants and were very impressed. The hotel does not have very many activies. It was more of a family sytle, I would recommend a adult only hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Funinsuncancunfrom New York, NY, USA

Only Down Fall is the Flipping Sales people trying to sign you up fpr excursions at the littlest sign of interset

Posted May 3, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants
I Loveddddddd This Hotel Cancun Is awesome!!!!!!!! They are super friendly and the food was delicious!!!!!!!!!!!! The only bar that was kind of unattentive was the one with the hammocks
5 out of 5
Recommended
by mossmanfrom Atlanta, GA, USA

great place to stay.....

Posted Feb 28, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants
2nd time staying here and it was great.... brought another couple along and they can't wait to go back.... food was good all the time...
5 out of 5
Recommended
by cacafoch83from Chicago, IL, USA

Great friendly staff

Posted Feb 21, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet
Cons: heard traffic from room
Beautiful resort with everything you can ask for. Wish I would have upgraded to an ocean view room. My room was just OK.