Ratings based on 349 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
by A travelerfrom los Angeles

First cancun all inclusive experience

Posted Mar 25, 2015
This hotel is ok wasnt sure what to expect since it was my first time there the food is overall good 24hrs a day i stayed for 6day. On the second day in my room the toilet was clogged asked to be changed to a diffrent room they said i couldnt and someone would come fix it the third day the shower was clogged and they told me the same thing overall it was an ok hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A travelerfrom Cleveland, OH

Good all inclusive hotel

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Nice friendly staff. Good food/drink. Good shows during the night.
Cons: Old facility, sound isolation is not good. With spring vacation time and all the alcohol you can drink, it could be very loud even at 3-4 am.
We stayed there for 4 nights in March 2015. Overall it is nice hotel. Food was good and many choices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom phila

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Hotel staff was awesome...always fun, friendly, going out of their way to accommodate u and make sure u were having a great time. Food was good but dinner buffets could've been changed up a bit...more variety. We were there for a wedding and it couldnt have been better..from the beach ceremony to the reception..it was awesome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom minnesota

Beautiful beach!

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Great time great value! Could've had more variety for food on different days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom Missouri

Great place for the price.

Posted Mar 23, 2015
This was our 4th time at GR Solaris. We really enjoy staying here. Staff is very friendly. Bartenders are the best. Only negative is the food. Breakfast is great but the other meals are just so so. However they did put in a brick pizza oven which is fantastic. The spa was very relaxing. The adults only pool is where we spent most of our time. The beach is awesome also.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom upstate, NY

MISLEADING ABOUT PADDLE BOATS AND DOCK

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Pros: Pool, beach, shows.
Cons: Too small a resort for such constant timeshare pressure. marco polo shouldn't require reservations a day ahead. Pool bar should stay open later.
Location: Good location to catch bus to anywhere.
It's your average Cancun resort with average food and rooms, unless premium. What do you expect when they have to satisfy so many cultures and food trends? Buffets are similar but have enough variety. Mexico will never master the steak and don't expect good wine. If you have "seafood", expect some octopus in it. Main issue is that you had to sit down for their timeshare speech just to get the map and pool towel tickets. This usually results in you becoming irritated and a bit curt, as you continue to say "no", which is not a good way to start a vacation. A major complaint is advertising that a dock, paddle boats and kayaks are included. They are nowhere on the premises and you are encouraged to go to a "sister" hotel, and get a sales pitch, in order to use those boats....very deceptive on their part. Nevertheless, the shows were among the best we've seen at these resorts and the Michael Jackson tribute was just great. These acts are very multi-talented. We went to relax and enjoy the beach. We also didn't want to cook. Also, basic room faces next hotel and walls are thin.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom Indiana

Great staff, great hotel, very relaxing!

Posted Oct 24, 2014
The hotel was nice. We had a great ocean view room. Beach was nice, water very clear and warm. Food was good as long as you like Mexican food (fajitas, and guacamole were fantastic). Drinks were good, everyone was really nice. Had a great stay!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karenfrom MI

Short, but great trip!

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, friendly staff, great entertainment and activities.
Cons: Soundproofing between rooms.
Location: Great location, close to airport and lots of nearby tours.
This was our first time to GR Solaris and Cancun for my husband and myself. We arrived at the hotel and walked right up to the desk for check-in. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was an ocean view on the top floor. The view was spectacular. The room itself was very clean, though the bed a bit firmer than we are used to. We had no one next door to us until the third night where we could hear our neighbors loudly talking and laughing until quite late. The door between the rooms is very thin. That is really our only complaint- the noise heard between the rooms. The food was very good, especially the night we dined at Marco Polo. The travel agent at the hotel who booked an excursion for us was terrific- very helpful, and he didn't try to sell us the most expensive ones. We chose the Jungle Tour and it was awesome! We were approached upon arrival to schedule a presentation and tour, but we politely declined and weren't asked again. The pools were wonderful- never had a problem finding a chair and there were plenty of towels. We also enjoyed the beach tremendously. All in all we had a great experience and would return to this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by wulf357from Wilmington, DE, United States

The best family vacation we have ever taken

Posted Dec 10, 2013
From the 1st moment to the last we will sorely miss the entertainment staff - Sandy, Jona, Danny, Ale , Christian and Rolando. They are now are extended family and we cannot wait for the chance to visit them again. The rest of the hotel staff was excellent as well and could not have treated us with more courtesy and professionalism. The buffets were just fair but the Marco Polo restaurant made up for it as it was excellent. The exception to the buffets was the breakfast buffet which was excellent as well. Go to all of the shows as they were excellent and the always open bar was quite welcomed. There was always an open bottle of tequila at every dinner once our reputation preceded us. We were there with 2 other family's and everyone had a wonderful time. The beds were fair and when asked the staff put a memory foam cushion on them and made them vey comfortable. The entire vacation was exceptional at the hotel and we never thought about doing anything outside of it because it was such a great time. Again let me call out the entertainment staff as they were incredible to us and made us leave with the feelings of never wanting to leave = we will be back soon guaranteed. There are just 2 many things to list and if you go to this hotel you will enjoy it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by beerdrinkingchamp2012from Idaho

Best for the money

Posted Oct 23, 2013
We have stayed at other resorts and found the GR, to be hands down, the best for the money. Very clean and the atmosphere was great, great bar for evening fun and the daytime activities around the pool were a blast. If you are coming to here just to rate the food you will be disappointed, the buffet is  mediocre at best, and unless you eat at Marco Polo's for dinner every night which is fairly good" you may not find much on the buffet you can stomach.  The buffet food was the only flaw we found here.