Ratings based on 343 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom Indiana

Great staff, great hotel, very relaxing!

Posted Oct 24, 2014
The hotel was nice. We had a great ocean view room. Beach was nice, water very clear and warm. Food was good as long as you like Mexican food (fajitas, and guacamole were fantastic). Drinks were good, everyone was really nice. Had a great stay!!
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by Karenfrom MI

Short, but great trip!

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, friendly staff, great entertainment and activities.
Cons: Soundproofing between rooms.
Location: Great location, close to airport and lots of nearby tours.
This was our first time to GR Solaris and Cancun for my husband and myself. We arrived at the hotel and walked right up to the desk for check-in. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was an ocean view on the top floor. The view was spectacular. The room itself was very clean, though the bed a bit firmer than we are used to. We had no one next door to us until the third night where we could hear our neighbors loudly talking and laughing until quite late. The door between the rooms is very thin. That is really our only complaint- the noise heard between the rooms. The food was very good, especially the night we dined at Marco Polo. The travel agent at the hotel who booked an excursion for us was terrific- very helpful, and he didn't try to sell us the most expensive ones. We chose the Jungle Tour and it was awesome! We were approached upon arrival to schedule a presentation and tour, but we politely declined and weren't asked again. The pools were wonderful- never had a problem finding a chair and there were plenty of towels. We also enjoyed the beach tremendously. All in all we had a great experience and would return to this hotel.
5 out of 5
by wulf357from Wilmington, DE, United States

The best family vacation we have ever taken

Posted Dec 10, 2013
From the 1st moment to the last we will sorely miss the entertainment staff - Sandy, Jona, Danny, Ale , Christian and Rolando. They are now are extended family and we cannot wait for the chance to visit them again. The rest of the hotel staff was excellent as well and could not have treated us with more courtesy and professionalism. The buffets were just fair but the Marco Polo restaurant made up for it as it was excellent. The exception to the buffets was the breakfast buffet which was excellent as well. Go to all of the shows as they were excellent and the always open bar was quite welcomed. There was always an open bottle of tequila at every dinner once our reputation preceded us. We were there with 2 other family's and everyone had a wonderful time. The beds were fair and when asked the staff put a memory foam cushion on them and made them vey comfortable. The entire vacation was exceptional at the hotel and we never thought about doing anything outside of it because it was such a great time. Again let me call out the entertainment staff as they were incredible to us and made us leave with the feelings of never wanting to leave = we will be back soon guaranteed. There are just 2 many things to list and if you go to this hotel you will enjoy it.
5 out of 5
by beerdrinkingchamp2012from Idaho

Best for the money

Posted Oct 23, 2013
We have stayed at other resorts and found the GR, to be hands down, the best for the money. Very clean and the atmosphere was great, great bar for evening fun and the daytime activities around the pool were a blast. If you are coming to here just to rate the food you will be disappointed, the buffet is  mediocre at best, and unless you eat at Marco Polo's for dinner every night which is fairly good" you may not find much on the buffet you can stomach.  The buffet food was the only flaw we found here.
5 out of 5
by Ssanchezfrom Elkridge, MD

Best experience and service

Posted Aug 23, 2013
I'm so happy we chose GR Solaris as our hotel! The people were so customer service oriented the food was great, the rooms were beautiful. I loved everything about my vacation and this hotel definitely made me feel at home. I highly recommend to anyone! 
4 out of 5
by Cancun2013from San Jose, CA

Good Resort for the money

Posted Jul 24, 2013
Very good beach location compared to other part of the strip.  Excellent idea for the umbrellas on the beach.  Clean and as usual friendly people at the restaurants.  Not a surprise, bad time share sale people, just have to ignore them.  Buffets is ok, could improve.  Actually, this is one of the negative point.  Good convenient place called Deli to hang out.  Good size Bar/ball room next to the lobby. Overall good resort but need to improve on the buffets.
5 out of 5
by GriffinClan9from California

Wonderful Family Vacation!

Posted Jul 11, 2013
We had a wonderful time at the GR Solaris.  Everything met or exceeded our expectations, except The Marco Polo Restaurant.  The staff was amazing and made us feel welcomed.  
4 out of 5
by nomorestress

What a great break from reality!

Posted May 25, 2013
We had a fabulous time at this resort! The food, beverage, entertainment were really great!  The only con I would say was the lack of Internet... It is offered, but for a PRICE.  They could improve by at least offering wifi in the lobby for free.  Otherwise a very nice vacation and great staff!
5 out of 5
by Novan7from Orlando, FL

Great place! great staff!

Posted May 15, 2013
My wife and I celebrated our 10yr anniversary and we had such a great time.  The rooms were clean, everyone was very nice and the entertainment staff was great.
1 out of 5
by katyk1from Waukesha, WI

Not what I expected

Posted May 7, 2013
Alright, so I'm checking out of the hotel today and I just have to share my experience because I read all of the reviews before I came and I was wary. Just a quick background, this is my 7th time to Cancun and honestly the worst hotel/customer service ever. I will however list off the pros of the hotel so at least there were some things that were very good: Pools, never crowded and you could always find chairs no matter the time of day. The food, I read a lot of reviews before I came and was worried I wouldn't like anything. The food is actually pretty decent, there was always something I liked on the buffet line. Towels, they were always available and never had an issue getting them.  Now on to the cons of the trip. Before the trip I called GR Solaris Reservations and was hung up on twice by someone, not a good start. Finally got someone on the line and discussed my room and how I wanted to be near my friends who were staying here as well. The gentlemen said not a problem at all we will handle that for you. I also asked for an ocean view and he said he would make a note in my reservation so I would not be charged for it. I thought that was super nice of him and didn't think much about it. When I arrived I checked in around 1:30 p.m. and there was a lady who checked me in. I asked about the ocean view room and being by my friends. She was SO rude! She said that they don't do those types of things and there were no notes in my reservation. I asked to speak to her manager who came out angry to begin with (lovely). His name started with an "E" but not sure what it was. He told me he would give me $10 off each night for the ocean view. Well, I was not happy due to the fact of I wasn't planning on dulling out extra money for this in the first place. I then mentioned that I follow them on Facebook and had been on a thread about their wireless internet. One website said it was free and another said there was a cost. I asked due to the circumstances would he throw in the wireless since I had to do some work on my computer. He told me that they are not in the business to compromise. Well, this is a lovely start to a vacation isn't it? I asked if he could talk to his manager about it and get back to me. So fast forward to 2 days later, I still have no wireless or anyone calling me to let me know anything about it. Now, I really do need it for work. I go down and sit in the lobby because now I'm told to talk to Jasmine from Guest Services. I'm sitting there waiting and a gentlemen approaches me and asks me about my stay. I tell him the truth that I'm not happy and the staff so far hasn't been good. What does he do? He tries to sell me their VIP membership!! Really?!?! I'm about livid at this point, I'm not giving you anymore of my money! Finally Jasmine is at her desk and I tell her my story about the situation so far. I will say Jasmine is very nice and personable compared to the Front Desk. She tells me she'll make reservations for me at Marco Polo (their fine dining restaurant) and will send a bottle of wine to my room and get me a massage at the spa and a night out to a club. Well really out of all of those things I'd prefer for the spa. She says to get in touch with her and she'll be in 9-6 everyday. Of course the next two days I go looking for her and no one knows where she is. I will say we did get the dinner reservation and bottle of wine during this time. I finally find her on day 3 of looking..... By this time we already went to senor frogs with our group because no one knew anything about what she had told me. She tells me she cannot give me a massage anymore due to management decision. Really? You told someone that you would do this and got me excited for one and now take it away. Plus if I would have known this I would have made my own spa appointment during the time she was gone. No on from my group wanted to go out to the clubs anymore either as we had already done it. My biggest annoyance with this hotel is the lack of communications. One person tells you one thing and then when you have to ask someone else they have no idea. They turn it around and will accuse you of lying here and I have a huge problem with that. I wish they would have just told me the truth to start with and gone from there. Honestly, this review would have been better if Jasmine would have came through with what she told me. However, I feel like I was lied to during this whole process. In hospitality in the USA we'd never be able to get away with things like this. I will be staying at a different hotel the next time I come to Cancun. Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2015 by Solaris Resorts, Hotel Management
Please accept our deepest apologies regarding all the inconveniences you had during your stay. We have informed our General Manager and he has taken immediate action. Communication is the foundation to offer a perfect service and exceed our guest expectations. The thread regarding the free wifi that we offer is on Wednesdays for 3 hours; we do mention it constantly on our facebook page including the hours: from 11 am to 2 pm. Once again we apologize. We appreciate you writing your feedback. It helps us to improve our guest services. Sincerely, Hoteles Solaris de Mexico