Ratings based on 356 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Just what we were looking for.

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: The entertainment, cleaniness, and the hard work of the staff. The pools were great and so was the view from our room.
Cons: Less pressure to take excursions and sign up for the members club. Some of the food items were less than tasty.
Hotel check in was easy and the room was ready early. The entertanimnet was excellent and the bartenders were great. A small tip works wonders. The place was very clean and the four pools had something for everyone. The beach was raked daily and the sand was excellent. One of the three elevators was out of order for two days so there was a small issue of riding one during the busy periods. Once the third one was working there was no problem. The hotel will not make change for dollars so I would bring more small bills. The Marco Polo resturant was horriable so I would not waste my time on it. They were out of some of the items, portions were very small and our waiter had 6 tables to work so service was bad. Drinks were not refilled and bread was not offered. The other food in the four resturants were hit and miss. Some items excellent and some were dired out and bland. Not a problem since there was a large selection. Overall a great trip and I would go back.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Tulsa, OK

Old

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: the beach area was clean
Cons: room accomodations, food was not good.
Location: No comment
The rooms were cramped and small. The beds were small for 4 people to a room. The Solaris chain does not exercise the all inclusive to all hotels that are in the chain. Other hotels in the area that have several hotels in the chain allow you to travel and eat for free at the other hotels
2 out of 5
by A traveler from d

On second thought...

Posted Jun 19, 2015
The staff was unfriendly, the food was edible, the drinks were cheap and tasted like artificial sweeteners. I wouldn't recommend the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Atlanta, Georgia.

Definitely NOT worth it.

Posted Jun 17, 2015
This resort is much smaller than pictured. The room was OK. Hotel staff could use some lessons in manners. The overly aggressive staff continued to pursue us and force us to attend their several hour long time share "presentation," and became highly upset when they learned we accepted an "invite for a presentation" at another hotel prior to theirs. They promised free tickets to an excursion which ended up costing nearly $100 - so much for free! The ocean water outside the hotel was way too rough to swim in. Overall there are much better locations to stay in than here. Do not waste your $$. You will be disappointed!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Minnesota

Perfect Mother-Daughter getaway

Posted Jun 13, 2015
This resort was lovely from the rooms to the pools, beach and restaurants but what really makes GR Solaris stand out from the other 3 places I've stayed in the past is the hotel staff. Dafne is the person to see and the front desk if you have any questions. She helped us figure out the busses and where to shop. Jair is the most dedicated and fabulous waiter. He welcomes you with a warm smile, fun-loving personality and full attentiveness. Even though he had many tables, we always felt most important. He goes out of his way to make your experience the best. We dined where ever he was serving and asked for him. When it was time for us to leave for home, we said goodbye and it was like leaving family. I can not say enough good things about this young man. The rooms were comfortable aside from a little difficulty regulating the temperature so that it wasn't too cold. The hallway noise is occasionally disruptive but no more so than any other resort I've stayed at. I would return again to dine at Jair's table!
1 out of 5
by A traveler from CA

Never again!

Posted Jun 8, 2015
This review is based on my stay for the period of 05/31/15-06/05/15. I went with my family, a big group of 8 adults and 3 kids in 5 rooms. Let me start by listing the pros to be fair, the kids’ club staff is very nice, the girls are really sweet and do a lot of different activities with the children, the kids always looked forward to going back. The entertainment staff is also wonderful, they work very hard to put on nice shows at night and entertain guests with activities during the day. Now to the cons, the service staff is the worst I have seen in any hotel. My bad experience started at the check-in counter, I asked if we can get our rooms on the same floor and was told no, they can’t accommodate that and was given 3 rooms on the 5th floor and 2 on the 6th. I went up to my room on the 6th to find my king bed reservation a 2 queen beds room, and one bed was broken as in falls down when you sit on it broken. After telling the front desk, I was given a room on the 5th floor, I thought you couldn’t accommodate? The rooms don't come with a tub, all are stand showers as I was told, so if you have small children it's challenging. Also cleanliness was an issue, they didn't change my pillowcases during my stay, I could tell because my eyeliner left a spot on my pillow the first day, the balcony was filthy and my ocean view booking was only partial, the full view is only for club members, something that was never mentioned during my booking. The waiters, housekeeping, and the towe
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Texas

Home away from home

Posted Jun 1, 2015
The staff at GR Solaris rock. I go there at least 2 times a year. They remember you and treat you in a special way. The resort is clean and I have always felt safe there even when I have traveled there alone Food and entertainment are very good. Great value for the money.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from los Angeles

First cancun all inclusive experience

Posted Mar 25, 2015
This hotel is ok wasnt sure what to expect since it was my first time there the food is overall good 24hrs a day i stayed for 6day. On the second day in my room the toilet was clogged asked to be changed to a diffrent room they said i couldnt and someone would come fix it the third day the shower was clogged and they told me the same thing overall it was an ok hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler from Cleveland, OH

Good all inclusive hotel

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Nice friendly staff. Good food/drink. Good shows during the night.
Cons: Old facility, sound isolation is not good. With spring vacation time and all the alcohol you can drink, it could be very loud even at 3-4 am.
We stayed there for 4 nights in March 2015. Overall it is nice hotel. Food was good and many choices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from phila

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Hotel staff was awesome...always fun, friendly, going out of their way to accommodate u and make sure u were having a great time. Food was good but dinner buffets could've been changed up a bit...more variety. We were there for a wedding and it couldnt have been better..from the beach ceremony to the reception..it was awesome.