Ratings based on 220 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom Nashville

Exceeded Expectations

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Everything, it was beautiful but a staff can ruin that quickly... This one improved it. Everyone goes out of their way to make you feel welcome!
Cons: Our hotel room was directly across the housekeeping area, so that got a little noisy and on our return flight we were not seated together.
Location: We stayed on the property the entire time with no shortage of things to do but they did offer plenty of outings if that's what you want.
We were on our Honeymoon which is why we chose the adults only hotel but from the time we pulled up the experience was perfect. The hotel, staff, cleanliness, conditions of equipment, all were excellent. The beach was well groomed, clean, and the service was great. The room was clean, well decorated, and the shower was amazing. The food on the resort was an 8 on a scale of 10 and we loved the no reservation policy. We're not foodies but we know when we've had a great meal and we had several. The nightlife activities were as expected but kept us entertained. Overall, this place has it going on and the entire staff was awesome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom Washington D.C.

Very Overdue Vacation Stay!!

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Everything! This resort gave attention to every detail from a 540 degree perspective!! Everywhere you looked there was perfection!!
Cons: The bathrooms in the room didn't leave much room for discretion... The doors were frosted glass and open top and bottom. But still beautiful!!
Location: We only visited the Chichen Itza. One of the 7 Wonders of the World. Truly a remarkable architectural marvel for the eyes and yes...the ears too!!!
I have never, and I mean Never stayed at any hotel, B&B, or otherwise where the staff was so welcoming and professional!! They saw to every single detail. It was also my traveling companions birthday and I asked for flowers for her at the last minute. The bouquet of three dozens roses were beautiful! We both loved this resort and it was very worth the cost. We had to make ourselves leave the resort to visit one of the 7 Wonders of the World at Chichen Itza.
2 out of 5
by A travelerfrom Omaha, Nebraska

Not even close to a 4 or 5 star resort.

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Staff, location, the bars and bartenders.
Cons: Get a food service manager and executive chef that knows the meaning of a 4 or 5 star property.
Location: Golfed at the course. Beautiful, but way over priced.
It is a beautiful location with a friendly staff and the drinks never stop flowing. We were expecting outstanding meals, but were disappointed by the quality of the meals, the portions were almost microscopic, and usually cold. The restaurants do not take reservations, so you just wait your turn, sometimes an hour or more. The best meal of the day was always breakfast, because they would cook an omelet right in front of you so you knew what was in it and it was hot. If quality meals are not your first priority, then this is the place for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom Minnesota

Posted Mar 24, 2015
We went to Excellence playa mujeres for an early 40 bd celebration. We had a great time. The swim up junior suite was great. We could just walk out and go for a swim around the lazy river. We explored all rhe pools and the beach was beautiful. No place ever felt crowded. I would definitely go here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A travelerfrom Georgia

"Excellente"

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff and a great selection of dining.
Cons: The beach
Location: We highly recommend the hotels 'free' activities.
The staff was exceptional nice. My husband and I dined at all 9 restaurants and highly recommend the Lobster Bar. If you are spoiled by steakhouses in New York, etc., then their steakhouse is disappointing but worth a try. The free activities were a nice treat, especially the bike riding tour.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A travelerfrom dekray beach, fl

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Everything! It was ckear, fun entertainment, staff wonderful.....food terrific and drinks great. The service in the vip lounge was outstanding .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A travelerfrom Atlanta, GA

Excellent Anniversary stay at Excellence

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Cons: A small couples massage (15 min) should be included w/ honeymoon/anniversary stays if you pay extra for Excellence Club; A free airport shuttle too.
Location: It is very secluded so you'll have to grab an expensive taxi to go sight-see or shop. We knew this & had no interest in leaving the resort though.
My husband and I just returned from Excellence Playa Mujares on yesterday. It was our first time there but definitely will not be our last. We paid a little extra and got the Excellence Club OCF (ocean front) Jr. Suite. We had a private furnished balcony overlooking the pool, the immaculate hotel grounds and the ocean. I cannot say enough good things about this place. Room service food portions we're a little small but we knew that from reading previous reviews. So, we ordered 2 entrees and 2 desserts a piece. The food at The Grill and The Lobster House was okay. The only thing is that if you go during dinner (after dark), the mosquitoes are ridiculous (these 2 are outdoor restaurants). They have OFF! spray at the hostess stand so be sure to spray down. The French Restaurant (Chez Isabelle) which is completely enclosed was rumored by other guests to be fantastic. We ran out of time and didn't make it. My husband forgot to pack dinner attire. For dinner, they require you to wear pants w/ a polo style shirt or a button down shirt at the restaurants. We we're worried that we'd have to just eat room service the entire time but found out that the concierge would let him borrow dinner attire. Crisis averted! It was a great stay. The beach was beautiful. The pools were crystal clear. The staff was very accommodating. The drinks and food were non-stop and the room was kept immaculately by housekeeping. LOVED IT! Will be back next year. Met some great couples & the free WIFI was great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom Dallas

Classy and laid back!

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness. Nobody begging for tips. Nobody asking us to buy 'timeshare' and saw info on their 'club' but it was never pushed on us at all.
Cons: Cold refrigerator in room. Ice machine. Inform us if its a small portion (room service chocolate cake is literally a tiny 2"x2" lump :(
Location: Not close to much. Taxi's are always readily available but expensive. $35 taxi ride to go about 10 miles/15 minutes. Best Day Travel is great also.
Upon arrival we passed thru the several gated entrances/security check points so it was nice to feel the resort had high security. The resort was very large and secluded, as compared to several others that are packed in beside each other. Beach was wide and long, clean, and of course pretty. Plenty of the non motorized sports for everyone. No open beach chairs, however :( Chairs and chairs w/shade were always available at the pools. Pools are luke warm, hot tub nearly same temperature. Ocean was much cooler than pools, but not cold.. felt perfect :) Our room was standard, no upgrades, and it was wonderful- plenty of room with couches, balcony w/bed and table, indoor/outdoor hot tub. Full bottles of liquor in room- vodka, rum, white rum, red wine..also sodas, beer, water with snacks(one small bag of chips, small oreo pack, medium m&m, and a snickers bar) The fridge was never cold! Had to order ice from room service- which is 24 hours and arrived within 30 min. A/C in room was awesome. Food was pretty good. No reservations needed at the restaurants but if you don't get to the grill(steak house) or the lobster house(seafood) closely after they open for dinner(6pm) you can be on the wait list for up to an hour…so try to get there early or you'll be eating very late. It takes a long time to get your meal- and most of the portions are tiny. Plenty of bars, the drinks are amazing! No tip jars anywhere and nobody asking for tips. We tipped anyway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by KateWKfrom Arkansas

secluded elegance

Posted Nov 12, 2013
If you want to rest and relax, and eat and drink continually, this is the place for good food and fellowship.The pools and facilities are beautiful, and we enjoyed the entertainment. However, It is difficult to go anywhere else in the Cancun area, for it is way off the beaten path, and its very expensive to go elsewhere sightseeing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by ljmiller

Great place

Posted Nov 5, 2013
I went here 5 years ago and it is still a very nice place. The service and friendliness is fantastic. The only thing I noticed different is they no longer have Dos Equis and the quality of the steaks is not so good. Seafood was great.