Ratings based on 223 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Chillicothe, Ohio

Excellent Everything at Excellence Playa Mujeres !

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: I liked the atmosphere and the layout of the property. it was luxurious and elegant , without being huge and crowded.
Cons: I cannot think of anything.
Location: There are many exciting excursions in the area and the Excellence staff will happily arrange them for you. Downtown Cancun is a taxi ride away.
My husband and I only regret that our stay was not longer! We were celebrating our Anniversary, and from the moment we arrived it was truly a celebration. The Anniversary banner on our door, the champagne placed in our room each night, fresh fruit, and the service and attention were awesome! We are definitely going back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Chicago,IL

Great beach at adults only hotel.

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: Beach!!! Beautiful white sand, little seaweed,gentle waves. Many chairs under huts available. If you get to the beach area by 9, you will get a chair.
Cons: Could use more stools around the many bars. Would have liked more activities at the pool. More fun contests. Offer more pool volleyball games.
Location: 15 minutes past Cancun, nice and private. We did a catamaran sail to the island. Good. Skip the foto op with the nurse shark. Poor thing.
We have stayed at 7 other adult only resorts in the Cancun area. This resolt is #1 on our list now. The beach is beautiful with gentle waves coming in due to Isles Mujeres across the bay. We enjoyed taking out the Hobie Cat for a sail. Only one available the first day so had to wait a couple hours, but 2 available the rest of the week with no waiting. Eight restaurants to dine at, we tried 5, all good, favorites were lobster house, french. Breakfast buffet great but men MUST wear a collared/sleeved shirt (shorts ok), which seems unfair as womens are there in bathing suits with a coverup. Entertainment good with extra music/dancing nightly at Cafe Kafe. Size of resort is perfect, not too big or too small. We stayed in building 7, nice and close to beach/dining. Took bike tour which was fun esp. seeing the parrots. You will not be disappointed here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Maine

Beautiful hotel with 5 star service

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: Service, service, service!!!
Cons: The open bathrooms in the room were not the best design - zero privacy!
Excellence PM is a lovely hotel with beautiful grounds and great pools - all of which are kept spotless. I found the beach to be nice with ultra calm waters and plenty of chairs & palapas. Many have mentioned the seaweed but we did not find this to be a problem at all - there wasn't very much and they raked it every day. Housekeeping, minibar service & turndown service were done well but housekeeping does come very late in the afternoon each day. The food was mostly quite good - you can skip Barcelona & Las Olas but Chez Isabelle, Spice & Basmati were very good & Flavor Market was EXCELLENT. It is the staff that makes your stay memorable and leaves you wanting to return. Your cup will never be empty anywhere on the property and you will feel pampered and looked after in all you do - everything you ask is met with "my pleasure". I did not find the Excellence Club to be worth the extra money except for the room location - mostly because you will find the service in general so outstanding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Nashville

Exceeded Expectations

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Everything, it was beautiful but a staff can ruin that quickly... This one improved it. Everyone goes out of their way to make you feel welcome!
Cons: Our hotel room was directly across the housekeeping area, so that got a little noisy and on our return flight we were not seated together.
Location: We stayed on the property the entire time with no shortage of things to do but they did offer plenty of outings if that's what you want.
We were on our Honeymoon which is why we chose the adults only hotel but from the time we pulled up the experience was perfect. The hotel, staff, cleanliness, conditions of equipment, all were excellent. The beach was well groomed, clean, and the service was great. The room was clean, well decorated, and the shower was amazing. The food on the resort was an 8 on a scale of 10 and we loved the no reservation policy. We're not foodies but we know when we've had a great meal and we had several. The nightlife activities were as expected but kept us entertained. Overall, this place has it going on and the entire staff was awesome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Washington D.C.

Very Overdue Vacation Stay!!

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Everything! This resort gave attention to every detail from a 540 degree perspective!! Everywhere you looked there was perfection!!
Cons: The bathrooms in the room didn't leave much room for discretion... The doors were frosted glass and open top and bottom. But still beautiful!!
Location: We only visited the Chichen Itza. One of the 7 Wonders of the World. Truly a remarkable architectural marvel for the eyes and yes...the ears too!!!
I have never, and I mean Never stayed at any hotel, B&B, or otherwise where the staff was so welcoming and professional!! They saw to every single detail. It was also my traveling companions birthday and I asked for flowers for her at the last minute. The bouquet of three dozens roses were beautiful! We both loved this resort and it was very worth the cost. We had to make ourselves leave the resort to visit one of the 7 Wonders of the World at Chichen Itza.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Omaha, Nebraska

Not even close to a 4 or 5 star resort.

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Staff, location, the bars and bartenders.
Cons: Get a food service manager and executive chef that knows the meaning of a 4 or 5 star property.
Location: Golfed at the course. Beautiful, but way over priced.
It is a beautiful location with a friendly staff and the drinks never stop flowing. We were expecting outstanding meals, but were disappointed by the quality of the meals, the portions were almost microscopic, and usually cold. The restaurants do not take reservations, so you just wait your turn, sometimes an hour or more. The best meal of the day was always breakfast, because they would cook an omelet right in front of you so you knew what was in it and it was hot. If quality meals are not your first priority, then this is the place for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Minnesota

Posted Mar 24, 2015
We went to Excellence playa mujeres for an early 40 bd celebration. We had a great time. The swim up junior suite was great. We could just walk out and go for a swim around the lazy river. We explored all rhe pools and the beach was beautiful. No place ever felt crowded. I would definitely go here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Georgia

"Excellente"

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff and a great selection of dining.
Cons: The beach
Location: We highly recommend the hotels 'free' activities.
The staff was exceptional nice. My husband and I dined at all 9 restaurants and highly recommend the Lobster Bar. If you are spoiled by steakhouses in New York, etc., then their steakhouse is disappointing but worth a try. The free activities were a nice treat, especially the bike riding tour.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from dekray beach, fl

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Everything! It was ckear, fun entertainment, staff wonderful.....food terrific and drinks great. The service in the vip lounge was outstanding .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Atlanta, GA

Excellent Anniversary stay at Excellence

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Cons: A small couples massage (15 min) should be included w/ honeymoon/anniversary stays if you pay extra for Excellence Club; A free airport shuttle too.
Location: It is very secluded so you'll have to grab an expensive taxi to go sight-see or shop. We knew this & had no interest in leaving the resort though.
My husband and I just returned from Excellence Playa Mujares on yesterday. It was our first time there but definitely will not be our last. We paid a little extra and got the Excellence Club OCF (ocean front) Jr. Suite. We had a private furnished balcony overlooking the pool, the immaculate hotel grounds and the ocean. I cannot say enough good things about this place. Room service food portions we're a little small but we knew that from reading previous reviews. So, we ordered 2 entrees and 2 desserts a piece. The food at The Grill and The Lobster House was okay. The only thing is that if you go during dinner (after dark), the mosquitoes are ridiculous (these 2 are outdoor restaurants). They have OFF! spray at the hostess stand so be sure to spray down. The French Restaurant (Chez Isabelle) which is completely enclosed was rumored by other guests to be fantastic. We ran out of time and didn't make it. My husband forgot to pack dinner attire. For dinner, they require you to wear pants w/ a polo style shirt or a button down shirt at the restaurants. We we're worried that we'd have to just eat room service the entire time but found out that the concierge would let him borrow dinner attire. Crisis averted! It was a great stay. The beach was beautiful. The pools were crystal clear. The staff was very accommodating. The drinks and food were non-stop and the room was kept immaculately by housekeeping. LOVED IT! Will be back next year. Met some great couples & the free WIFI was great