Ratings based on 214 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A travelerfrom Atlanta, GA

Excellent Anniversary stay at Excellence

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Cons: A small couples massage (15 min) should be included w/ honeymoon/anniversary stays if you pay extra for Excellence Club; A free airport shuttle too.
Location: It is very secluded so you'll have to grab an expensive taxi to go sight-see or shop. We knew this & had no interest in leaving the resort though.
My husband and I just returned from Excellence Playa Mujares on yesterday. It was our first time there but definitely will not be our last. We paid a little extra and got the Excellence Club OCF (ocean front) Jr. Suite. We had a private furnished balcony overlooking the pool, the immaculate hotel grounds and the ocean. I cannot say enough good things about this place. Room service food portions we're a little small but we knew that from reading previous reviews. So, we ordered 2 entrees and 2 desserts a piece. The food at The Grill and The Lobster House was okay. The only thing is that if you go during dinner (after dark), the mosquitoes are ridiculous (these 2 are outdoor restaurants). They have OFF! spray at the hostess stand so be sure to spray down. The French Restaurant (Chez Isabelle) which is completely enclosed was rumored by other guests to be fantastic. We ran out of time and didn't make it. My husband forgot to pack dinner attire. For dinner, they require you to wear pants w/ a polo style shirt or a button down shirt at the restaurants. We we're worried that we'd have to just eat room service the entire time but found out that the concierge would let him borrow dinner attire. Crisis averted! It was a great stay. The beach was beautiful. The pools were crystal clear. The staff was very accommodating. The drinks and food were non-stop and the room was kept immaculately by housekeeping. LOVED IT! Will be back next year. Met some great couples & the free WIFI was great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom Dallas

Classy and laid back!

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness. Nobody begging for tips. Nobody asking us to buy 'timeshare' and saw info on their 'club' but it was never pushed on us at all.
Cons: Cold refrigerator in room. Ice machine. Inform us if its a small portion (room service chocolate cake is literally a tiny 2"x2" lump :(
Location: Not close to much. Taxi's are always readily available but expensive. $35 taxi ride to go about 10 miles/15 minutes. Best Day Travel is great also.
Upon arrival we passed thru the several gated entrances/security check points so it was nice to feel the resort had high security. The resort was very large and secluded, as compared to several others that are packed in beside each other. Beach was wide and long, clean, and of course pretty. Plenty of the non motorized sports for everyone. No open beach chairs, however :( Chairs and chairs w/shade were always available at the pools. Pools are luke warm, hot tub nearly same temperature. Ocean was much cooler than pools, but not cold.. felt perfect :) Our room was standard, no upgrades, and it was wonderful- plenty of room with couches, balcony w/bed and table, indoor/outdoor hot tub. Full bottles of liquor in room- vodka, rum, white rum, red wine..also sodas, beer, water with snacks(one small bag of chips, small oreo pack, medium m&m, and a snickers bar) The fridge was never cold! Had to order ice from room service- which is 24 hours and arrived within 30 min. A/C in room was awesome. Food was pretty good. No reservations needed at the restaurants but if you don't get to the grill(steak house) or the lobster house(seafood) closely after they open for dinner(6pm) you can be on the wait list for up to an hour…so try to get there early or you'll be eating very late. It takes a long time to get your meal- and most of the portions are tiny. Plenty of bars, the drinks are amazing! No tip jars anywhere and nobody asking for tips. We tipped anyway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by KateWKfrom Arkansas

secluded elegance

Posted Nov 12, 2013
If you want to rest and relax, and eat and drink continually, this is the place for good food and fellowship.The pools and facilities are beautiful, and we enjoyed the entertainment. However, It is difficult to go anywhere else in the Cancun area, for it is way off the beaten path, and its very expensive to go elsewhere sightseeing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by ljmiller

Great place

Posted Nov 5, 2013
I went here 5 years ago and it is still a very nice place. The service and friendliness is fantastic. The only thing I noticed different is they no longer have Dos Equis and the quality of the steaks is not so good. Seafood was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by adoran1028from Boston, MA

Total Honeymoon Bliss at Excellence Playa Mujeres!

Posted Oct 16, 2013
My husband and I just returned from a blissful two-week honeymoon at the Excellence Playa Mujeres. We cannot rave enough about our experience and literally already have our dates set to return for our first anniversary (don't know if I want to wait that long though!). To set the stage, I want to say that we've been to 5 or 6 all-inclusive resorts in Mexico and the Dominican Republic. And while we loved many of them for different reasons, we can absolutely say that we have found our new "home away from home" in the Excellence at Playa Mujeres. As they say, "the devil is in the details" and it is in the details that makes the Excellence experience far superior to anything we have ever encountered. We stayed in an Excellence Club Two Story Oceanfront room. We had our own roofdeck and pool that was amazing. The pool came up to mid-thigh (approx.) and was definitely bigger than we thought based on the pics. It was a great way to have some nice privacy. But on that note… there are some buildings that are taller than others so if you’re going for this room type, ask for rooms 9455, 9456, or 9457… so that way you’re on one of the highest buildings and no one can look down onto your roof. We requested 9456 at booking which wasn’t available at check-in but they gave us the one next door and we were thrilled with the room and the view. It’s a given in the Mexican Caribbean that the beach and pools are awesome. So what makes the Excellence so Excellent? - ADULTS ONLY!!!!!!! This was a huge draw for us since it was our honeymoon. The EPM definitely caters to couples and honeymooners, so that was great for us and we met some great people in a similar mindset as we were. - No Bracelets!!! We loved not wearing an annoying, scratchy piece of plastic for two weeks. - Everyone calls you by your name. You need to give your room # everywhere so that they can subsequently call you by your name. It just makes you feel more at home and as honeymooners, we loved being called Mr. and Mrs. for two weeks. - Floaters in the pools! Loved that they were everywhere! - No reservations required at the restaurants! We’ve been to resorts that make you plan out your dinner plans for every night of your stay at arrival, or resorts where you have to wait in crazy lines to make a reservation at the best restaurant. At the Excellence, no reservations are required. We were big into not having an agenda for our honeymoon so we loved that we could go wherever we felt like on a particular day and we could go when we got hungry, and not a particular seating time. - Food is delicious! Everywhere! This is particularly awesome in light of the no reservations component. There was one night when the restaurant we wanted had a 45-minute wait (which I suppose could get annoying on a short trip) but there are so many delicious options that we just went elsewhere and walked right in. And we seriously loved pretty much everything we ate. Lobster House and Chez Isabelle were probably the favorites… but really everything was great. Barcelona had an amazing paella, Toscana had ridiculously good lasagna, the Grill had great steak… really everything was great. Go to the Bar near the main pool during the day and try some great brick oven pizza! - 24-hour room service! The menu is awesome and they will literally come at 1 am after you trapse back from Alegria bar and need some food. - Mille Spa. We had two amazing spa sessions. Definitely try the hydrotherapy… its unlike anything you’ve ever seen and totally not expensive! - Excellence Club. From our mindset this was totally worth the extra money. You have a broader room service menu, which was only just a tiny part of what makes it worth it. The bigger piece is the access to a couple private pool areas and a private beach area. If you wanted a party you could go to the main pool. If you wanted a more relaxing/private time, you had two smaller pool areas that were for Excellence Club guests only. We spent all of our pool time at an Excellence Club pool and really enjoyed it as there were times where we had it pretty much to ourselves. In the Excellence Club sections, they walk around with cold towels which is super refreshing after hours in the hot Mexican sun, and they “make up your sun bed” when you arrive. The first day we were so caught off guard by this but you quickly learn to love the pampering effect of having them wrap up your beach/pool lounger in multiple towels to ensure your comfort and then change them out for you any time they get too wet. There are tons of other little perks that come with being in the Excellence Club (like private parties, a beach bag, etc) but point is that it’s worth it from our viewpoint. - Last and certainly not least, the SERVICE. Everyone that we encountered during our stay was fantastic. They truly do try hard to go the extra mile to make your stay excellent. While everyone was fantastic, a few quick shoutouts must go to: Erick at Excellence Club Pool at Building 9 – THANK YOU for making our stay so fantastic! Hope to see you next year! Angeles, Manuel & Paul at the Excellence Club Pool/Beach Heydi & Gloria at CafeKafe Francisco & Mario for giving us an amazing romantic dinner at the beach Javier from Room Service – not sure if he was assigned to our building or we were just lucky! But he was fantastic and helped me to find some oil to help my scorching sunburn! THANK YOU & MIL GRACIAS to everyone at EPM for a fantastic honeymoon! Looking forward to our anniversary with you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Marshanfrom Charleston,sc

Dream vacation

Posted Oct 8, 2013
Was a perfect spot for a getaway. Resort is beautiful with great food/drink. would go again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by PatNSandifrom NJ

Excellence Playa Mujeres - Great!!!

Posted Oct 2, 2013
You can't go wrong with this resort.  The service is like the name, excellent!  We made many new friends while there, and the staff is perfect.  When we checked in, we weren't treated as well as others, no drink for a greeting, but we made up for that later.  We had purchased the excellence club and we weren't happy with our ocean view room as you couldn't even see the beach or water, so they moved us right away to a swim up room with a view of the beach and ocean.  Would definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by leigh78from Fort Worth, Texas

The perfect honeymoon/anniversary destination!

Posted Sep 30, 2013
My husband and I booked this hotel for our 1 year anniversary. It was phenomenal! The hotel and beach are beautiful, the staff is super friendly and willing to help with any of your needs. We are already talking about going back next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by GirlLovefrom Washington

Honeymoon Bliss!

Posted Sep 15, 2013
My husband and I went to Excellence for our honeymoon and we loved it! The hotel was welcoming and made us feel so special. The service is our of the roof! They are all willing to help and make sure your stay is the best and it was! The spa was amazing also, totally worth every dollar. It was nice that it was an adults only hotel. 
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Bawrencefrom Great Neck, NY

Service

Posted Sep 14, 2013
Excellent service and food. Beautiful beach and pools.