Ratings based on 45 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from colorado

Right on the beach, calm water

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: People available to check in and out and how fast they do it.
Location: Close to beautiful malls!
Nice stay, liked the calm waters but there is very little beach. I wish they would have a better view and not so close to the ferries dock. Ferry dock next door was an annoyance and a blessing at the same time, you can walk next door and take the ferry to Isla mujeres, the not so good part, every time the ferry leaves or returns you can smell the ferry's smoke. Hot water in the shower, you got let it run for a while until the hot water comes out. Overall nice stay, great job from the cleaning ladies and restocking the fridge. Need to expand the restaurants, specially the buffet one, you had to wait for a table.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Virginia

Great Resort! Don't believe the negative reviews

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: You can catch a bus or cab, everything is on the strip
The Barceló Costa Cancun and the staff was excellent. We loved Raul the bartender. The front desk staff was super nice, I think Ana was her name, very helpful. The room was clean and nice, the food was good. Will definitely be going back to this resort. So Raul, my hubby said "Boss man" said hello and we'll see you next year!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from South Carolina

Can't wait to go back!!

Posted May 2, 2015
Pros: Loved how the staff took the time to get to know you and make sure that your needs where being met.
Location: The pirate ship is next door. Also downtown is a very quick busy ride away.
We had such an amazing time at this resort. The staff really goes out of their way to make sure you are comfortable and happy. The pool is magnificent. Yes the beach is on the smaller side, however, there are plenty of chairs for everyone. We never ran into any issues with their not being chairs at the pool or at the beach. I would go back tomorrow if I could!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2015 by Barceló Costa Cancún , Hotel Management
Dear Joanna, Thank-you very much for your kind opinion about your stayed with us. We would be delighted to see you here again soon. Kind regards,
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2015 by Barceló Costa Cancún , Hotel Management
Dear Joanna, Thank-you very much for your kind opinion about your stayed with us. We would be delighted to see you here again soon. Kind regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
by 5lovethesun from Cedar Rapids, IA, USA

It was a beautiful resort. Drinks were plentiful, employees were helpful and spoke english fairlywell.

Posted Dec 28, 2012
Cons: No free Internet
The resort has a narrow beach but has a lot of sun and a lot of palm trees if you want shade. There is a fairly long beach that you can walk on towards the yacht club, you are walking in front of other resorts but we didn't have any issues. Never had to wait long for drinks. The food was the basic Mexican food. It's on the bus line so it's easily to get around. The beds are hard, but the hammocks are great.
1 out of 5
by HAPPY2RETIRE from MICHIGAN

DON'T GO DURING SPRING BREAK

Posted Jun 7, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, good entertainment
Cons: Noisy, food -poor quality
NEVER GO DURING SPRING BREAK IF OLDER. RUDE COLLEGE KIDS-SWEARING & OBNOXIOUS. FOOD WAS COOL IN BUFFET-NOT MUCH OF A VARIETY. NO SECURITY-ANYONE CAN WALK INTO THE RESORT. USE TO GOING TO THE RIVIERA MAYA-GATED RESORTS-SAFER. ROOM WAS SMALL-FELT CRAMPED-FOR SAME PRICE IN THE RIVIERA-ROOMS ARE BIGGER. FEELS TOO COMMERCIAL-NO LANDSCAPING-MORE MORTAR THEN GREEN LUCIOUS LAWN POSITIVE SIDE: STAFF FRIENDLY-OVERLOOKED POOL-GOOD ENTERTAINMENT AT NIGHT-SPECIAL RESTAURANTS BETTER FOOD-HOT AND DELICIOUS-MORE ATTENTION BY STAFF.
3 out of 5
by Michigander3 from Jackson, MI, USA

Very average all inclusive hotel. Service was not as good here as we had in past all inclusive trips.

Posted Apr 15, 2012
Cons: Noisy
I have very mixed feelings about Barcelo Costa Cancun. The front desk staff were not very friendly and we were first put in a room below the level we paid for and had to request a room change. Some staff were excellent, such at the beach bar while others seem like they didn't want to help or serve you. The entertainment group during the day was very good and tried to get as many people involved. The room was very average and we had a problem with a water leak from our mini frig. When asked if we could move to a different room they kept telling us there was not another room in our category available. Location was not the best. We did take the city busses to go closer to hotel zone and shopping. Beach was small and the water had a lot of seaweed because of many boats passing through to get to the channel that was located right there. Food was pretty good. We ate at both the general buffet and individual restaurants. If you want good service make reservations in the morning for the restaurant of your choice because the staff at the individual restaurants went out of their way to make sure you were happy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Zoolander

The best!

Posted Feb 16, 2012
We weren't too sure what to expect, we were going on our honeymoon and had never been to an all inclusive in Cancun before. We were very satisfied with our choice of vacation spot. All of the workers at the resort were so friendly, we were surprised how nice everyone was. You can get by without spanish, but it is helpful if you know at least a little bit. The food wasn't the most amazing thing ever, but we didn't pay for 5 star restaurants. It was pretty good, though. The restaurants themselves were very nice. The resort played music in the main pool area throughout the day, so if you want something really quiet I would not recommend Barcelo, but we thought it was great. Everything was just so relaxing since it was all included, we didn't really have to worry or think about anything. The room was really nice, we paid for the Ocean View upgrade and I'm definitely glad we did. There was a mini fridge filled with drinks and snacks that was included so that was definitely a plus. Overall, we had a WONDERFUL honeymoon, and I would definitely recommend Barcelo Costa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Zoolander

Perfect

Posted Feb 15, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants
Cons: No free Internet
Myself and my partner arrived at the Barcelo Costa on the 2nd February and our stay was 8 nights. I have previously stayed at this hotel with my parents over 15 years ago so was intrigued how much it had changed if at all. Our check-in was quick and the reception staff were very helpful and informative. We had a room on the fourth floor, with a view of the pool. The room was a great size and bathroom was also big, with a lovely walk-in shower. You do hear the entertainment of a night, but as we were so tired it did not really effect us. The pool is a great size and it was nearly always very quiet. The hotel has three restaurants, but we only ever used the buffet just for convenience. My partner enjoyed the food and the waiters would always go out of there way to satisfy myself being a fussy eater. The Beach is nice if a little on the small side, but there were always plenty of sun beds and water sports if you like to be a bit more active. The hotel is in a good location as you can just catch a bus across the road, which is very cheap. The advantage of staying lagoon side is that you are able to do water sports, if you stay the caribbean sea side then the water is too rough and you are not able to do any water sports at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by smokeyd from Thunder Bay, ON, Canada

Beautifull grounds beautifull rooms large balcony warm staff

Posted Jan 31, 2012
Cons: No free Internet
The hotel was very well kept, very clean and the staff were warm and freindly,not very many bars though and entertainment was lacking slightly , excellent for families and people travelling on a budget small beachfront
5 out of 5
Recommended
by FrogieGirl

Good value for money

Posted Nov 27, 2011
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants
For the price i get is a great hotel, not a 5 stars but good variety of activities during the day, nice service at restaurants and bars, a big room with a hammock and terrace, for sure ill be coming back