Ratings based on 16 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
2 out of 5
by disgustedx1000

never again!!

Posted Nov 12, 2013
I stayed a Tropicana Resort and Casino and was not impressed. There is no casino inside this facility the casino is in the facility across the walk way, LaCabana. The lobby is outside and the complimentary Wi-Fi only works in the lobby and surrounding area. There is no option for Wi-Fi in the rooms.  The facility is substandard and is in need of serious upgrading!! The fridge was dirty with black fungus at the bottom and brown crud on the side. The lamp shades had what looked like iodine on the bottoms. The towels were not exchanged in the room until the last day and the comforters on the beds were not changed at all (I took a picture of the number written on the bottom of my comforter and it was the same the entire time). The good thing is there were no bugs in my room and the on-site dining was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by jangeles from Texas

Good, Simple, Family Friendly, & One Happy Island

Posted Aug 8, 2013
I do not have a video's or photos of the location as I spend most of my time outside of the room, but when I did my hotel room for 3 days 2 nights cost $236 on Travelocity. Check-In: Slow, efficient, friendly, $100 incidental hold fee. Wi-Fi: Room you must pay. In lobby/check-in area Free, must receive pass code from front desk. Towel Hut: Good. One towel per person turn-in to exchange for a fresh towel anytime between operating hours. Pool: Good equipped with slide, waterfall, hot tub, and swim up to bar. Room: Reminds me of an old school Miami Vice type Florida coastal home with tile, pink, light blue colors, clean and tidy. Appearance just fine if asked I would recommend updating the rooms furniture, kitchen, and bathroom areas. However, staying on them might be difficult. Bathroom: Good. No issues. Remember a little old you may see some cracks in areas showing wear and tear, but nothing to be worried about. Bedroom: Good. Old TV. Living Area: Good. Newer TV 32" Flat Screen. Pull out Sofa Patio: Good. Immediate access to BBQ pit, pool, slide, and swim up bar. Kitchen: Old school appliances, good utensils, and flatware. Functional. Storage Closet: Good. ** Did not see laundry services. Dunkin Donuts/Baskin Robins attached. Donuts are good, coffee and cappuccino terrible. Ice cream sometimes looks dated with freezer burn.
3 out of 5
by Pajaro from Venezuela

ROOMS WHERE PRETTY OLD AND DETERIORED

Posted Jan 24, 2013
Cons: No free Internet, Noisy
Hotel Pretty old. bed not to comfortable and the bath did not work properlly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by aruba4us from Massachusetts

We enjoy our stays here. Everyone is friendly and helpfull

Posted Nov 28, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet
We have stayed here for 12 years. The staff are always welcome to help if needed. The beach is beautiful and also have great staff to help you. The rooms are neat and clean. They do need to be updated, as they are the same since we staqrted coming to Aruba. The ownership has changed and they are doing a good job. They just need to finish the upgrades to the rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Retiredmsg from Acworth, GA, USA

Great value for the price

Posted Oct 16, 2012
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Nothing close
Had a lot of space, very clean hotel, walking distance to the bus stop ($2.60 per couple one way) bus runs till midnight. Or taxi service was available to downtown hotel areas. Will need to take either one to go site seeing or shopping for Better Casino's & Places to eat & shop (Mall) go downtown. Take the De Palm sight seeing tour & Thursday Night Carnival Festival Dinner & Show. Had a wonderful trip will love to go again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by arubalovesme from Gonzales, LA 70737, USA

Tammy & Kelly

Posted Jun 27, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet
This was a great place to stay. Staff was great!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by LovedAruba

This hotel made me feel welcomed

Posted Jun 22, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants
My boyfriend and I stayed there for a week, it was my first time in Aruba. An absolute blast! I had the most amazing time. The hotel is super clean and the staff is so friendly. I have and would recommend this hotel to anyone.
2 out of 5
by Billylou12 from Boston, MA, USA

Raymond is the best thing the Tropicana has!

Posted May 28, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants
Cons: No free Internet
I read many reviews on the Tropicana, and most said it was under renovation. It has not even started yet! When we arrived, our room wasn't ready. We took another room that had a clogged toilet. The maintance worker came right up to fix it, which was good, but it ran most of the time. The Dunkin Donuts staff, on the property, were incredibly rude every morning! Raymond, the bellman, was wonderful! Friendly, and always asking what he could do for us. Whoever own the Trop? Give that man a raise, and make sure you keep him on when the reno is complated in 2013+!
3 out of 5
by Mileagehighclub

Nice hotel but missing a lot

Posted Apr 5, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants
Cons: Nothing close
This hotel was nice, but I would not recommend it due to the poor location to the beach. I didn't like the fact I had to walk out the hotel walk through another hotel to cross a busy street than get to the beach. The rooms were nice and big but the decor was very old and the bed was extremely hard. I did have a great pool view and my bell guy Pablo was veryyyy nice and helpful. He gave us great insight on all the local spots to go to and where to eat. Also the bartender Carolina was a very sweet girl. The front desk staff was fairly nice , I did have a slight issue with one of them, I called to find out about room service and she hung up on me, which was poor customer service to me. Overall the hotel is decent but I wouldn't stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by RetiredChemTeacher from Boiling Springs, SC, USA

Comfortable smoke-free resort

Posted Feb 2, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet
Cons: No free Internet
My biggest concern after reading earlier reviews was that they would put me in a smoking room against my wishes. When I checked in, I was pleasantly surprised when told that ALL rooms were non-smoking. Earlier reviews pointed out that the place is old but they keep it clean. I found this to be correct. I had a comfortable stay that was least disturbing. I used the refrigerator and microwave oven too. There was some chaos when checking out. It took more time than I expected. People were getting in the lines from two sides because there was no "Enter Here" sign.