Ratings based on 54 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
by ZombieProspect from NY

Riu Palace

Posted Oct 30, 2013
This was our first trip to Aruba, and our first time staying at a Riu property. The resort is absolutely beautiful, and the staff was incredible. We were a little worried about the food, being that the Riu is all inclusive, but the food was amazing!! Our entire experience was great. We would highly recommend the Riu Palace.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Fun2bnx2 from New york

Amazing

Posted May 20, 2013
We stayed here last July 4th weekend.  The food and the staff was amazing.  All inclusive is the only way to go on this high priced island especially if you have kids.  We have tried the radison Aruba and the Marriott.   There is no comparison.  
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Bonbini from New York, NY, USA

6th stay at the RIU Palace

Posted Apr 16, 2013
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet
Cons: pool gets a bit noisy from 12-4pm
We simply love this place. It's beautiful, relaxing and friendly. We return every year and it feels like home. We like our walk on the beach and to linger by the pool in the mornings. It gets a bit noisy in the afternoons because of the activities like aqua volleyball and zumba organized by the entertainment staff there, but it is also fun for those who like to participate or just watch. There are other activities on the island that the hotel can arrange for you. The food is good and there is a lot of variety with a buffet and four other gourmet dining areas. The rooms all have balconies and are luxurious. And of course, the weather is always dependably warm and breezy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mayer from Manhattan, New York, NY, USA

Overall I was very impressed

Posted Jan 23, 2013
Pros: Free Internet
As far as food and drinks go, I was amazed how much options there were. I loved the buffet. I've been to the DR at an all inclusive and the Riu puts that place to shame. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were amazing. I have never eaten so much food in my life over the 5 nights that I was there. Not sure why some reviewers here are complaining about the food. Yes, its not a three star michelin quality food, but the selection and quality amazed me. I 100% feel like I got my money worth as far as drinks and food. The only complaint I have about the place is the beds are a little hard and they don't give you down comforters like a good American hotel would. You get these thin sheets/blanket which are a little annoying and separate in middle of the night. Otherwise the hotel is clean and service was superb. We were wondering how the hotel gets their employees to be so nice. Lastly, the pool is gorgeous and the beach and weather are amazing..
4 out of 5
Recommended
by irenetho

Very nice

Posted Jan 23, 2013
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Quiet
Cons: No free Internet
The only bad thing was that by 10-11 AM there were no clean beach towels available and no beach chairs. Very limited service by the beach. The food was out of this world!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Traveler71

This hotel made me feel welcome

Posted Nov 29, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet
The only disapointment was Carlos the restaurant manager. He was arrogant and did not fit to work at this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by 10thAnniversaryTrip from Charlotte, NC, USA

A few issues

Posted Oct 30, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants
Cons: No free Internet
great trip.....food was excellent. staff was excellent. room was soso.....but not for the reasons you might think. we had a suite. huge and very nice. you would think that the suites would have the best floors/views because they cost more....well, we were on floor number 1 which was ground level, and the furthest from he water. we had a huge porch but only two plastic chairs and a table between them. i mean the porch could have held an entire den collection. obviously that is too much but what about just a few cushioned lounges? i spoke to a few other guest and they had the same issues. dumpster views in a suite. Seriously?? if we return, i will make sure i request a better floor/view....that is if they have them. you get the impression that the hotel style rooms have the better views and floors by way of balcony style. i may be wrong on this. just make sure you ask someone before you reserve a room. oh, you have to go to the lobby to connect to the internet. a real pain for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Charisse from Worcester, MA, USA

Honeymoon at the Riu

Posted Oct 17, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, all inclusive, great location, fabulous staff
The Riu is by far the most beautiful, luxurious hotels on the island. This is my fourth trip to Aruba and this by far is the best hotel I have stayed at. The Buffet Restaurants are large and comfortable. We never had do wait to be seated. The food was beautifully displayed and the selections were so diverse. We ate ate the Italian and Japanese Gourmet (reservation only) restaurants. The Italian was sensational - wonderful appetizer buffet, great entrees and delicious dessert. Not very pleased with the food at the Japanese restaurant. The appetizer was tasty and presented beautifully, but our entrees were over-cooked and tasteless. The pool area is gigantic and offers several in-water seating and lounge areas in addition to the swim-up bar. The hotel location on Palm beach is the best! Get up early if you want a Cabana - they are usually all reserved by 6:00am! By far the best part of this hotel is the STAFF! These are the most hard-working people I have ever met. The housekeepers are friendly and provide great service. This hotel is immaculate. The wait staff and bartendars provide speedy, efficient service and they are actually excited and happy to take care of you. They truly make the vacation so enjoyable. Front desk, customer service and the tour service desks are helpful and always informative. Great to have a DePalm tours desk at the hotel - so easy to book excursions. Gift shop, although too small had a great variety of beautiful clothes, souveneirs and must-have toiletries. My only complaint of the hotel was upon check-in we were assigned two twin beds.....it was our honeymoon! We were relocated to a new room, but had to forfeit our pool/garden view and instead overlooked a parking lot. Spectacular trip and accommodations. Aruba is a beautiful island with beautiful people...and definitely "One Happy Island"!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by maxralph from Long Island, New York, USA

THe hotel made us feel very welcome. Staff, service was very good

Posted Aug 10, 2012
Cons: No free Internet
Had dinner at the Nautilus restaurant. It was only fair. Buffet was much better great selection of food so did not try any of the other restaurants. Have stayed at several Riu resorts. Wish they would get better beds. Mattress very hard in all of their resorts but their food, drinks, service is much better than some of the other resorts we have stayed in so will try another one soon.
3 out of 5
by A traveler

You get what you pay for!

Posted Jul 7, 2012
The food, beach and pool were pretty decent. Smoky lobby, hard beds, bottom shelf alcohol, dirty elevators, average entertainment, rusty bathtubs, never enough towels (we were once told there were no face towels), I could go on and on. Would not recommend to someone looking for a modern, clean, customer friendly hotel.