Ratings based on 185 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
1.0 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
1 out of 5
by A traveler from USA

It was the worst experience.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: The beach.
Cons: Staff needs a course on customer service.
Location: Beach, Pelican Brief to watch a beautiful sunset,
From the moment we stepped foot in this hotel, staff was unfriendly and rude. We were given a view with the view of the garbage container. We asked to be moved and we were told there was nothing else available and if we wanted to we could upgrade for an extra 40 dollars a night and we could go back the next morning. The next morning after we asked nicely we were told that there was nothing available and after we were practically threatening to leave - there was a room available. Our room was not cleaned until 9pm, after three calls. The staff at the Palapa reservation was extremely unprofessional. I caught him talking about one of my friends and when I approached him about it he didn't realize we were together he just gave me an angry look. I will be reporting Roy. Overall, probably the worst experience. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY AND TIME Staying here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Nevada from Las Vegas, NV

Thoroughly Enjoyed First Visit!

Posted Oct 22, 2013
Room, staff, location, beach, pools, bar, and reception met or exceeded expectations. The Spas need to be heated and the self parking lot needs management's attention. Too many non-Holiday Inn personnel parking in the lot, creating severe limited parking for Hotel Guest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Arubalovers from Chicago, IL

Great hotel!

Posted Oct 18, 2013
My husband and I have been staying at the Holiday Inn Aruba at least twice a year for a few years now and we wouldn't stay anywhere else!  The staff is fantastic!  They are all very friendly and helpful. When we arrived at the end of September we found out the hotel had shut down the Bonaire tower and they were closing the Aruba tower for renovations. The construction noise was limited and most of the time it was quiet on the property.  As much as we didn't want to stay in the Curaçao tower this was the only option. It is newly renovated and they did a nice job with all new furniture, new king size beds, new fridge, and the air conditioning was new so it was a perfect temperature all the time!  They now have a pool and a few cabana"s that you can use at the Curaçao tower.  They are making some very big changes to the hotel so I will be excited to see what they have done when we visit again next year.  This hotel is very close to shopping, restaurants and the bus runs right in front of the hotel to take you downtown or to other beaches.  We don't get the all inclusive package as we have our favorite local places that we eat at.  If you get a chance rent a car at the hotel and go to Baby Beach. It is a great place to get away from the crowds and the snorkeling is awesome!!  Many people write bad reviews for this hotel but honestly if you want a nice clean safe hotel that has the best beach for your vacation dollar stay at the Holiday Inn!  Your vacation is what you make of it and if you spend your time complaining about little things then you won't enjoy your time in Aruba!  Perfect hotel, perfect location, perfect for your 1st or 20th trip to Aruba!  
2 out of 5
by BRENJERRY from Providence, RI

holiday inn make it your vacation

Posted Sep 28, 2013
Ive been going to aruba now for six years now I have stayed at the aruba inn it was o.k. the next year we stayed at the holiday inn on the beach.Its not the greatest hotel but it can do. its not as fancy as the rest of the hotels but its worth the money how often do you just sit in your room, go out side the views are beautiful the beach the sky .YOU DONT GO ON VACATION TO STAY IN YOUR ROOM ITS A LITTLE RUN DOWN WHEN YOU TEEL PEOPLE YOU WENT ON VACATION YOU SAY I WENT TO ARUBA YOU DONT SAY I WENT TO THE HOLIDAY IN RESORT ENJOY YOUR SELF EXPLORE THE ISLAND HAVE FUN THE ISLAND PEOPLE ARE THE NICEST PEOPLE YOU WILL FEEL RIGHT AT HOME YOU WILL FEEL LIKE YOU LIVE THERE THE PEOPLE ARE SO WELCOMING AND RESPECTABLE TO AMERICIANS YOU CAN RENT A CAR AND TOUR THE WHOLE ISLAND // SO GO THERE AND HAVE FUN
1 out of 5
by JP1953

HOLIDAY INN NOT A HOLIDAY

Posted Sep 10, 2013
IF YOU LIKE A NOISY ENVIRONMENT DUE TO CONSTRUCTION,TOPPED OFF WITH 500+ SCREAMING KIDS, THAN THIS IS THE PLACE FOR YOU. THE POOR FOOD QUALITY AND POOR SERVICE WE JUST ICING ON THE CAKE.
1 out of 5
by joseph53 from Boston, MA

ARUBA HOLIDAY INN

Posted Sep 4, 2013
HOLIDAY INN ARUBA, I BELIEVE IS ONLY APPROPRIATE FOR PEOPLE WITH KIDS THAT DON'T CARE ABOUT QUALITY OF SERVICE. IT IS ONE OF THE CHEAPEST PKG BUT YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR!
1 out of 5
by samuraimd from Atlanta, GA

STAY AWAY, TRUST ME I'VE BEEN TO MANY INCLUSIVES

Posted Jul 19, 2013
I VERY RARELY write a review like this.  In fact, I can't ever remember writing one about a place that I disliked as much as this hotel.  We prepaid for 5 nights but ended up leaving after two even though I knew I may not get reimbursed for the other 3 because the hotel was so bad.   I have literally been to some of the best all inclusive hotels in Mexico, all over the Carribean and even Divi in Aruba.  This place is terrible.  The people there were rude.  The food was beyond unacceptable, and the entertainment and variety was a joke.  Usual all inclusives have multiple nice restaurants to choose from and a very nice buffet if you can't make a reservation.  This place had only a very small (like 5 pans) buffet at night with no restaurants.  The drinks were poor quality.  There were flies everywhere and they had mayo and dressing sitting out all over the place all day every day with no refrigeration.  If you want to waste your money go here, otherwise please go anywhere else.  We left and went to Occidental and loved it!  Divi is also awesome and has lots of return visitors.  This place needs to shut down.  They also put us in a room looking straight at a huge dumpster.  Nice view:(.  
1 out of 5
by itdoesfloat from Philly, PA

One not so happy family on one happy island.

Posted Jul 7, 2013
Ok, here goes.  This was our first trip to Aruba and we were very excited to go.  Check in was easy and took only minutes.  Our room was large and had a very nice patio or lanai only about 100 yds from the water.  The beach is wonderful.  To reserve a cabana people start lining up over an hour before they are given out, which I found insane.  They have 4 restaurants on the property but 2 were only open 2 days a week.  We had free breakfast daily at the buffet, which was edible, but no way I would pay near what it costs normally.  We did have dinner one night in the Sea Breeze restaurant and it was very good.  Oddly enough, we had several issues when calling the front desk to see when the restaurants were open, the staff gave us incorrect information each time.  We stayed for 12 nights and on day 6, the shower seemed to have backed up but water went down within a couple minutes.  We went out to dinner and returned back to our room to find a flood of sewage water covering our bathroom and first part of the room.  We had several pairs of shoes ruined.  Still waiting to be reimbursed.  The manager on duty, actually questioned why we were asking for reimbursement for one of the pairs as the sandal did not separate from the sole.  They were suede slides, so not able to be washed.  Would she actually put her foot in them??  So, housekeeping and maintenance were called and after about 2 hours we were told that the problem was fixed and the room was cleaned.  So, we went to bed.  The next morning, more water backed up in the shower, so off we go to the guest service desk to now ask for a room change.  After waiting there for about 40 minutes while they decided where we could move to, we were finally given another lanai room but one king and a pull out, not exactly what I wanted for my family of 4 but at least we still had the lanai room.  Upon returning to our room, our daughters had made their way to the lanai because the room was completely flooded now, water actually had made it half way down the hall.  The water was now a couple inches deep, and I could see toilet paper, human waste and food particles floating! I had to somehow rescue my possessions from the bathroom.  I strapped plastic grocery bags to my feet and went in.  As a nurse I have dealt with some not so appealing situations but didn't ever imagine having to wade through excrement water to retrieve my chi, make up etc.  The smell was horrendous. I think my husband gained a new found respect for me!! We climbed the patios on the outside to move our things to our new room.  The hall smelled like a dirty  diaper for the rest of our stay.  So, based on this experience alone, I can't recommend this hotel.  
4 out of 5
Recommended
by robbieyo from Aruba

great hotel and amenities

Posted Jul 1, 2013
For the money i would recommend to anyone everything we needed was right there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by JS1978 from Springfield, MO

Wonderful Hotel/Location

Posted Jun 28, 2013
Beach front, wonderful staff especially Hugo, and Boris at the Iguana Bar -- they made the stay amazing.  They are doing some updates to the hotel, but it didn't interfere with the say any.  Can't wait to go back.